BY WAY OF PREFACE
The Illustrated Adage goes forth today without the flourish of trumpets or high sounding eulogy on the part of the publisher. It is not issued as a boom edition nor as a money maker; it is neither. The object is to advance the interests of our city in an honorable way and show its steady and substantial growth. There is not a line of paid advertising in the entire edition. It has been the aim of the publisher to include all classes of business, societies, etc., and if a person has been overlooked, who should not have been, it is to be regretted. In an undertaking of this kind errors will creep in and the absolute correctness of every detail cannot be vouched for. The arrangement of the pictures also may be observed to be a little defective, but as that was the fault of parties who were late in providing the electrotypes we are not assuming that responsibility. The work has been laborious and expensive, but with the hearty encouragement given by the citizens we consider it worth all it has cost us.
What Thrift and Enterprise has Done for A Leading Pike County Town. Review of Its Educational, Religious, Social and Commercial Advantage
Should Rev. Daniel Edwards and Mr. Hadley come to Barry today they would realize a change had come over the country since they last saw it. These men were the first white settlers in the borders of Barry township. When they located here in 1824 a beautiful scene was presented to their view. Nature was in all its glory. Not a furrow of virgin soil had been turned nor a shanty erected except the rude wigwams of the redmen who roamed at will over fertile prairies and through the pleasant groves. They could not have selected a more desirable place of abode. Rich in the fertility of soil, in forests and in running streams, it was all the pioneers’ hearts could fancy. It possessed many of the charms that were likely to attract attention and receive the favor of those seeking new homes in a new country – fine timber, high rolling land, running water and the absence of all those things which were popularly supposed to produce prevalent sickness in a new settlement. It was literally a land of “milk and wild honey.” But the glory was not to be for them alone. Others learned of the advantages offered by the new country and sought its peaceful borders. Josiah and Wm. Lippincott, Mr. Peabody, Stephen R. Gray, Mr. Rush, Burton T. Gray, Levi McDaniel, Benj. Barney, Dr. A.C. Baker, Rev. Wm. Blair, Elijah McAtee, Alfred Grubb, Jos. McIntire, Thos. McIntire, Hesekia McAtee, John Millhizer, and others drifted to the new land of promise and found homes. Immigration continued until settlements sprung up, and the populous and wealthy township as it is today, with its magnificent farms, splendid orchards and prosperous citizens followed as night follows day.
The beautiful City of Barry is situated on the eastern border of Barry township on an eminence commanding a fine view of the surrounding country. For miles either way is presented as lovely a picture as the eye ever beholds. Barry came into existence in the boom days in Illinois. It was laid out by Calvin R. Stone, of the firm of Stone, Field & Marks of St. Louis. The work was executed on the 4th day of July in the year 1836. It was a sort of Fourth of July celebration on a small scale and with few fire crackers and fire works. The place was christened Worcester, but it was learned there was another place of the same name in the state and Mrs. B.D. Brown was given the honor of selecting a new name for the village. She chose the name of her Vermont home, Barre. An error was made in recording it and the name was spelled Barry, by which title the place has ever since been known.
Barry had its seasons of prosperity and adversity, but she lived and prospered. Today it is a splendid little city of 1500 inhabitants, large business interests, beautiful residences and an excellent grade of society. It is a live progressive town. While it cannot be said Barry is a wealthy place, it is equally true that many of its citizens use their means to the best possible advantage in the way of public enterprise.
The past few years have brought numerous public improvements, such as paved streets, improvements to the water system, new buildings, street lighting and sidewalk privileges.
