WeRelate talk:Review GEDCOM

Leave a message on this page if you have questions about the GEDCOM review process and/or would like your GEDCOM reviewed by an administrator.

Topics


my family gedcoms are on ancestry.com [3 May 2011]

My gedcoms all my research is on ancestry.com which they seem to think is their property. Any ideas of how to get Ancestry to let me have my research back/ Sandra Larew/--Slarew 00:57, 8 June 2009 (EDT)


I don't know too much about ancestry. I think their license agreement says they can do what they want with your data, but that doesn't mean it belongs to them. Have you stored all your research on Ancestry or do you have it in a desk top pedigree manager? Can you download the gedcom from ancestry? If you can't download a gedcom and everything is only stored at ancestry, I would get a desk top pedigree manager and re-enter your data so you have your own copy. Hope this helps. --sq 00:18, 15 June 2009 (EDT)


Hi,

How does it take for the review process brfore you can start working on your tree.--WBryant 16:38, 27 July 2009 (EDT)


Once you've reviewed your gedcom and have marked it "ready for import" we try to have an administrator review it and finalize the import within 24 hours. I'm sorry for the delay, but we've found that the admin review helps catch GEDCOM's with potential problems before they are added to the system.--Dallan 16:44, 28 July 2009 (EDT)


I do not know how to click the import button! I keep getting the message "We're experiencing temporary difficulties reading your GEDCOM. Please try again in a few minutes." and the button is inactive. Dallan, I don't know how to import it! I am getting really frustrated!--Fmizrany 08:24, 3 May 2011 (EDT)

I'm not sure what happened. I went ahead and clicked on the import button, so it's waiting for admin review right now. Can you tell me what browser (and version) you're using? Thanks.--Dallan 14:31, 3 May 2011 (EDT)

Dallan- My browser is Internet Explorer 8 - version 8.0.7600.16385IC Thank you for pressing that button!--Fmizrany 14:48, 3 May 2011 (EDT)


I'm new to "WeRelate" and have uploaded a gedcom which I am now reviewing. How can I change its name from "Samuel Spates ancestors" to "Samuel Spates Ancestors and Descendants of William Ewing"? [19 June 2009]

--Loulehmann 11:51, 19 June 2009 (EDT)


Hi. After the pages are uploaded, click on Trees in the MyRelate menu. There is a rename link for each of your trees.  :) --sq 21:47, 19 June 2009 (EDT)


What does GEDCOM in status 0 mean? [15 September 2009]

This GEDCOM is in status 0. Please contact dallan@werelate.org. what does this mean ?--Mikekib 15:47, 13 September 2009 (EDT)

A GEDCOM under review should never be in status 0, so there's a problem somewhere. The first thing to do is to is to clear your browser cache. In IE this can be done by clicking on Tools, then Delete under Browsing history, then Delete files under Temporary Internet files. If that doesn't work, send me an email with your user name and the name of your gedcom and I'll look into it.--Dallan 10:23, 15 September 2009 (EDT)
The file BENTON-1800.ged (uploaded Sep 12) disappeared off of the Admin, Gedcom list. I assumed that someone else had uploaded it, but they didn't update my log. Perhaps it somehow got broken. --Judy (jlanoux) 11:18, 15 September 2009 (EDT)
There's a BENFORD-1830.ged in the database that you reviewed and uploaded on the 12th, but BENTON-1800.ged is no longer in the database. That means that the uploader must have removed it.--Dallan 19:04, 15 September 2009 (EDT)

Can I match people who are not yet reviewed & uploaded? [16 August 2009]

I'm reviewing a gedcom and I want to add spouses before the file is reviewed and uploaded. When I add a person page for a spouse I can't match their husband to my gedcom people. Is that because they're not uploaded yet?--Schivvis 10:39, 14 August 2009 (EDT)

That's right. Please upload the GEDCOM first, then add the spouse. (Since the wiki pages haven't been created yet, you can't match them.)--Dallan 22:50, 16 August 2009 (EDT)

Is it possible to download and/or print the warnings list? [3 October 2009]

--Ckamp3 19:23, 3 October 2009 (EDT)

The only way I know of is to do a screen print. You can move the divider bar all the way to the bottom to see the maximum number of warnings and (if you are a PC user) use AltPrtSc to copy the screen to the clipboard. You can then paste it into a word processor file. If there are more warnings, scroll down carefully to bring the next batch to the top. I've done this and it works. --Judy (jlanoux) 21:54, 3 October 2009 (EDT)

unknown maiden name [26 February 2010]

What do I enter for an unknown maiden name? Is it ok to put the married name or the married name plus the word married or...?--Tinageoff1 08:25, 26 February 2010 (EST)

It is best to leave the surname blank. The system will properly create the page title as "Mary Unknown (x)". You can also add an alternate name selecting type married name to indicate the married surname. This will let you search for the person by her married name.
Please note that we have a new Support page on the help menu that is intended for any usage questions. A lot more people watch that page and you can perhaps get quicker answers. --Judy (jlanoux) 13:45, 26 February 2010 (EST)

How do I start the Review GEDCOM application? [19 May 2010]

There is lots of information on how to use it but not how to start it. John Ryan--John Ryan 01:27, 19 May 2010 (EDT)

Replied on user page.--Judy (jlanoux) 13:31, 19 May 2010 (EDT)

For others' benefit, the answer is that there should be a link to the review program on your "Talk" page, which you can access from the "MyRelate" menu. Click on the link to start the review.

Undocumented and unexplained limit on GEDCOM import size - HELP! [27 September 2010]

Why on earth is my GEDCOM being rejected due to some arbitrary limit of 5,000 or whatever people? I have a personal database of over 15,000 well-sourced people which contains no blanket GEDCOM imports or other such nonsense. I've been doing research for over 30 years, and now that I have been convinced to contribute my work here, I am running up against this limitation. This limit is not mentioned anywhere I have seen except during the actual import.

Perhaps this arbitrary limit is generally a good idea to prevent junk being added, but my research is very solid, and I have run a website showcasing my research for years. I have gotten universal praise for the quality of my data, and I want to know what I'm supposed to do.--glamberson 03:47, 27 September 2010 (EDT)

From the instructions on the page where you import your gedcom
GEDCOM's containing up to 5,000 people can be uploaded. After you've used WeRelate for awhile you can request to upload a larger GEDCOM by leaving a message for User:Dallan
GEDCOM's are limited to 5,000 people for several reasons. As you say, many gedcom's of more than 5,000 people are not well-sourced. But in addition, as part of the upload process the system will present to you a list of possible-matches between the families in your gedcom and existing families at WeRelate, and you are required to review this list and determine whether or not these are truly the same people. For a gedcom of significant size, this represents a sizable amount of effort. So we feel you're better off to start with a smaller gedcom (including the ancestors of just one grandparent for example), and if after some time you decide that you really like the "wiki" approach to genealogy, you can request to upload a larger one.--Dallan 10:07, 27 September 2010 (EDT)

Having culled my initial import to a select group of direct ancestors, I have now seen the process and, well, I now can't imagine going through that process for all the people in my database at the same time. It would take days. I don't mean that I'm discouraged from what I've seen but rather that I'm not satisfied yet with the work I've done with the few I have imported. In other words, never mind. I totally get it, and I totally agree with the process. This is going to be fun, and this site will be a great collaboration tool.--glamberson 13:31, 27 September 2010 (EDT)

I'm glad to hear that :-). If you ever decide to upload your full gedcom, you should know that we're (slowly) working on a tool that will make it much easier to import overlapping gedcoms: people in your new gedcom that have appeared in previous uploads will be matched automatically by the system to the wiki pages that have been created previously for them.--Dallan 16:05, 27 September 2010 (EDT)

Can't edit my gedcom [21 November 2010]

The first time I downloaded a gedcom, I could edit my people and families. On this second gedcom, the edit on the left side of the page is missing. What happened to it? The only way to resolve the warnings is to do it on my desktop program and then reload the gedcom, even if I only want to make a single change.--Ruth L 17:12, 20 November 2010 (EST) Moved to user talk page --Judy (jlanoux) 12:03, 21 November 2010 (EST)


Unable to import [30 November 2010]

Hi


My file is ready to import but I recieved the message below, I only had one waring that Mary Anne Poyntz was over 50 years old when her son was born, which is a true fact she was 51 when James was born It will not let me import, i have followed the normal routines, it has no duplicates either

Your GEDCOM cannot be imported to WeRelate in its current form, either because it has too many warnings or it contains duplicates. Click on the Warnings tab, print the warnings, correct or remove the incorrect information in your desktop genealogy program, remove this GEDCOM, and upload a revised GEDCOM.


