- source: Family History Library Catalog
A Vision of Britain through Time provides the following description of Felton from John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales of 1870-72:
- "FELTON, a township in Alnwick [registration] district, and a parish partly also in Morpeth [registration] district, Northumberland. The township lies on the river Coquet, 3¾ miles SW of Acklington [railway] station, and 9 S of Alnwick; has a post office‡ under Acklington, and a three-arched bridge over the Coquet; and enjoys picturesque scenery along that river's winding course. The parish contains also the townships of Elyhaugh, Swarland, Bockenfield, Eshott, Greens and Glantlees, Acton and Old Felton, and East and West Thirston-with-Shothaugh. Acres: 12, 830. Real property: £12, 224; of which £104 are in mines. Population: 1, 591. Houses: 307. The property is not much divided. Felton Hall was built by the Widdringtons; and passed to the Riddells. The barons of Northumberland did homage at Old Felton, in 1216, to Alexander of Scotland; and King John was so enraged at their conduct as to devastate the place. An obelisk to the memory of Lord Nelson, erected by Sir W. Davison, is at Swarland. The living is a vicarage, united with the vicarage of Long Framlington, in the diocese of Durham. Value: £275. Patron: the Lord Chancellor. The church is good; and there are chapels for Presbyterians and Roman Catholics and a national school. "
Townships in parish
- Northumberland Archives previously known as Northumberland Collections Service and Northumberland County Record Office. Now based within Woodhorn Museum in Ashington and providing free access to numerous records for local and family historians alike.
- Full postal address: Museum and Northumberland Archives, Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, Ashington, Northumberland, NE63 9YF; Phone: 01670 624455
- There is a branch office in Berwick upon Tweed.