Bartlett and Bendsong, who were employed in platting Barry, were the first merchants of the place. They kept a small store in a log cabin. Henry Whitmore and Theo. Digby were also of the early storekeepers, and later on Thos. T. Gray, E. Hurt and M. Blair were engaged in business here. Then followed Lewis Angle, C. & S. Davis, W.F. White and other merchants known to the present generation. There is quite a contrast between the business houses of the present and most of them are built of brick. There are seven blocks of business houses, on three principal streets. Unlike many towns business in Barry is not confined to the blocks facing the public park. Only the west and north sides are those favored. The other two sides have residences facing the park. Barry to-day is a commercial centre of the county. Every line of trade is well represented and the competition is especially active. There are more large and complete stocks in Barry than any town of its size in Western Illinois, and the trade is proportionate.
In social, educational and religious matters Barry compares favorably with its larger sister cities. There is a good healthy moral sentiment, the schools are large and well conducted and the churches have an excellent membership, three of the religious denominations having just passed through successful ingatherings of souls. The temperance sentiment of our city is also strong. Of the past decade, most of the time we have had no saloons. Occasionally when the anti-license element becomes inactive saloons are secured.
For many years of its existence Barry was known as a “dry place,” from the fact that water was a scarce article here. We had wells and cisterns to be sure, but they fell very far short of furnishing a sufficient supply of water for the town. It was hen that the water hauler had his palmy days. Something like a half dozen of them had their “water boxes” and made regular and frequent trips between town and the Hart spring. During particularly dry seasons water hauling was a big business. But all that had its day. With characteristic enterprise our citizens sank artesian well in 1879. The contract went to Marrs & Miller of Chicago, who had a force of hands at the work several months. The well was sunk to the depth of 2510 feet and cost complete about $10,000. It has ever since furnished an abundant supply of water for both man and beast. The water comes to within 300 feet of the surface of the ground and is pumped by steam engine into a reservoir. We now have no trouble about a supply of water. In addition to the deep well a score of others have been sunk about town and all are furnishing plenty of water.
The exciting days of the war were felt here. The country was over-run with bush-whackers, as they were called from Missouri, and depredations were rife. But our citizens were equal to the emergency, and with a united effort and organization protection was secured. The means adopted were not always of the most approved style, but they were effective. Patriotism ran high and Barry contributed its full quota of “soldier boys.” How many of her brave sons answered to the country’s call, we cannot state, but there were many of them – and they participated in many of the hardest battles. Some of them survived the fierce conflict and were enabled to return to their families; others were doomed to a soldier’s fate. They fought a good fight and nothing our nation can give them is too good for these veterans.
Picture of Barry in 1855 page 3
The village of Barry was incorporated in 1856. The first Board consisted of M. Widby, president, and B.T. Gray, Jas. Yancy, Joseph Rippey, A. Grubb, Lewis Angle and Schuyler Gray.
In 1872 Barry was organized as a city with E.R. Burnham, mayor, J.R. Rowand, J. Weber, N.R. Davis, Mat Peterson, S. Mors and Jas. Watson, aldermen; C.C. Roasa, clerk; W.I. Klein, attorney; J.C. Brown, treasurer; J. Whittleton, marshal, and J.E. Haines, street commissioner.
The present administration is composed of T.A. Retallic, mayor; John Weber, B.H. Rowand, C.E. Bower, J.H. Kirby, E. L. Penner and H. L. Langerhans, aldermen; J. B. Hazen, clerk; L. F. Bright, treasurer; W. I. Klein, attorney; R. St. John marshal and street commissioner, Wm. Lewis, city engineer.
Mayor Retallic and his residence
Thos. A. Retallic, mayor, was born in Perry county, Ohio, in 1854. His father gave his life for the preservation of the Union. Our subject is a self-made man. He has served with credit in the city council several terms and his administration as mayor has been an able one. He came to Barry in ’77. As proprietor of the marble works he has done a lucrative and prosperous business.
John Weber and His Residence
John Weber, alderman, is a native of St. Louis, Mo. He was born of German parentage in 1843. In 1866 he was married to Rose High and to them four children were born. Mr. Weber has followed successfully farming, school teaching, and mercantile interests. He is present in the lumber trade, being a partner in the firm of Weber & Day. He is also an auctioneer of note. Mr. Weber has always taken an active interest in all affairs of a public nature and has served on the council several times. He is aggressive and enthusiastic, and withal a valuable citizen.