--Kalishoek 09:06, 29 November 2010 (EST)

Thanks for the message. I don't see a file pending for you, but it does look like one has been imported today. If you still have a problem, please provide the name of the file you are trying to import. --Judy (jlanoux) 12:18, 30 November 2010 (EST)

An error on the Warning page is actually correct [2 December 2011]

Hi, I'm trying to upload REED family GEDCOM, and have recieved an error that is actually correct. REED, Samuel Perry and KREPPENECK, Emma Matilda received the error that Husband was more than 65 years old when Abigail REED was born. That is actually true. How can I have the error removed?--kath newc 19:42, 13 January 2011 (EST)

The error is only flagged in review. It isn't usually necessary to remove it. However, something looks off in the percentage for your file. We'll have to check it out. Is your marriage date an estimate? If so do you want to adjust it to account for William's birth date? --Judy (jlanoux) 21:01, 13 January 2011 (EST)

True - many men marry younger women. I was actually with a man for 8 years who was 1 year older than my father. I was born in 1956 and he was born in 1927. The same man is still alive and married to a woman younger than I am, and if they wanted he could still spawn a child.

What about women who marry older men like this article:

http://tcs.wisebrother.com/tcstodaysTcs/fullArtShow/32208?cid=15680 

A Woman Marries a Man Twice Her Age . . . She's 60, He's 120

A woman marrying a man twice her age isn't exactly groundbreaking news. Happens all the time. Especially if the guy is rich and the woman is patient.


--But this is a new one. Last weekend, in Satghori, in northeast India, a SIXTY-YEAR-OLD WOMAN married a man twice her age. That's right: He's 120 YEARS OLD.


--His name is Hazi Abdul Noor. And he married 60-year-old Samoi Bibi in a ceremony that had more than 500 guests. (--So . . . a small Indian wedding.)


--More than 100 of the guests were Hazi's immediate family . . . his six children, their children, and their children's children. Hazi's first wife died six years ago.


--Hazi could be the oldest man ever . . . but the people at the "Guinness Book of World Records" haven't verified his age. He says he's 120, but he's on the books in India as being a relatively-young 116.

And by the way a man can spawn a child until the day he dies - unlike women whose eggs and fertility ends with age a man's sperm does not - that again is plain science - again there appears to be some erroneous judgmental aspects of the program here.

SNOPES: http://www.snopes.com/pregnant/medina.asp A verified story of a young girl 5 years old and pregnant. Your program is trying to eradicate erroneous information while precluding facts from being permitted.--redmondc 10:24, 2 December 2011 (EST)


Ready to Import button on Import page is greyed out [2 December 2011]

Hi, I need help again with reed gedcom that contains Samuel Perry Reed and Emma Kreppenneck. I went through the tabs, made corrections, have emailed this help page previously because of a warning of 4.5% (small file, so the 65 years of age of Samuel P. Reed at fatherhood rates high)but still can't import. Should I remove my gedcom and just add names individually to matched pages of Samuel and both wives already on WeRelate? Thank you for your help. Kathleen--kath newc 10:44, 17 January 2011 (EST)

I went ahead and imported your file. It appears that files with warnings over 4% have the Import button disabled. --Jennifer (JBS66) 10:47, 17 January 2011 (EST)

The "Ready to Import" button is greyed out. I have made appropriate corrections to the records I uploaded.--Rchallberg 21:53, 18 March 2011 (EDT)

We usually expect that people will make corrections in their personal data and upload a corrected file. The greyed out button is a sign that your file had too many errors to be usable. The warnings are not reassessed after the file is loaded.

I've started looking through it. There are still some problems that need correcting. You have duplicate people and duplicate families. I've started working on excluding the extras but I think you need to continue this effort. Also you have some names that need fixing. Parentheses should not be used in names. Please review all of your potential pages carefully. Leave another note when you are done if you want this file considered. I'll take another look. --Judy (jlanoux) 22:21, 18 March 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)


I reloaded my Gedcom and corrected the obvious errors. Several relatives were buried some time after death - one WW 2 soldier was reinterred 5 years after death. Others were cremated and buried much later. My Grandfather was married 5 times - 2 of those times were when he was over 70. I also removed all the parens for unknown relatives which is apparently not allowed in WeRelate.

The "Ready to Import" button is still greyed out.

Ron Hallberg--Rchallberg 11:08, 19 March 2011 (EDT)

I'm puzzled why the button is still greyed out. Did the import have the red warning that the file had too many errors? Did you click on each item on the Warning tab? We do tolerate a small percentage of Errors and Warnings. However, we do expect that you would look at each item on the Warning tab to check if there is a problem.
I notice that you have a large number of pages with name only - no dates, places or sources. These present problems in a shared database. I am going to import your file for you, but please continue to add information to these pages to make them more useful to your fellow researchers. Thanks. --Judy (jlanoux) 12:09, 19 March 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)

I'm not sure why the Import button is greyed out on my latest GEDCOM file. I have gone through all of the steps, including reviewing each of the warnings. One had an incorrect birth date which I will fix after the import, and another is an adopted child. I don't think there are enough warnings to prevent the load.

What is causing the problem? If I understand the reason, I might be able to avoid it in the future.

When the help text mentions that the file may contain "duplicates" is there any way to identify them?

Reviewing places and sources is a long process, so re-importing the GEDCOM is a last resort. It is easier to fix any issues during my post-load review of all records.

Thanks Rick--RGMoffat 09:56, 3 July 2011 (EDT)

The problem is the 4% error rate. You have too many warnings on the Warning tab that usually indicate bad data. There is a fudge factor in there for the cases where a child comes early, but you have exceeded the tolerance. This is a frequent problem when data has been imported from online trees. The problem is indicated in red on the Overview tab to warn you that the file has too many errors to import and save you from doing the place and source review until you've gotten the error rate down. Please take a look at the families on the warning tab. You can do a limited amount of editing on the preview panes at the bottom of the Person and Family tabs. But you can't add people to the families. --Judy (jlanoux) 10:47, 3 July 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)

My latest import has about 50 records, and one warning which invokes the 2% rule. Can you override this and import the file?

Thanks Rick--RGMoffat 14:24, 9 July 2011 (EDT)

I imported it at your request, but it was showing 0% errors, you shouldn't have been locked. We don't score points for same surname. --Judy (jlanoux) 16:32, 9 July 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)

Bhateri Devi, 66, has just become the oldest mother of triplets in the world

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1286412/Worlds-oldest-mother-Rajo-Devi-Lohan-reveals-dying.html#ixzz1fOMEnY4J

The "norm" isn't always the case and your program and reviewers do not allow for the exceptions.--redmondc 10:34, 2 December 2011 (EST)


Help Reviewing my Gedcom [1 December 2012]

I've fixed all errors, I believe, and uploaded the corrected version. I'm unsure of myself and how to make matches and link ppl, don't understand some of what i am seeing in the layout of the wiki-I need help reviewing my gedcom-please! i'm overwhelmed. thank you.--lori 19:50, 19 April 2011 (EDT)

It is a good idea to become familiar with how the site works before attempting to import your gedcom. You can review some of the Featured pages. The Home page has a link to the current page as well as the list of previous pages. Another approach may be to look up some famous people who may have pages to get a feel for how the Person and Family pages work.
You have some Family Matches to work on. This means that the system thinks the indicated family MAY match an existing one. We do not want to create duplicate pages so we require that you check these. First click one of these families...step 1 is to compare your family with the existing page to see if it matches. Click the Match checkbox under the family then at the bottom of the page indicate whether this is a match or not. All information does not have to be the same, we just need to know if it is the same people. Step 2, if you indicated a match, you will now be shown a comparison of your information and the existing information. By clicking the check box on your side, you will be adding your information to the existing page. Please take care with this step. Many existing pages have had hours spent cleaning up bad information added by gedcoms. Do not add information unless you have a reliable source. It is often better to wait and add information to these pages manually after your have gotten used to the system and are familiar with what previous workers have done.

You should realize that WeRelate is unlike other popular genealogy sites. We are creating a single linked tree and also publishing a web page for each Person and Family and Source you add. Take your time and review each of these new pages on the Person, Family and Source tabs. Also, the system has tried to make Place matches to save you some time. Verify each item on the Place page and make sure the match is correct. There are many similiar place names and you want to ensure the match is correct.

