WeRelate talk:Image review

Topics


Photos from Find A Grave [29 August 2012]

How do we want to handle photos uploaded from Find A Grave? We have a policy here that says:

"Photographs on Find A Grave are not in the public domain. Do not download a photograph from there and post it here. The best thing to do is link to the person's memorial page using the examples shown below.

Photographs from Find A Grave will be deleted unless there is clear indication on the image page that the uploader either took the photograph or has permission from the copyright owner to use it on WeRelate (including agreeing to WeRelate's licensing)."

When a committee member notices photos from Find A Grave, what process should they follow to alert the user and/or delete the photo? --Jennifer (JBS66) 11:37, 27 August 2012 (EDT)

How about adding a speedy delete template with a reason along the lines of "Images from FindAGrave are not allowed without explicit permission from the copyright holder", so that it gets deleted in a few days unless the uploader shows that they have been given permission?--Dallan 10:52, 29 August 2012 (EDT)

Please Count Me In [20 October 2014]

I am willing to serve on this committee. --Pkeegstra 19:52, 8 September 2012 (EDT)


I have responded in private email. --sq 20:13, 15 October 2012 (EDT)


I WOULD LIKE TO HELP--Shly45 13:35, 20 October 2014 (UTC)


Image Review process [11 November 2012]

I'm wondering about the helpfulness of our Image Review process. Currently, if a user selects the "Not sure - help me choose" license option, Template:Image license is left on the Image talk page.

  1. The contents of the Template:Image license have been deleted (not sure why).
  2. Could we just make sure the text from the template is on the Help:Image licensing page? Then, we could remove the "Not sure - help me choose" option from the drop-down box. This would eliminate the need for an admin to put this template on pages and ensure the user chooses a license option for their image.
  3. I'm not sure if this happens already, but the image should not be able to be uploaded unless a license is chosen. --Jennifer (JBS66) 10:36, 1 November 2012 (EDT)
Good idea. I've done this.--Dallan 07:19, 11 November 2012 (EST)

Committee Roll Call & Update [19 October 2016]

Hello - I am in the process of updating the information on the status of our admin structure and maintenance committees. The members of this committee are currently listed as:

  • Pkeegstra, Liason to the Overview Committee
  • Solveig

Please respond here to let us know that you are still active on this committee and whether or not you wish to continue in this capacity. Also, if there are additional users on the committee not listed, please let us know.

To help us quantify the work that is being done, please include a brief list of the tasks that you perform most frequently and an estimate of the average amount of time per month that you currently spend on these tasks.
Thank you in advance for your help, --cos1776 13:55, 17 October 2016 (UTC)

I'm willing to remain as the liason and cover the workflow if the others let me know they'll be away for awhile. --pkeegstra 10:01, 19 October 2016 (UTC)