B. H. Rowand and his residence in Barry
B. H. Rowand, alderman, is an old citizen of Barry. For thirty years he has been a salesman in our dry goods and clothing stores. At present he is in the drug trade. Mr. Rowand was born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1844 and came here with his parents when a boy. He was married in 1867 to Lottie Gray, who died in 1891, and in September, 1892, he took his second wife in the person of Ella H. McClain. He has one child by the first marriage, who is the wife of Lieut. J. T. Nance now stationed at Yellowstone national park. Mr. Rowand is an active member of the council and a most useful citizen.
Charles Edward Bower, alderman, is a retired farmer and in good circumstances. He comes from London, Ohio, where he first saw the light in 1833. He went to California during the gold excitement in 1852, and was there on a visit in 1879. In 1857 he was married to Miss B. A. Wright. They have six children. Mr. Bower moved to Barry in ’86 from his farm and takes life easy.
J. H. Kirby, alderman, has served in the council two terms and has made a conservative painstaking official. He is a native of Sheffield, Mass., where he was born in 1866. He was married in this city in 1890 to Lillie L. Lyons. Mr. Kirby is assistant manager of the Barry Milling Co. and is their bookkeeper.
E. L. Penner, alderman, has made one of the most active members of the council. Policy with him is a secondary consideration. He has the courage of his convictions and stands by them. He is just closing his first term of alderman.
H. L Langerhans and his residence
H. L. Langerhans, alderman, was elected last year and he is proving the right man in the right place. He took hold of the work with a will and attends to his duties conscientiously. He is head miller for the Barry Milling Co. Mr. Langerhans is from Jefferson City, Mo., where he was born in 1866. He came to Barry in ’88. In 1894 he was married to Mattie lane. They have an elegant home which Mr. Longerhans built in 1894.
Supervisor, Wm. Bright; assessor, N. P. Hart; clerk, Frank Shelly; justice of the peace, G. W. Chrysup, J. K. Crawford; police magistrate, A. H. Bain; constables, W. J. Pence, W. H. Grubb; highway commissioners, A. W. Triplett, John Lippincott and Peter Staff; school trustee, William Myers, Geo. W. Perry, A. B. Call; school treasurer, Eugene Smith; pound-masters, J. Vanneman, R. D. Bower, John Gunlock.
Photo Caption: Barry Business District, 1896
BARRY’S GREAT FIRE
Total Destruction of Thousands of Dollars Worth of Buildings, Merchandise, Etc.
It is said that every town at some period of its existence has its misfortunes. The one great calamity that has befallen Barry came on the 30th of March, 1894, when part of four business blocks were entirely destroyed by fire entailing a loss of many thousands.
The particulars of this great conflagration are here given as published by the ADAGE the next issue after the fire took place:
On Friday morning last, March 30, Barry was visited by a most disastrous fire. It was discovered by Dr. Varney, whose dental office and home were over his store opposite the Hollembeak Opera House. The doctor was watching with a sick child, when about 4:20 o’clock he discovered flames bursting from the windows of the opera house. The alarm was quickly given, but the wind blowing strong soon spread the fire to the adjoining buildings of Mayes & Son’s grocery store on the west, over which were the dressmaking rooms of Mrs. Lounsbury and the home of Mr. E. Spann, and J. B. Watson’s hardware store on the east. From Mays & Son’s the flames eat their way through the residence and offices of the Dr. G. W. Doyle to the ADAGE office and residence of W. W. Watson. From J. B. Watson the conflagration extended south to Chauncy Goodale’s gent’s clothing store, M. Robb’s bakery, Stearns & Bower’s meat market, A. Wendorff’s shoemaker ship, Jas. Hudson’s harness shop, S. Finders saloon, to the Hotel Blair, where the flames were checked.
