WeRelate talk:Image review


Photos from Find A Grave [29 August 2012]

How do we want to handle photos uploaded from Find A Grave? We have a policy here that says:

"Photographs on Find A Grave are not in the public domain. Do not download a photograph from there and post it here. The best thing to do is link to the person's memorial page using the examples shown below.

Photographs from Find A Grave will be deleted unless there is clear indication on the image page that the uploader either took the photograph or has permission from the copyright owner to use it on WeRelate (including agreeing to WeRelate's licensing)."

When a committee member notices photos from Find A Grave, what process should they follow to alert the user and/or delete the photo? --Jennifer (JBS66) 11:37, 27 August 2012 (EDT)

How about adding a speedy delete template with a reason along the lines of "Images from FindAGrave are not allowed without explicit permission from the copyright holder", so that it gets deleted in a few days unless the uploader shows that they have been given permission?--Dallan 10:52, 29 August 2012 (EDT)

Please Count Me In [20 October 2014]

I am willing to serve on this committee. --Pkeegstra 19:52, 8 September 2012 (EDT)


I have responded in private email. --sq 20:13, 15 October 2012 (EDT)


I WOULD LIKE TO HELP--Shly45 13:35, 20 October 2014 (UTC)


Image Review process [11 November 2012]

I'm wondering about the helpfulness of our Image Review process. Currently, if a user selects the "Not sure - help me choose" license option, Template:Image license is left on the Image talk page.

  1. The contents of the Template:Image license have been deleted (not sure why).
  2. Could we just make sure the text from the template is on the Help:Image licensing page? Then, we could remove the "Not sure - help me choose" option from the drop-down box. This would eliminate the need for an admin to put this template on pages and ensure the user chooses a license option for their image.
  3. I'm not sure if this happens already, but the image should not be able to be uploaded unless a license is chosen. --Jennifer (JBS66) 10:36, 1 November 2012 (EDT)
Good idea. I've done this.--Dallan 07:19, 11 November 2012 (EST)