It's not a race, take as long as you need. I will mark the log that you are working on it. If you have further questions, you can leave a note on your personal Talk page. I will be watching it for you. --Judy (jlanoux) 09:49, 20 April 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)

My "Ready to import" button is still greyed out, and I've been through all the tabs and corrected the errors to the best of my abilities. I only have 2 remaining "alerts" and no warnings. What am I doing wrong that it won't allow me to import. Thanks in advance for you assistance. --Mary Jean--Jaynes931 18:57, 27 November 2012 (EST)

Not sure what happened. Your gedcom was imported today. I apologize for the delay.--Dallan 01:15, 1 December 2012 (EST)

Not found - Family Matches [27 July 2011]

When reviewing my Gedcom file, I find a lot of other families with a "Not found" indicator under the other family name.

Since I have no choice other than to scroll down and mark this as "No a match", why can't such matches be automatically filtered by the program so that they do not appear, thus saving me a lot of time and work?

Morfar--Morfar 03:34, 27 July 2011 (EDT)

I no longer see your gedcom in the queue, but I believe this happened because you deleted a tree right before you uploaded another gedcom. The system was trying to match to families that you had previously deleted. You would need to wait a couple of hours to allow the system to re-index the pages before you upload a new gedcom. --Jennifer (JBS66) 06:11, 27 July 2011 (EDT)

Thanks, That explains it.

I have deleted my previous gedcoms because on reviewing, I realized how much cleaning up of the file needed to be done and that is best done in my family tree program rather than here.--Morfar 14:00, 27 July 2011 (EDT)


Warnings [5 December 2011]

This is a great edit feature. I didn't know I had so many questionable entries. I will review them all and correct some errors but have the following concerns about what you define as "errors". I have about 6 different trees of Muir families from Fife all related through one or more marriages. Where such a marriage or marriages exist, I show the spouses in both trees and your programme gives me an "error" or "duplicate" message. These are not errors but a result of the system I use to track theses people in both families. Any way around this problem without me having to edit my file or delete my membership with WeRelate?

You also indicate as an "error", births where the husband died more than nine months before the child was born. On what basis do you presume to judge such a situation? It wouldn't be the first time such misrepresentations were made if there was no convenient way to cross check dates of births and deaths. This type of message should be identified as an "alert".--Jim Muir 00:35, 8 August 2011 (EDT)


WeRelate is different from other sites you may have used. We do not "collect trees". Instead we are building a shared database with (maybe someday) a single, integrated tree. Thus, we do not allow duplicates. The whole idea is to create a single web page for each person representing the best information available. WeRelate users collaborate with their fellow researchers, share documentation and attempt to resolve discrepancies. If you are uploading multiple files which contain existing people, you will have to merge them into a single page. Please check your personal duplicate list found on the MyRelate menu. You can also merge individuals or families by using the "more" link on the right menu and select "Find duplicates". You will then be taken to a search screen where you can mark individuals for comparison. A "Tree" in WeRelate is just a collection of pages for your personal convenience. There is no reason to create separate trees for each file you upload and some reasons this could be a problem for you if they overlap.
A child who is born a year after his father's death is definitely an error, however you personally view it. Modern science does not apply since we are dealing with history and not the living generations. With a shared database, there have to be common rules to prevent misunderstanding. Therefore, we use a literal interpretation of father as a blood relationship. A person can have several "spouse/child" families (here spouse is taken very loosely as there may not be a marriage), but a person can have only one parental family consisting of his blood father and mother. One great feature of the wiki is that many other links can be created between people indicating foster parents, uncles where parents are not known, etc. If you need help creating these links, please see the help pages or ask on the Support site listed on the help menu.
We encourage you to continue to use gedcom review to preview your web pages. That is what it is for. You may want to make several passes at scrubbing, removing unsatisfactory files after noting errors before finally getting a good one to mark for import. Thanks.

--Judy (jlanoux) 10:27, 8 August 2011 (EDT) (WeRelate volunteer)

Another point -- the date-based warnings won't be right in every case. To compensate for spurious warnings, it's possible to import a gedcom with a few warnings.--Dallan 22:38, 11 August 2011 (EDT)

I have questions to your alerts and warnings too. There are many, and I mean many, twins in my family - and WeRelate makes them a warning. I guess in your world twins do not exist. Also my family goes back to the Colonial days of the French and Spanish colonies from Louisiana to Florida and many many of the families intermarried, so yes there are many duplications in my family tree. I do have 5th 6th and 7th great grandfathers that are one in the same person form the maternal or paternal side of the branch. Such as Nicholas Baudin. His daughter Franciose Hypolite married Jean Baptiste Alexandre and their daughter Franciose Hypolite married Miguel Eslava - she is my 4th great grandmother and while her first cousin married her son Joachim Eslava and Joachim Eslava is my 3rd great grandfather. Ancestry doesn't acknowledge these relationships either but they darn well do exist. Also Joachim married his first wife Mary Cook whose mother was Constance Baudin the daughter of Nicholas Baudin. So how do you expect to account for such relationships and twins. Joachim Eslava's second wife was Rose Baudin. Another side of the family has three Cleveland brothers marrying three Hieronymus sisters and The Clevelands are also married to several Eslavas. So My uncle is my first cousin twice removed now how does your little program deal with that?

Many families did cohabit and have children before getting married. They needed a justice of the peace or a minister to make a marriage legal and in some areas they didn't exist but when the circuit riders came through they had their vows made so YES people were born before their parents got married. Also I guess you never heard of or accept children born out of wedlock are you being judgmental?

Another thing I personally was married at the age of 15 so your warnings about people being married or having children before the age of 16 will preclude thousands, if not millions, of families. Many people in the 1600's - 1800's didn't love past 35 and were married and had children at very early ages especially if they were from families that still accepted arranged marriages. Your program as far as I am concerned is extremely flawed.--redmondc 00:32, 2 December 2011 (EST)


Another stupid warning is where the gedcom acknowledges a source such as the marriages or a residents list from say 1600 - 1800 and the person was born in 1750 - WeRelate flags that source as a warning as an event before their birth. So if the only record indicating their baptism, residence, marriage or such is a researched book as "Gulf Coast colonials: a compendium of French families in early eighteenth century Louisiana" http://books.google.com/books/about/Gulf_Coast_colonials.html?id=7MeIS1MffoYC In this book you will find the families I mentioned in the previous post as recorded historically from records that may have been destroyed by Hurricane Ivan or Katrina. Marriage Records 1641-1799: by Groom's Name (large file - 697 kb) Marriages of Isle of Wight County, Virginia, 1628-1800 By Blanche Adams Chapman.

When I record a record listed in these books to a gedcom file in ancestry.com or FTLDS it lists the first date of the title of the referenced source. If the person married is listed in these books it doesn't show the dates just that they were married in a time frame. It is accepted by all genealogical based organizations like the DAR, Colonial Dames, First Families of Virginia, and other but not WeRelate. Why not?--redmondc 00:53, 2 December 2011 (EST)


By the way, when I got married at 15, the age of consent in Alabama was 12. So your programmers seem to be making judgement calls for familial relations. How are you going to deal with artificially inseminated persons? How are you going to deal with the many thousands of families in the last 40 years whose parents were never married? How do you deal with Mormons who have multiple wives and children all being married and born in and around the same time? Are you and your programmers just narrow minded and unless a family fits in your little box they are not allowed in your trees?

Are you/programmers making judgments based on religious beliefs about family morals? Had I been sexually active I could have had my first child at the age of 10. It is not based on a moral judgement as much as hormones and the development of sperm and eggs. Some women never have a menstrual cycle until their late teens while others start before becoming a teenager. That my dear boy is pure science.--redmondc 01:06, 2 December 2011 (EST)


The first pregnancy achieved through in vitro human fertilisation of a human oocyte was reported in The Lancet from the Monash University team [53] in 1973. From Wiki: In the United States, between 1997 and 1999, 539 births were reported among mothers over age 50, 194 being over 55.[2] According to statistics from the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority, in Britain, more than 20 babies are born to women over age 50 per year through in-vitro fertilization.

So, how old is too old? Was Larry King of CNN too old when he had a child with his seventh wife at age 70?

Tony Randall who had a child at 77 and died a few years later? James Doohan (Scotty from the original Star Trek) who had children at 80? So based on information found in current day reports your program should come with its own warnings.

WARNINGS: This site/program does not accept GEDCOM files containing:

Twin births or those born when a mother gets pregnant immediately after giving birth. (Because babies cannot be born less than nine months apart) - This is also not true because women have gotten pregnant within weeks of giving birth and had their children less than nine months apart, especially if the second child was premature. 'We had twins and triplets in the space of a year' Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-425017/We-twins-triplets-space-year.html#ixzz1fOR6wzGP

Marriages of men many years older than their spouses -

Children of people who had said children before they were married.

