Totteridge was historically a chapelry of the parish of Bishop's Hatfield (commonly known as Hatfield), although it was detached from the rest of Hatfield parish by some distance. It became a parish in its own right in 1892. In 1894 it became part of Barnet Rural District, and in 1914 was transferred to Barnet Urban District. Barnet Urban District was abolished in 1965 and became part of the London Borough of Barnet.
Totteridge is an old English village, currently a protected picturesque residential area of the London Borough of Barnet in the northern part of Greater London, England. It is a mixture of suburban development and open land (including some farmland) situated 8.20 miles (13.05 km) north north-west of Charing Cross (a basis for measuring distances in the centre of London).
It gives its name to the St Andrew, Totteridge ecclesiastical parish of the Diocese of St Albans.
Totteridge was a civil parish of Hertfordshire covering an area of 1,604 acres (6.49 km2). It formed part of a thin protrusion into Middlesex. The boundary to the north and east is the Dollis Brook and the boundary to the south is that river's tributary, the Folly Brook.