The intense heat soon ignited the frame building of Wm. Powell’s tobacco manufactory and barber shop of Chas. Brown just opposite.
Photo Caption: Ruins of the Great Fire of March 30, 1894. (Showing the south half of Block 20 and the North half of Block 23. The walls standing are those of Dr. Doyle’s residence and the ADAGE office. The chimney of W. W. Watson’s residence is also standing. The buildings destroyed in the territory covered by the picture were: Hollembeak opera house, Mayes & Son’s, Dr. Doyle’s residence, ADAGE office, W. W. Watson residence, Cy Johnson’s dwelling, J. Weber’s building, F. M. McNeal’s Dr. Varney’s O. H. Perry estate’s, and the old White store, Wike Bros. ware house and several barns.
Rebuilt Residence of Mrs. G. W. Doyle
From Mallery’s the unquenchable flames leaped across the street to the handsome brick block of J. B. Chamberlin, spreading over J. J. Robb’s billiard hall, consuming the millinery store and residence of Mrs. Ray Lewis, bakery, residence and barn of Wm. Bright, where the fire was again checked.
During this devastation the intensity of the original blaze from the Opera House had proven sufficient to extend to the buildings on the opposite side, beginning at the residence of Dr. Varney and so spreading ruin in the following buildings on the west: Barber shop of Grimp Hill, McNeal’s grocery store, J. J. Hughes furniture store and broom factory, Barney Weisenburger’s shoemaker shop and Mrs. Chas. Churchill’s residence; east from this point embracing Thornton & Pitts harness shop, Sil Kirtright’s meat shop, Siegle’s saloon and the Masonic building, including d. K. Weiss’ drug store on the ground floor, and banquet hall and lodge room on second and third floors.
This building being of brick and metal roof, hopes were entertained that the fire element might be stayed; but alas! The wind again carried the flames on over to reach the buildings of John Siegle, occupied by Herl & Rendlen, Dudley building, Fuller & Cleveland’s meat market, Kriegbaum’s brick building occupied by Herl & Rendlen’s saloon No. 2, and on across to the city hall, fire department, calaboose and residence of Nate Urton, where the fiery force was finally expended.
Several residences and barns in the north part of town were set on fire by flying embers, but were extinguished by the constant vigilance of the owner.
The origin of the fire was in one of our latest and most modern buildings, modern in its architecture and appointments, being finished in oiled Carolina pine and natural wood, it burned rapidly. The roof and sides were covered with corrugated iron and lined with brick, consequently it was a veritable furnace before the flames escaped from the buildings.
Barry with her fire apparatus, two hose reels, hook and ladder truck, hand engines and water works, was powerless to cope with a fire of such magnitude, nevertheless we are proud of the heroic efforts of her gallant firemen and brave citizens. Chief McConnell with his usual self-possession was everywhere directing and encouraging, and regardless of all personal danger discharged his duty, though at time his clothes were on fire.
The women on this occasion forgot the traditional “scream” and worked with the greatest fortitude and heroism; they neglected no opportunity in which they could render assistance, and did so in a most timely and effective manner. To their untiring efforts and wise judgment many of us are indebted for what was rescued from the flames. We are proud of our noble women.
During the panic Mayor Furniss telegraphed to mayor Chamberlin of Hannibal for help, who promptly responded by sending two companies with steamer and hose reel, the special train covering the distance in twenty-seven minutes. Ere they could reach us the destruction was complete. The company “decided that in proportion to the size of the town and time in which toe work was done, Barry’s fire was one of the most extensive and destructive on record.”
The mystery that surrounded the fire that March morning has never been cleared away. It is as deep to-day as it was then. How it originated will probably never be known. There were many conjectures about it, but they were only conjectures. All that is known is that a dance was given at the opera house the night of the fire, and at 4:30 the following morning the flames broke forth with such fearful destruction, consuming part of four blocks. In all about thirty-five buildings, some of them the best in the city, went down. The total loss was estimated at from $130,000 to $150,000.