Older women having babies - even though it is known that women can and do have babies during menopause. My husband is 20 years younger than his next oldest sibling and he has a brother five years younger than him. But that cannot be a real case here on WeRelate. My first husband was a menopause baby he was 16 years younger than his next oldest brother. I knew an 80 year old woman with 10 children - the oldest of her children was 68 and her youngest was 33.

Duplicate people and relationships even though the programs that build gedcom files do not have the ability to accept the double relationships in families - I guess it is impossible for a family member to be cousins, married and share grand or great grandparents. In order to show that my 7th great grandfather is the same person from two branches on the same tree in ancestry.com, family tree maker and on the LDS site I had to create another family branch because it is not allowed in the gedcom making programs or here.--redmondc 11:09, 2 December 2011 (EST)

Hello Redmondc,
You make a number of points in your discussions that you believe WeRelate is discriminating against families that may be seen as less than "traditional". This is simply not accurate. Our gedcom review process provides at least three levels of alerts to help our users find and fix genuine errors in their file. As stated on the help page: "Some warnings are due to unusual but factual situations, such as a child being born before a marriage date. If the information is correct, you can ignore the warning."
Let me illustrate. In your file, you have an instance of a child who died more than 200 years after her father was born (father born 1695, child died 1983). This is a valid error which would need to be fixed prior to importing your gedcom. Another example is regarding ambiguous dates. Dates need to be written in unambiguous terms such as 5 Jan 1900 so they are not misinterpreted either during the upload, or upon gedcom export (ie 5-6-1900 could be May 6 1900 or 5 Jun 1900, depending upon where you live). There are also instances in your file where a child was born many years after his/her father died. In our day and age, this could possibly be explained by in-vitro fertilization, but this was not the case in the 1800's. This is more often an example of a child being assigned to the wrong family. These are the types of errors that need to be fixed before a file is uploaded.
We recognize there are many types of families. Our gedcom upload process does a very good job at screening files for the most common genealogical errors. Are there times when it is wrong, yes. Those times are generally covered by our margin of error, or through administrative review. In the case of your gedcom, I would suggest that you carefully review the warnings tab for genuine errors, fix those errors on your home software, and resubmit your file for review. Thank you, --Jennifer (JBS66) 11:12, 2 December 2011 (EST)
I'm glad that Jennifer responded. I was looking at your gedcom to make sure that we had not marked twins as children being born less than 9 months apart. In the families that I checked, you have one child born 3 Jul 1816 and another born 5 Jan 1817 - 6 months later - possible, but unusual, which is why it's marked as a warning. In another family you have one child born 14 Jan 1817 and another born 20 Jan 1817 - highly unlikely. In another family you have one child born Jan 1880 and another born 9 Apr 1880 - also highly unlikely. In another case, you have one child born 1741 and another born 31 July 1741. If these are indeed twins, you should change the birth date of the first child to 31 July 1741. In another family, you have three children all named Robert born 22 March 1782, 22 March 1782, and 23 March 1782 respectively - also very unlikely. I suggest that you print these warnings and use them as an opportunity to review and correct mistakes in your gedcom. Once you've done this, you can resubmit it.--Dallan 12:30, 2 December 2011 (EST)

So what does one have to do to get the warnings for TWINS - WOMEN HAVING CHILDREN LATE IN LIFE AND BEING MARRIED TO OLD MEN OR BEFORE 12 CLEARED?--redmondc 15:01, 3 December 2011 (EST)

Redmondc, let me begin by saying that I do not appreciate being yelled at (that is what writing in all caps implies). I believe I've been calm and kind in my response to you, and I ask for the same respect in return.
Now, can you please tell us which family in your gedcom contains twins that you believe have an incorrect warning. The names of both spouses and children will be helpful. I will address this issue first. --Jennifer (JBS66) 15:14, 3 December 2011 (EST)
If there are warnings that are in fact true events, those can be ignored. As you work through your errors, you will reduce your warning percentage to be within appropriate range. Your warning percentage is still high because of errors such as the following:
  • Jean Baptiste Alexandre, III - his baptism date is listed as 1733-1803 and his birth is 10 May 1734. It was unlikely he was baptised before his birth - this is why the system is recording an error.
  • George Bartee and Elizabeth Highly - George was born 1772, but his son Jesse was born in 1782. It is unlikely that George was a father at 10 years old
  • Louis Francois Alexander Baudin - His birth is listed as 9 Jun 1722 but his arrival is 1716-1737. Since the 1716 arrival date is prior to his birth, it's flagging a warning
  • John Keith Redmond - birth 9 May 1953, but resided in New Orleans from 1935-1993. Since the residence date is earlier than his birth, it's flagging a warning.
This is why we ask that users carefully review the Warning Tab. Correct those items that are indeed errors. Then you can resubmit your file. Some users do this multiple times to correct their data. I am sure that you can appreciate the fact that WeRelate wants the most accurate data possible uploaded to the site. That is why we ask users to clean up their files before it becomes a permanant part of the site. --Jennifer (JBS66) 15:38, 3 December 2011 (EST)

Jennifer - Jean Baptiste Alexandre's baptism is recorded through A SOURCE that is recorded in the gedcom file for proof and it is listed as a source from Baptisms extending before and after his birth. I have asked repeatedly how to deal with such an issue and still the level of help has eluded the correct answers be telling me the warning - well duh I saw how the program selected that as an error/warning but it is correct as far as the dates recorded in the SOURCE. Again I have stated that the dates are from DOCUMENTS such as census record which is accepted as evidence of birth dates. So why should I change information regarding data acquired from factual recorded sources that are accepted and approved by genealogical societies? I have changed dates and resubmitted and I again have said that I personally was 15 when I was married so to make warning about people married or giving birth before age 12 - 16 is not helping me eliminate warnings. What does ignoring correct facts mean when it still is rejected? What does one do to have these files accepted? I have eliminated documented sources from the ancestry.com account that I did not want to delete to satisfy this site's frustrating process. I previously said I can agree to preclude erroneous information but how DO YOU account for the acceptance from genealogical societies acceptance of Census recorded data but here does not? Also as I stated previously to tell me that a child was born before their parent's marriage as though that is an issue or some sort of problem is actually a judgement on what is accepted as normal. It was more normal in the early 20th century and earlier and again it is even more prevalent in the last 30 years. So I am having to correct issues that are not incorrect and I have deleted information from my gedcom that I did not want to lose. So what is the answer? Do not again tell me or ask me the issues either it is or it isn't going to be accepted. I mean after all this program in the family mates section says Elizabeth Highley my 4th great grandmother is not connected to me. So I see more errors in this program than with my gedcom file.

EXAMPLE: These are acceptable proof of birth but not here at werelate.

Quebec Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1621-1967 about Jean Baptiste Alexandre Name: Jean Baptiste Alexandre Event Year: 1733-1803 Event: Naissance (Birth) Religion: Catholique Place of Worship or Institution: St-François-de-la-Rivière-du-Sud Province: Québec (Quebec)

Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, 1500s-1900s about Jean Baptist Alexandr Name: Jean Baptist Alexandr Year: 1764 Place: Mobile, Alabama Source Publication Code: 9600 Primary Immigrant: Alexandr, Jean Baptist Annotation: Names the French who took the Oath of Allegiance and inhabitants of Mobile in what was then West Florida who took the Oaths of Allegiance and Fidelity, October 2, 1764. Official list on file in the British Public Record Office in London. Source Bibliography: WARREN, MRS. RUTH, contributor. "List of Inhabitants of Mobile." In Deep South Genealogical Quarterly, vol. 3:4 (May 1966), pp. 629-630. THIS DOES not mean this is his first arrival to Mobile - it means he was a passenger.

WERELATE warns that John Keith Redmond has an event before birth it is a record of residence from when he lived in New Orleans. Keith is my brother and he lived in New Orleans in 1983, but the record records the title of the source 1950 - 1993 and that is what it says on the record in the gedcom.

