West Lulworth is a village in the Purbeck district of Dorset, England, situated on the English Channel coast beside Lulworth Cove. The village has a population of 766 (2001), 9.3% of dwellings are second homes. The village is a gateway to the Jurassic Coast world heritage site and is a popular tourist destination, especially for day trips.
The village has a first school, several small hotels, pubs and a general store. The Castle Inn is one of the oldest pubs in Dorset dating from the 16th Century and has original woodwork and a delicate thatched roof. There is a Church of England church, Holy Trinity. Originally the church was in the village centre, but was demolished in 1869 although the old churchyard still remains. The present church, built of local stone taken from the Cove replaced it. It was largely financed by the then incumbent Rev. William Gildea, brother of philanthropist Sir James Gildea.
West Lulworth is dominated by two hills. To the east is Bindon Hill, a 170m high ridge, which has extensive remains of Iron Age earthworks. To the west is Hambury Tout, which has a barrow on its rounded top.
West Lulworth is about half a mile north of Lulworth Cove a picturesque, sheltered bay enclosed almost in a circle. Commercial fishing is based at the Cove, together with scallop diving and leisure trips. From the late seventeenth to the mid nineteenth century smugglers used the Cove and other bays and beaches nearby. The building of coastguard cottages, which housed the customs officers still stand above the Cove. Lulworth at one point had a mill, powered by water from a nearby spring. It was burnt down during the 19th century and all that remains of its existence is the Millpond.
There is also a village named East Lulworth, a short distance along the coast.