Photo caption: RUINS OF THE GREAT FIRE OF MARCH 30, 1894. The territory covered by the picture is the northeast part of Block 22, the southwest of Block 21, northeast Block 23 and southwest Block 20. Buildings destroyed were Mrs. S. Davis’ Mallery row, J. B. Chamberlin’s row, Carswell, Bright and Churchill dwellings, city building, Herl Rendlen’s, S. Dudley’s, John siegle’s, Masonic, Hollembeak’s E. F. Churchill’s, Mrs. S. Smith Leach’s and the C. R. Churchill buildings.
J. B. Chamberlin lost his fine brick store building, his frame building and the north brick building and a lot of wheat. Loss about $10,000; insurance $7,800. J. B. & A. J. Chamberlin, clothing, etc., $20,000; insurance $15,000. J. J. Robb, billiard tables, $600; insurance $300.
Ray Lewis, millinery, $300, no insurance, and Katie Carswell, dress making, no insurance. They owned the two buildings occupied, valued at $1,500; insurance $1,100.
A refrigerator owned by Anheuser-Busch Brewing Co., $300; fully insured.
Wm. Bright, dwelling, contents and barn, $1,600;; insurance $1,100.
Louis Wendorff, barn and damage to residence, $135; fully insured.
E. F. Churchill, dwelling and store building, $1,600; insurance $500.
City building, calaboose and implement house, $750; insurance $400.
C. C. Kreigbaum, saloon, $1,400; insurance $1,200.
Herl & Rendlen, contents two saloons, $1,800; insurance $1,000.
Maggie H. Dudley, building, $400; insurance $300.
G. J. Cleveland, billiard outfit, $300; no insurance.
M. H. Fuller, meat market, no insurance.
John Siegle, two business buildings and billiard outfit, $4,500; insurance $3,500.
Masonic lodge, 3-story brick building $7,000, insurance $4,000; furniture and regalia $400, insurance $200; banquet room fixtures $400, insurance $250.
Royal Arch Chapter, robes, etc., $400; insurance $250, Star Chapter $100; no insurance.
Gus Siegle, saloon, $1,000; insurance $600.
Perry estate, two frame buildings, $800; insurance $600.
S. Kirkright, meat market, $350; insurance $300.
Thornton & Pitts, harness, $1,600; insurance $1,000.
Mary A. Johnson, building, $500; insurance $400.
W. W. Watson, ADAGE printing office, $2,800, insurance $2000; residence $1,300, insurance $900; furniture, small loss covered by insurance.
Agnes Watson, brick building and barn, $1,200; insurance $900.
Dr. Doyle, residence and barn, $1,400; insurance $1,000.
G. D. Mayes & Son. Building $1,800, insurance $1,100; groceries $1,500, insurance $900.
Ed Spann, furniture, $50; no insurance.
Mrs. Lounsbury, small loss on dress making business.
D. K. Weiss, drugs, etc., $3,500; insurance $3,000.
Dr. Varney, store building and residence, $2,000; insurance $1,200.
F. M. McNeal, building, $1,000; insurance $900; grocery stock $2,000, insurance $1,000.
J. Weber, building, $600; insurance $400.
J. J. Hughes, furniture, $800; fully insured.
C. H. Ware, stationery and express office, $2, 000; insurance $1, 200.
Hurt & Ware, opera house piano, $150; no insurance.
Hollembeak & Son, opera house building and contents, $3,500, insurance $2,300; store building $3,000, insurance $2,000.
Mrs. Isri Smith, building, $3,000; insurance $2,500.
Clara Carter estate, building $200; no insurance.
Simon Finder, saloon, insurance $1,500.