U.S. Public Records Index, Volume 2 about John K Redmond Name: John K Redmond Birth Date: 9 May 1953 Address: 601 Iberville St Apt 304, New Orleans, LA, 70130-2353 ------The U.S. Public Records Index is a compilation of various public records spanning all 50 states in the United States from 1950 to 1993. These records are all accessible to the general public by contacting the appropriate agency. Ancestry.com has simply made the process of finding certain public records easier by making them available in an online searchable database. Entries in this index may contain information such as: A person’s first name, middle name or initial and last name

A street or mailing address

A telephone number

A birth date or birth year

An age

This site does not accept these records and lists them as warnings. They are valid and actual records ---redmondc 15:15, 4 December 2011 (EST)


Jennifer your comment about George Bartee being 10 - a male can produce sperm at 10 and therefore father a child - also http://www.pobronson.com/factbook/pages/100.html , ... in colonial times, children were looked upon as essentially chattel. (Arguably, so too were women, for that matter.) If something is considered to be chattel, it's a form of property a person owns and controls. So children, as chattel, were thought of a source of labor, and not much else. Families would apprentice children at the age of 10, or send them to serve other families. Slave children, of course, could be bought and sold at any time. In 1620, London decreed that its “street children” could be sent by force to Virginia to be indentured servants. While most New Englanders came as families, more than half of those who emigrated to the Southern colonies were indentured servants – the average age of them being between 14 and 16 years old (and as young as six).

Again the programmers are imposing modern morals in the files and data of gedcom files. And just because a person 'Believes it highly unlikely" doesn't make it a fact.--redmondc 15:42, 4 December 2011 (EST)

As I believe we have said before, some of the situations that are caught and reported by the gedcom upload process as warnings correspond to unlikely but valid events. It's about statistics. The gedcom uploader reports as warnings situations that are statistically rare. We do not reject gedcoms that have a few warnings because although rare, these situations do sometimes occur. But when a gedcom contains dozens of warnings like yours, it is more likely that the data is in error.--Dallan 14:40, 5 December 2011 (EST)

"ready to import" still greyed out after over a week? [8 February 2012]

Hi,

I've gone over each warning, corrected what I could and resubmitted (UleryBunten.GED). My error rate is 1.6%. I've gone through all the matching families and matched what I could. I've been through all the tabs but the "ready to import" button is still greyed out after two weeks. Thanks.--Janisb 15:21, 8 February 2012 (EST)

It looks like some of the families listed under the matching families tab hadn't been marked as "match" or "not a match", so the system was waiting for someone to do that. I went ahead and marked the remaining families and imported the gedcom.-Dallan 18:30, 8 February 2012 (EST)

How to correct new title for a new gedcom [20 March 2012]

I am reviewing a gedcom that I submitted today and noticed that when I created the tree , I spelled two surnames wrong . It should be McHenryCavenaughButlerDowns. Before I finish the review and import , I would like to correct it ( I bolded the corrections above ) . Thanks.--HFR100 Harriet aka HFR100

You should be able to edit the pages during gedcom review. Navigate to the person whose name you want to change, and you'll see a little "edit" link just under their name in the bottom-half of the screen.--Dallan 23:07, 20 March 2012 (EDT)

Editing Widow who remarried with one child. [25 March 2012]

I looked on other User pages to see how this type of family structure is treated and I am a liitle perplexed. I have a widow with one child who remarried . For instance , Miss Rachel ( maiden name unknown) married Mr. (given name unknown) Smith . They have one child. A person page for the child was properly created from the gedcom. Then Mrs. Rachel ___ Smith marries Mr. Jack Jones and has many children. A family page was established from the generated gedcom for them . However , will the child from the first marriage be left out ( unlinked )from her second marriage and his half-siblings ?~~--Harriet Hfr100--HFR100 16:08, 23 March 2012 (EDT)

A separate family page should be created for Miss Rachel and Mr Smith with their one child. Think of families as groupings of individuals: a husband, wife, and zero or more children. Each combination of husband and wife gets a separate family page.--Dallan 13:20, 25 March 2012 (EDT)

Import went wrong [16 April 2012]

Yesterday, 29 March 2012, I reviewed a GEDCOM file that I had uploaded. After having checked everything, I hit the finalize button, and then a small popup window appeared telling something like "Something went wrong. It's our fault. Please try again later". Now I am just curious about whether the ball is on my half of the field or or somebody else's half. There doen't seem to much I can do, however. If I try to change anything in my review (exclude a person, say), I'm told that I'm not authorized. So I shouldn't really 'try later', should I? - only be patient, right?--Hhbruun 10:00, 30 March 2012 (EDT)

Sorry - that message is displayed whenever there's a problem communicating with the server. It looks like in this case the gedcom was finalized before the error occurred. I trust it was imported successfully.--Dallan 22:40, 7 April 2012 (EDT)

It turned out to have worked alright in the first place. More recently, I've done more GEDCOM uploads, the most recent of which five days ago. I remain unsure if has worked properly. Superficially, everything looks fine, except the file hasn't been incoporated into my default tree after 5 days. What disturbs me is that apparently bits and pieces of the tree and disconnected persons can be found using the search function, many redlinked (a family page exists, say, but not pages for persons). Should I just remain patient? Hhbruun 10:58, 15 April 2012 (EDT)

The importer seems to have crashed partway through importing the file. I restarted it and everything seems fine. Thanks for letting me know.--Dallan 10:58, 16 April 2012 (EDT)

Ready to Import but can't [26 May 2012]

I have 2 warnings that a person was buried before he died. I fixed the error but WeRelate still says I have a 5.9% error rate and won't allow the import. Also there is an alert that a woman had a child after age 45, which she did. Can't fix that. Do I just need to let things churn and check back another day? thanks. Love this site.--Kurious2no 04:12, 22 May 2012 (EDT)

Looks like the gedcom was imported successfully. Let me know if there are any problems.--Dallan 00:47, 27 May 2012 (EDT)

How do I get to the Review GEDCOM application [15 June 2012]

I'm a newbie. I can read the help topic. How do I invoke the Review GEDCOM application?--ArtScott 12:30, 14 June 2012 (EDT)


I read this answer responding to similar question dated 19 May 2010.

"For others' benefit, the answer is that there should be a link to the review program on your "Talk" page, which you can access from the "MyRelate" menu. Click on the link to start the review."

Clicking on MyRelate menu to select User Page, on the page labeled User talk:ArtScott, I can’t find any link to the review program.--ArtScott 16:11, 15 June 2012 (EDT)

Hello ArtScott, it does not appear that you have completed a GEDCOM upload, because your username does not appear in the list of current files. To import a file, go to Add>Import GEDCOM and follow the instructions on that screen. You will receive a notice on your talk page when the file has completed uploading. At that time, you can click the link in that message to review your file. --Jennifer (JBS66) 16:25, 15 June 2012 (EDT)

New user-uploading gedcom review [20 October 2012]

I uploaded a gedcom of four related families (abt 160 people) and i don't want to have to create a new gedcom (too much time). I have a few alerts/error/warnings. 2 of these were legitimate and I was able to fix the marriage date for two of the errors but it still shows up in the warnings list. I tried to fix the birth date for one of the warnings, but there was no edit link so i just "excluded" him and that warning is still on the list. Two of the alerts are about births before marriage-my dates are correct and these things happen so i don't understand why I can't remove them from the warnings list???? Thank, Sharon Connolly--SharonReynoldsConnolly 09:39, 20 October 2012 (EDT)


Please review my first GED import [9 January 2013]

Since this is my first tree, it would be helpful to have an extra set of eyes look it over before importing. I have removed notes pertaining to education & immigration from individuals on People tab yet still reflected on Places tab. Is there a way to exclude these removals? thanks for your assistance!--Yapper 20:29, 8 January 2013 (EST)


same names [2 February 2013]

I have MANY people where the husband and wife have the same surnames. Sometimes they were related and sometimes not. I have a couple instances where there are husband and wife who have the same names as someone else in this particular tree. Silly people, reusing names, marrying cousins, whatever. I wish they had been more creative but they weren't. It's too late to kill them. But I can't upload them because the program is making judgments that it must be wrong.--Cheryl 16:54, 2 February 2013 (EST)

The alert about 'Husband and wife have the same surname' is meant to help identify gedcoms where a person has entered married names instead of maiden names for women. This alert is not preventing you from uploading your gedcom. There are 3 levels of 'warnings' - alerts, warnings, and errors. Make sure that you click on each one to mark them as read, fix the true errors, and work on matching the families on the Family Matches tabs. Then, the Ready to Import button should be available to press. Sometimes, it is easier to fix errors in your home software, then reupload the file. Some small errors (like missing gender) can be fixed within gedcom upload process. If you have any further problems, let us know. --Jennifer (JBS66) 17:05, 2 February 2013 (EST)

Gedcom issues corrected but re-highlight [19 March 2013]

I have corrected quite a few of my gedcom issues but when I go back in everything is rehighlighted in bold as though I had never looked at it. How do I keep thins from happening? Gedcom is at: http://www.werelate.org/gedcom/index.php?gedcomId=9516