J. J. Gray, jewelry, $800; insurance $500.
E. L. Penner, jewelry, $1,500; no insurance.
J. B. Watson, hardware, $5,000; insurance $4,000.
C. W. Goodale, furnishing goods, $3,500; insurance $3,000.
F. Finchum, small loss on personal effects.
Mort Robb, bakery.
Wike Bros.’ wareroom and contents, $1,600; no insurance.
G. M. Blair hotel building, $150; covered by insurance.
Mrs. S. B. Gaines, damage on hotel furniture; no insurance.
J. H. Mallery, three store building, $4000, insurance $3000; dry goods, $14,000; insurance $6,000.
W. B. Powell, cigar factory, $1,000; insurance $700.
Mrs. S. Davis, building, $1,000; insurance $500.
G. H. Long, building, $150, covered by insurance.
C. B. Brown, barber, small loss on furniture.
Wm. St. John, peanut stand, $200; no insurance.
Grimp Hill, barber, small loss.
Photo caption: RUINS OF THE GREAT FIRE OF MARCH 30, 1894. The territory covered by the picture is the northeast part of Block 22, the southwest of Block 21, northeast Block 23 and southwest Block 20. Buildings destroyed were Mrs. S. Davis’ Mallery row, J. B. Chamberlin’s row, Carswell, Bright and Churchill dwellings, city building, Herl Rendlen’s, S. Dudley’s, John siegle’s, Masonic, Hollembeak’s E. F. Churchill’s, Mrs. S. Smith Leach’s and the C. R. Churchill buildings.
A picture of the scenes presented when the streets were filled with homeless families and what household effects were saved from destruction would be invaluable for this paper, but as there were none to be had, that part of it is left to the reader’s imagination.
No sooner had the flames died away, than our citizens began to prepare to rebuild the devastated district. The building boom was soon on. Those who did not desire to rebuild sold their lots to others, who did so desire. The next week after the fire the insurance adjusters arrive. They put in a full week and had hard work to get through in that time. Their adjustments were fair and speedy. Most of the losses fell to companies represented by W. W. Watson, and the paid out $78,000 through him. About $8,000 loses fell to other agencies.
As soon as the adjustments were completed the work of rebuilding began in earnest. Mayes & Son were the first to erect a new building, then followed in rapid succession the ADAGE office, the opera house, Varney’s, Hollembeak’s, Goodale’s, Masonic, Siegle’s, Dudley’s, Herl & Rendlen’s, Mallery’s, Churchill’s, Chamberlin’s and others. It was the busiest summer ever seen in Barry. In less than a year the town was rebuilt with brick buildings of a good class and a neat appearance, until to-day there are but three or four unoccupied spots in the territory occupied by the old structures. It has been a complete transformation for Barry, and while the loss to the individuals was heavy, to the city it was a benefit.
A singular fact in connection with the fire was that no person was seriously hurt. It is nearly always the case, even in small fires that some one gets burned or hurt in other ways, and such a thing was much more to be expected from a conflagration like that of two years ago. But fortunately it was willed otherwise.
One of the principal lessons learned from the fire was the necessity of a better water supply. To the shortage of water was in a large measure the destruction of such a vast amount of property due. The city water works were in operation, but the reservoir was faulty and contained only a limited amount of water. It was a wooden tank and never was what was needed. The water was pumped from the deep well into this receptacle, to leak out in a small, but steady stream. When the fire came the tank was only partially full. The subject of a new and better water tank was agitated, and the same year a contract was let by the city council for an iron tank of much larger dimensions than the old wooden one. This was placed on the brick tower, which was raised to fifty feet in height, giving a good strong water pressure. The total cost of the improvement was about $3,000, but it was money well invested.