It is named: update Mar 2013.ged Thanks,--Sheri 16:28, 19 March 2013 (EDT)


Gedcom issues corrected but re-highlight [19 March 2013]

I have corrected quite a few of my gedcom issues but when I go back in everything is rehighlighted in bold as though I had never looked at it. How do I keep thins from happening? Gedcom is at: http://www.werelate.org/gedcom/index.php?gedcomId=9516

It is named: update Mar 2013.ged Thanks,--Sheri 16:28, 19 March 2013 (EDT)


Hi, The system doesn't update the warning list when changes or corrections are made. I checked the page that shows error. It's fine. --sq 20:17, 19 March 2013 (EDT)


May 8 review of Myers+Family-Tree.ged [11 May 2013]

I selected Gedcom review from the Admin tab. Then clicked on "Myers+Family-Tree.ged" because it said "Admin Review Needed.
1. First I check the Places tab. If most of the gedcom had been from the Netherlands I would not go any further. When I update the log, I mark all the Netherland files in yellow for Klaas and JBS66. However, this file is not a Netherlands file so we will proceed.
2. Next I check the "People" tab. Click on the word "exclude" in the top of the table. This will group all the excluded people at the top. Then I scan the list of people and look for dates and irregularities. Mostly what I'm looking for is people that are probably living or if the majority of the people do not have at least one date and place. In the event most of the people do not have a date, then please randomly click on people's names and look at their pages. Often they will have christening or burial data that didn't show up. If they have burial or christening data, then the file is good. If they have no data, the file is bad.

Often user will try to load files with only names. This makes matching impossible. Also if most of the people do not have at least one date and place, they may very well be alive. WeRelate doesn't post info on living people.
In Myers+Family-Tree.ged, most of the people have at least one date and place.

3. Next click on the "Families" tab. Then click on the word "exclude" so the excluded people are at the top of the list. Here I am checking to see if most of the families have a spouse. I am also looking for families with living in the "marriage" column and families that have no spouses.

In this file, there were a lot of families without spouses. Click on the line for each family to see if there is any information on the page. Sometimes a marriage date or place will be recorded or there will be multiple children recorded. In this file, the spouseless families had only one child and no marriage data. These pages will be excluded, tomorrow when I check back. I left them alone so you could see them.
There are also a significant number of pages with "living" in the "marriage" column. Tomorrow, I will also exclude these pages. We do not upload pages with living data.
Otherwise, the families have spouses and the names look OK.

4. Next check the warning tab. Look through the warning to see if there is anything too serious. I look mostly for errors and duplicate pages unless the person has a lot of obvious problems. In this case Cecil Curtis had an event before birth. It was an alternate birth date. I clicked on Cecil's line in the warnings table and that opens his page below. Next I clicked on the edit link, and then on the down arrow in the event field and changed the event to "alt birth." Otherwise the warnings don't look too bad. The user has old people getting married and a couple with the same surname. None of these will keep the gedcom from being uploaded.
5. Next click on the "Family Matches" tab. Here I'm looking for lots of "Not a match." If the file had lots of these, I would spot check a few. If they appeared to match with pages already on WeRelate, I would ask the user to recheck the proposed matches. However, this user has "updated" all the proposed matches. Our work is done. This file can be imported.
6. After checking all the "admin review needed" files, I go to User:Solveig/gedcom review and copy and paste the additional gedcoms that have been uploaded since the last time. The purpose of this list is to list the gedcoms that have not be uploaded. So, if you upload a gedcom, take it off the list. Please follow the format and put the usernames on the first line as so '''username'''(three apostrophes before and after the username). Set the delete date for 30 days and then type <br> at the end of the line. The name of the gedcom is also set off by apostrophes on the second line. If we send the gedcom back to user review, we note that on the third line. If you find a Netherlands gedcom, put it on the list and mark it yellow by typing <span style="background-color:yellow;"> before the username and </span> after the username These gedcoms belong to the Netherlands committee. JBS66 and Klaas have a very active and well organized group to help the Netherlands users so we let them. We do not import their files and we do not delete them.

That's it. I will import this file tomorrow morning. And review the next set tomorrow evening. Thanks for volunteering. Volunteers make the WeRelate community work for everyone.

--sq 21:01, 8 May 2013 (EDT)


Fabulous, thank you! I apologize for not seeing this sooner.

I have a minor question concerning the Gedcom Review page. The files on this page should match the files listed on the Admin:Gedcom Review, correct? Therefore, if the file is no longer in the list for review, it should no longer be on the secondary Review list, right?--Khaentlahn 10:08, 11 May 2013 (EDT)


‎VULFJENSEN.GED Review [13 May 2013]

This GEDCOM is Netherlands related. Would you like me to add it to the log and highlight it, or is there something else that needs to be done to indicate that it is intended for the Netherlands group to review? Also, is there a way to remove my name as Reviewer or will that only happen after the next person starts the review process?--Khaentlahn 22:45, 12 May 2013 (EDT)

Are you referring to Hhbruun's ‎VULFJENSEN.GED? That file has Denmark places, so it does not need to be highlighted or reviewed by the Netherlands group. The first admin to look at a file marked for admin review will be noted with that admin's username. The name is not removed when another admin looks at the file. --Jennifer (JBS66) 07:34, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

I apologize, I could have sworn it was named something else, but you are correct, that is the Gedcom I was referencing. I'm assuming I caught it during some stage to which I'm ignorant. In any case, my brain associated Denmark with the Netherlands, which are obviously not the same. As to the Reviewer name on the Gedcom Review list, I have not found where it lists who have reviewed which files so that I have an idea whether another Review has looked at the Gedcom or not, therefore, I was uncertain how that worked. In any case, the file appears to be fine for upload if you want to look over it as well.--Khaentlahn 08:23, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

Hhbruun is a trusted importer. I usually don't check them. I'll go ahead and import the file. Thanks for checking it. --sq 22:58, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

Leaving the GEDCOM Review interface [13 May 2013]

Minor question: Why does the GEDCOM Review interface drop you onto the Main page of WeRelate when you click on "Return to WeRelate" instead of the GEDCOM Review page?--Khaentlahn 08:28, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

that's just the way it works. I don't think that's going to change.

‎DClarkson.ged [19 May 2013]

I believe this GEDCOM is someone testing the proverbial WeRelate waters. Is there a procedure for handling this type of upload?--Khaentlahn 19:10, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

Here is the message I put on DClarkson's talk page....
Hello, I am a volunteer admin and it's my job to check incoming gedcoms. I noticed there were only 4 names in your gedcom, 3 were living must be excluded. The fourth, William Gerald Clarkson was born and died on the same day and could be imported but the exclude box has been marked. Did you mean to import William Gerald Clarkson? If so please go to the gedcom and click on the exclude box. The file will be deleted in 30 days if no action is taken. Welcome to the WeRelate community. --sq 23:09, 13 May 2013 (EDT)

I updated the gedcom list on [[User:Solveig/gedcom review] by Deleting the Hhbruun entry and noting that DClarkson's file only contained excluded members and has been returned to user review.


Winterbauer

All persons in the gedcom have been excluded. I returned it to user review and put this message on his user talk page:

It appears that all persons in your gedcom have been excluded. I assume this is some glitch with your gedcom generator. If you wish to import the gedcom, please follow the link above to review the gedcom and un-exclude (click on the exclude box) the persons you wish to upload. Please keep in mind that gedcoms will be deleted in 30 days if you don't process your gedcom. Please contact me if you have any questions Thanks,

--sq 19:05, 19 May 2013 (EDT)


Hnwhitmore gedcom [23 May 2013]

This gedcom seems fine except none of the husbands have wives and vice versa. Here is a copy of the message I sent before returning it to user review.

Hi, it appears that for some reason none of the wives have husbands and none of the husbands have wives. We need most of your family to have a mother and a father. Since you have dates for every marriage, I assume there was some problem with your gedcom generator. I tried to line up the husbands and wives, but none of the dates match. Please go back through your file and connect the husbands and wives. If you have any questions, please leave me a message Thanks, --sq 22:43, 23 May 2013 (EDT)

Hnwhitmore gedcom [23 May 2013]

This gedcom seems fine except none of the husbands have wives and vice versa. Here is a copy of the message I sent before returning it to user review.