Wilfred I. Klein, the present city attorney of Barry, is one of the city’s own sons, who has distinguished himself as a lawyer and a legislator. He began his career with a common school education, such as was afforded in his day, then entered Lombard University, and in 1878 was graduated from the noted university at Ann Arbor, Mich. He returned to his native town and began practicing law with good success. Politics always had a charm for him. In 1879 he was elected city attorney, which office he has held with the exception of a few terms, ever since. In 1892 he was the republican candidate for state’s attorney of Pike county, but with the rest of the ticket that year was defeated. He entered the race for member of the legislature from the 38th district in 1894; received the endorsement of his county, was nominated and elected by a large majority and made a useful and valuable legislator. This year he is a candidate for state senator. Mr. Klein was state-consul to the Modern Woodmen in 1894, and has held various other offices. He was married at Springfield in 1878 to Miss Jennie Klein, and they have one daughter, Madge, an estimable young lady.
Everybody knows and respects “Uncle Billy” Bright, the veteran supervisor. He is a landmark. Born in Prussia in 1824, he emigrated to America in 1849, landing at Baltimore. His entrance into Pike county was in 1855, when he settled near Barry. His marriage took place in St. Louis in 1853, and the result of the union is a family of eight children, six of whom are living. Mr. Bright has for years been one of the wheel horses of the democratic party in Barry. He has held a numerous offices of public trust. He is a public spirited citizen, and is always interested in his town and its citizens. “May his shadows never grow less.”
Residence of William Bright, Barry, Illinois
RICHARD ST. JOHN
City Marshal St. John is one of the oldest residents of our city. His native state is New York, where in Albany county, he was born December 27, 1822. He came west in 1834, and with his parents settled in this state, coming to Pike county in 1836. He has been quite a traveler in his day, and was one one (sic.) of those who made the trip overland to California during the excitement of 1850. At one time he did a large business in blacksmithing here, but has not for several years worked at that trade. He has held the office of city marshal several terms and is now attending to the duties of street commissioner in addition to those of marshal. He is an efficient officer. Mr. St. John has reared a large family in our midst.
JOHN B. HAZEN
The city clerk of Barry is John B. Hazen, a bright and intelligent young man. He was elected in 1895. Besides his splendid business qualifications, he is an expert base ball player, and as catcher for the Barry club he has made a most favorable record. There is every indication of a bright future before him.
L. F. BRIGHT
For city treasurer Barry has L. F. Bright, a popular business man. He is a jolly bachelor, 35 years of age, prosperous and affable. He would make a good husband for some nice young lady. And this is leap year.
GEO. B. HALL
The faithful night watch, who for nearly sixteen years, as made the rounds of business houses, is Geo. B. Hall. He has also served the city as marshal and deputy marshal; was constable of Barry township four years, and is now a special deputy under Sheriff Knox. In addition to his official duties he raises fine poultry. Mr. Hall was born near Toronto, Canada, in 1851. He was married in 1884 to Sarah A. Knight, and they have a pleasant family of three children.
BARRY’S OLDEST CITIZENS
The oldest person living within corporate limits of Barry is Mrs. Jane Booth. Her maiden name Howard. She was born in Orangeville, Penn., April 27, 1800. In the year 1828 she was married to Andrew Booth. The couple came to Barry in 1845. Of union there were eight children, six of whom are living. Mrs. Booth is also godmother to many who hold her in the highest esteem. She joined the M. E. church when a girl. Up to five years ago, when she had an attack of la grippe, she had enjoyed good health, but has since been feeble. A peculiar characteristic of her life was that for seventy-five years she never drank water. When she was 16 years of age, and while doing washing she became thirsty and went to the spring to get a drink. The draught of water made her very sick, and from that time until her recent sickness she always drank cold tee, coffee or milk to quench her thirst. In all the long years of her life, Mrs. Booth has confined her efforts to her home and family. She has done well her part.