Hi, it appears that for some reason none of the wives have husbands and none of the husbands have wives. We need most of your family to have a mother and a father. Since you have dates for every marriage, I assume there was some problem with your gedcom generator. I tried to line up the husbands and wives, but none of the dates match. Please go back through your file and connect the husbands and wives. If you have any questions, please leave me a message Thanks, --sq 22:43, 23 May 2013 (EDT)

MOSESLINE.GED from Hnwhitmore [1 June 2013]

This GEDCOM appears to be fine. The issue in their previous GEDCOM concerning husbands and wives does not appear to be in this GEDCOM. It appears to be a GEDCOM that can be imported as is.--Khaentlahn 07:40, 29 May 2013 (EDT)


Agreed. Go ahead and import it. Thanks for your review. --sq 20:17, 1 June 2013 (EDT)


Bluford Hawkins Family GEDCOM.ged from FranklySpeaking [1 June 2013]

This GEDCOM is fairly small, but appears to have an issue with husbands and wives. There are three complete family groups, but there are nine single individuals with families and marriage dates, but no spouses to go with them. Could this be a GEDCOM program issue?--Khaentlahn 13:06, 1 June 2013 (EDT)


I'm not sure why it is this way but the I think the user is trying to preserve marriage dates on the spouseless marriages and trying to preserve a parents name when he/she doesn't know the spouse. Generally I ask them to give spouse info on at least half the marriages but this files looks ok otherwise. I uploaded it. Thanks for your review.--sq 20:14, 1 June 2013 (EDT)


Langdale and Smith families Fill In.ged from RGMoffat [1 June 2013]

This GEDCOM appears to be ready for import. Awaiting secondary review.--Khaentlahn 13:18, 1 June 2013 (EDT)


agreed. Go ahead and import it. Thanks for your review. --sq 20:16, 1 June 2013 (EDT)


1i18u5_11646952o20485681i1aum.ged from Gic [4 June 2013]

I'm hesitating over this particular file. There aren't as many dates attributed to people as to make the family easily identifiable and there are many individuals where the only death indication is "Y" with no other dates at all. Would someone be kind enough to look over this file and indicate where the line should be drawn in future GEDCOMs, that is, if this one is importable as is. Thanx!--Khaentlahn 07:55, 3 June 2013 (EDT)


Hello, Thanks for looking this over. You are right. There are not enough dates. I've been waiting for one of these to show up so we could go through the process. First thing I do when I see there aren't enough dates is randomly click on pages that have no dates. I'm looking for christening or burial data. Christening and burial dates don't show up on our review screens but are acceptable data. If this user had christening dates or burial dates, I would approve the gedcom. However, this file doesn't So please, send it back to user review and enter {{Subst:No data}} and then add your signature line (the second button from the right above the text box in the text field. You will need to save the page and then edit it a second time so you can change the "reply here" link to [[User talk:Khaentlahn|reply here]]

Double curly brackets insert a template. When you put subst inside the brackets, it types out the template so the user can see any formatting. I usually use subst when I use a template to help train users. Here is what the no data template says:

Hello and welcome to WeRelate. Thank you for submitting your gedcom file. I am afraid that there is a problem. WeRelate is based on a shared database and creates a web page for each person. In your file, most of the people don't have events containing dates and places which would enable someone to identify the person. We will not be able to use this file as it is. However, we do encourage you to work on your data. You will need to add at least one date and place for most of the people in your file. We also strongly encourage the use of sources. You may like to browse the existing pages and try creating a few by hand to get familiar with how WeRelate works. A list of recent featured pages is available from the WeRelate home. These will provide some examples of what is possible. And, finally, as a reminder, we do not create pages for living people. If you have any questions about your gedcom, you can reply here.--sq 13:36, 3 June 2013 (EDT)

Okay, I got lost here. Where am I entering {{Subst:No data}}? Once I clicked on return to user, it returned and didn't give me an option to enter anything that I could see.--Khaentlahn 13:51, 3 June 2013 (EDT)


Hi, So when we have a file that has very little real data, you click on the Import tab. That gives you the choice to import, leave a message or return to user review. It's important to select leave first. If you return to user review first you will need to go the user's talk page separately. Anyway, select leave a message. Type {{Subst:No data}} in the text box for the user's talk page and add your signature line. Save, then select edit again, and change the reply here link so it has your username.

When you type Subst: it types out the message otherwise when you or the user selects edit, all you see is {{No data}}. You can't edit the template's message. So its important to use the subst:

Also, Sometimes I need to edit the message to fit the situation. This cannot be done unless you save the template. Then select edit a second time and make your changes. The template itself can be permanently edited like any other wiki page by going to Template:No data and editing it.

Hope this helps, --sq 14:43, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


So if you don't leave a message through the Review, then do you send the message to them through their Talk page or through email? Or does it actually matter which you use?--Khaentlahn 15:03, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


When the message is sent through the review it it posted to their talk page and they get an email telling them that something has been posted to their talk page. You don't need to send them another message. Thanks, --sq 13:56, 5 June 2013 (EDT)


‎Francis Cunningham Hawkins Family GEDCOM.ged from FranklySpeaking [3 June 2013]

I would import this file as is.--Khaentlahn 08:14, 3 June 2013 (EDT)

----

I agree. I imported the file. Thanks for your help. :-) --sq 13:37, 3 June 2013 (EDT)


Francis Claiborne Hawkins, Sr. GEDCOM.ged from FranklySpeaking [4 June 2013]

I would import this file as is. --Khaentlahn 11:10, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


go ahead and import. You are doing great. Is there anything else you have questions about?--sq 14:45, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


Is there a list of other templates related to GEDCOM reviews?--Khaentlahn 15:01, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


the "No data" is the only one I use. Other problems are rare and unique enough that templates don't seem necessary. However, if you feel the need to create some, do. We should add a list of templates to the review instructions so they don't get lost.--sq 13:56, 5 June 2013 (EDT)


‎WeRelate1.ged from Jimmcfarlane [4 June 2013]

Here is another that is ready for import. --Khaentlahn 15:50, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


I imported it. In the future when you find a perfect file like this one, just import it.


‎Noah Hawkins Family (1767) GEDCOM.ged from FranklySpeaking [4 June 2013]

This GEDCOM has an error, which indicates that a child was born more than 9 months after the father passed away (In fact, nearly a year and a half after). It is most likely an incorrect date, but in any case, is this an issue? Other than that, the file looks good to go. --Khaentlahn 23:47, 4 June 2013 (EDT)


I wouldn't worry about one error. It's either an incorrect date that can be changed with more research or there was some indiscretion and the real father was not recorded. The child would have been raised as part of the family anyway.

This file has marriage dates so it would be ok to keep the single parent families. Thinking about it, I was too fast to pass on the last time this issue came up. However, when I see a file like this, I suspect there is a problem with the the user's gedcom generator. Generally, if they have dates, they have the name of the spouse. Please create a message. Explain that although the gedcom can be imported, it would be better if they included the names of spouses. Ask the user to insert then names of spouses if he/she has them and contact you if that if they don't have the names. Perhaps you would want to create a template for this instance. Never saw much of this before but we have ran across three in three weeks. Thanks, --sq 13:56, 5 June 2013 (EDT)


‎STANSLINE.GED from HBWhitmore [18 June 2013]

This is a relatively small file, which does not include many individuals, but I'm afraid half of them do not have dates associated with them and a little background research indicates that at least one may still be alive. I can find dates for the few I checked, so I know most of the non-dated individuals are deceased and can have dates entered. Most of the undated individuals appear to be the spouses of dated individuals and there are enough dates on earlier generations to make the non-dated individuals identifiable.

My question is, what is the best way to handle this file. Should this file be imported as is, be imported with a note to the uploader, or be returned to them because of a possible problem with their program?--Khaentlahn 09:28, 15 June 2013 (EDT)

I went ahead and imported the file as there were no actual problems with the information. I excluded the possible living individual as no death date was provided.--Khaentlahn 12:50, 16 June 2013 (EDT)

Sorry I haven't got back to you. I have 2 sons leaving home in the next week and life is hectic. So generally, unless you are feeling very generous, you are not expected to look up dates for users. It's very nice if you want to but it's OK to return it to user review and move on. Thanks for being so conscientious. --sq 20:44, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

Life has a way of being life, so that is completely understandable and thank you for the response. I will keep this in mind in the future.--Khaentlahn 09:37, 18 June 2013 (EDT)

‎Henrizi Family of New Jersey.ged from Sthurston [17 June 2013]

There appears to be a possible problem with this file. There is an entire set of POHL family members showing up on the People page that are duplicates of themselves with the same birth dates and other information with only slight variants. The Family page for them appears also to be excluded, which makes me wonder if the duplicate children were intended to be excluded as well.

Is there a typical way to handle this when WeRelate doesn't catch duplicates?--Khaentlahn 10:39, 15 June 2013 (EDT)


I figured it out based on information from the GEDCOM review page, returned the file to them and left a message on their talk page.--Khaentlahn 08:34, 16 June 2013 (EDT)

Thanks. Again I'm sorry I didn't get back to you. You did exactly right. --sq 20:45, 17 June 2013 (EDT)


‎LADD Branch_2013-06-14.ged from LEnde1018 [17 June 2013]

This file contains more individuals which are matched to individuals already on WeRelate than it contains new people. It includes 77 new people and 119 matches. Randomly going through matched people indicates that the matches appear to be many people they uploaded previously with the same sources and links. While there is definite benefit to including the 77 new people and source links, I am uncertain how best to handle this file. Suggestions?--Khaentlahn 10:46, 15 June 2013 (EDT)

Matches are not a problem. We expect that. As long as the pages are matched and the duplicates taken care of, we are happy to upload the 77 newbies. --sq 20:48, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

Secondary question, if a user attempts to upload a tree within days of another tree, will the first tree be overwritten? This particular tree, which was awaiting an answer, appears to have disappeared from the Gedcom Review list, but this user currently has a different GEDCOM in the Gedcom Review report. I checked their user talk page and this tree was not imported by anyone else, so I'm at a loss as to how else to explain the phenomenon.--Khaentlahn 11:11, 16 June 2013 (EDT)
It's possible the user discovered a prob and deleted the first gedcom so she/he could upload the corrected one. I wouldn't worry about it. --sq 20:48, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

Deletion Procedure [18 June 2013]

There are a few GEDCOMs on the Review page that are old enough to be deleted. Activity has been next to nil on many of them. What is the procedure for doing this so the report may be updated?--Khaentlahn 10:49, 15 June 2013 (EDT)


yeah, if they are over 30 days old and not from the Netherlands, delete them. One exception is if you recognize the user and they have responded before. You should send them an email telling them their gedcom will be deleted unless they contact you in say 7 days. Thanks, --sq 20:49, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

I apologize. In lieu of guidance, I removed some of the earlier files (April and before) and did not consider the Netherland files separately, two of which were yellow highlighted. I will remember this in future. I did not remove any file that had a talk page indicating that the individual was active with their file or if they had contributions which indicated that they were a reasonably regular user. All of the deleted files appeared to be, for lack of a better term, "hit and run" submissions, except for one, which was so horrendous as to make using the file next to impossible. I hope I did not cause any undue difficulties with my ignorance.--Khaentlahn 09:34, 18 June 2013 (EDT)

‎export-Ancestors.ged from Mortenlud [16 June 2013]

Would someone else be kind enough to look over this file? I do not speak Norwegian and I am unable to determine this files validity. Thank you!--Khaentlahn 15:12, 16 June 2013 (EDT)


scotjimland.ged [17 June 2013]

I wanted to point out something on the scotjimland.ged. If you go to Family Matches and click on any one of them, each page is matched to a red-linked family that is "not found". This happens because this user deleted their tree and did not wait long enough to re-import a new file. The user would need to delete the GEDCOM and re-upload for it to be processed properly. I'm traveling over the next few days, but I just wanted to post a quick note about this. --Jennifer (JBS66) 08:30, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

Thank you so much, that's great to know.--Khaentlahn 08:40, 17 June 2013 (EDT)

I left the user a message to that extent. Thanks for everyone's help. --sq 20:57, 17 June 2013 (EDT)


‎Our On-Going Family - Winegar - Burnett - Sparr - Vondrak - Monk_2012-11-25_2013-06-12.ged from Smwinegar [20 June 2013]

I would like a second opinion on this file.

My conclusion would be to return this file to the user based on the fact that it is lacking enough data. I would guesstimate that it is missing any information on at least a third of the individuals in the file (no dates or places) and randomly spot-checking those with dates, maybe half of them came up with at least one place.--Khaentlahn 08:29, 19 June 2013 (EDT)


My computer is messed up. I don't know why but I loose all the tabs on two different browsers. I can't check the files until I get the browser sorted out. This file has a red notice--lots of warnings. Unless the warnings are minor the file should be returned to the user anyway. Generally speaking, if they don't have identifying info on at least half the people, reject it. --sq 22:51, 20 June 2013 (EDT)

I went ahead and returned the file with a message concerning data needs.--Khaentlahn 08:19, 21 June 2013 (EDT)

‎Maciel.ged from Jgregorio [22 June 2013]

Perhaps this is a WeRelate phenomenon (having more than one file needing review, which has the same issue on the same day), but here is another file in which I would prefer a second opinion since it appears to be returnable based on a lack of enough viable data.--Khaentlahn 08:37, 19 June 2013 (EDT)

I went ahead and returned the file with a message concerning data needs.--Khaentlahn 08:19, 21 June 2013 (EDT)

thanks, I'm still having trouble with my browser. --sq 23:52, 22 June 2013 (EDT)


‎bondarenko.ged [31 October 2013]

bondarenko.ged contains individual names which include Romanian (or Russian) fonts. Are names on WeRelate supposed to be Romanized or is this allowable? Any help with this would be appreciated.--Khaentlahn 12:50, 16 October 2013 (UTC)


Hi. They don't need to Romanize the names. The system recognizes special characters. Thanks for working so hard. --sq 22:18, 31 October 2013 (UTC)


WeRelate's import program - Middle Initial is imported as Surname [31 October 2013]

Hello,

When there is no surname, the WeRelate import is taking the middle initial and placing it in the surname field. Then on the 4.Warnings tab, I get an alert stating in the 'Description' field: "Surname has only one letter"

Please correct this.--Run4Fun 21:52, 31 October 2013 (UTC)


Hi. Different pedigree managers and users create different GEDCOMs. For some reason your GEDCOM is putting the middle initial in the Suffix field. When no surname is given, the system automatically uses the suffix as a surname. Soooooo, to correct this problem, click on the person's name in the gedcom review list under the person tab. Then select edit in the lower window. Move the initial into the given name field (i.e. Mary E) and the system will insert "unknown" as a surname. Hope this helps. --sq 22:16, 31 October 2013 (UTC)


'Duplicate of Another Family' Error [12 November 2013]

There is a file which has come up having one duplicate family (two families come up, but one of them is not a duplicate). Does the file need to be automatically rejected for the duplicate family pages or can the two family pages be merged after the import? The individual person pages are the same person, therefore, the duplicate family pages are coming up as secondary marriages on the two individual pages. The rest of the file appears clean. Any help on this would be appreciated.--Khaentlahn 10:29, 12 November 2013 (UTC)

Which file is this? --Jennifer (JBS66) 14:20, 12 November 2013 (UTC)

‎MOORE Mary Grace - Ancestors - amended - 11-10-2013.ged--Khaentlahn 14:26, 12 November 2013 (UTC)

In limited amounts like this, where the file has relatively few other errors, it can be imported. I would either leave a message for the user to merge the pages after import (with the names of the families included in the message), or make a note for yourself to merge them after. One thing that needs to be fixed in this file before import are the (--?--) surnames. I went into the file and removed the (--?--) from the surname fields. I'll leave a message for Dallan about this too, because text like this should be omitted from the title (Evalina (--?--) is titling the page as Evalina -- --). --Jennifer (JBS66) 14:48, 12 November 2013 (UTC)

help review GEDCOM [25 February 2014]

Hi,

I have a small gedcom ready to import. 2 individuals were excluded because they are early. Could an exception be made? They are not in WR, although Josiah Cleveland's b. 1690 parents are.

From discussion I see that the early rule is to weed out gedcom dumping. You are welcome to review my edits to see that I maintain my contributions as well as others.

Thanks,

Prcb 03:09, 24 February 2014 (UTC)


The gedcom is http://www.werelate.org/gedcom/index.php?gedcomId=10480 Prcb 22:18, 24 February 2014 (UTC)

Personally, I do not see any difficulty with allowing an exception in your Gedcom for the early rule and if you would be so kind as to finish with your Gedcom and put it up for admin review, I will review it from this end and approve it for inclusion. Should someone at a later date and time determine that there is a problem, it may easily be corrected at that time.--Khaentlahn 20:17, 25 February 2014 (UTC)
Thanks, Prcb 21:46, 25 February 2014 (UTC)

Review GEDCOM [31 March 2014]

Do you have a guess when my Hosler GEDCOM will be reviewed?--Diane Hosler 21:29, 31 March 2014 (UTC)