COMMERCIAL. Who the Merchants of Barry Are and What They Are Doing
CLOTHING AND GENTS FURNISHING GOODS
J. B. & A. J. CHAMBERLIN
J B Chamberlin Building destroyed by the fire in 1894"
" JB Chamberlin Building erected 1896, in place of the burned building
The clothing house of J. B. & A. J. Chamberlin has not only a local but a county reputation. It is one of the largest concerns of the kind in this section. Their stock amounts to from $15, 000 to $18,000, and consists of clothing, gents furnishing goods, hats, caps, boots, shoes, trunks, etc. They have a trade commensurate with the investments. The present firm is the outgrowth of a small clothing store established by John B. Chamberlin in Barry in 1858. The members of the firm are John B. Chamberlin and his son, A. J. Chamberlin.
John B. Chamberlin
John B. Chamberlin was three years old when his parents brought him to Pike county. He was born in Butler county, Ohio, May 11, 1832. The family settled in Derry township, in 1835 where the son was reared amid the pioneer scenes of his day. He remained with his parents until he was fifteen years of age, attending school at the Taylor school house as often as opportunity offered. In 1847, with his parent’s consent, he engaged to clerk for Mr. Bradley, a merchant at Rockport. Then commenced his experience in merchandising. He continued with that firm and Smith, Bradley & Marsh until 1850, when he hired to David Shields of Barry as clerk, remaining with the firm of Shields & Lillis until they closed out. In 2858, Mr. Chamberlin started a small clothing store on his own account, and from that day to this he has remained in the clothing trade. What these 38 years have had in store for him only the active business man knows. He survived and prospered and the business extended. The large and important clothing house of J. B. & A. J. Chamberlin is the result of that small beginning. Sagacity and discretion, coupled with sound judgment accomplished it. That same keen perception is with him to-day.
In 1881, Mr. Chamberlin erected a handsome brick building for his business. The location selected was at the corner of Mortimer and Decatur streets. The building had a frontage of 30 feet and a depth of 120 feet. It was built at a cost of $7,500. The structure went down with others in the great fire of 1894. Mr. Chamberlin at once began to plan for a new business house and the same fall erected on the site of the former store, a building even handsomer than the other. Experience had taught him what was needed and the new building was materially changed from the plan of the old one. In size it has a frontage of 48 feet and a depth of 80 feet for the main part of the building. The interior arrangement is complete with all the latest fixtures, etc., and it is modern in every particular, being heated with a hot water heater and lighted by electricity. The total cost of the building is being $7,000 and $8,000.
Mr. Chamberlin was married to Martha E. Rush in 1854. To them were born three children – Freddie B., Albert J. and Eugenia. Freddie died when 5 years old. Mrs. Chamberlin died in 1891, since which time the daughter, Eugenia, presides at the home.
Albert J. Chamberlin, junior member of the business firm, was born in Barry in 1859, and was married in 1881 to Miss Anna Scott. They have one daughter, Zoe. Mr. Chamberlin has from his early youth been connected with his father’s store. His business training was of the best. He was an apt scholar and to-day is one of the careful, upright and substantial merchants of our city.
JOSEPH SESSEL & CO.
It was in 1889 that the firm of Joseph Sessel & Co., came to Barry, as successors to W. H. Odiorne & Co. They leased the Angle building and have been located there since that date. The firm, while strangers in Barry, were by no means new in the business. They had been in the same line for a long time. With the motto: “One price for all” emblazoned in their advertisements, the United States Clothing House, as the store was termed, started on the road to prosperity. They started in at an opportune period when the clothing trade was limited to two houses, and rapidly took rank as a leader. As soon as the demands of the trade were learned the stock was multiplied and replenished, until now they carry about $10,000 worth of goods. Everything in clothing, boot, shoe, hat, cap, gents furnishings, etc., are carried. It is a reliable and strong firm and worthy of the large patronage they receive.
Joseph Sessel is a native of Austria and is 55 years of age. He landed in America in 1856 and located in St. Louis. He went south and opened a dry goods and clothing house at Columbia, La. When the war came on, rather than to join the Confederate army as urged to do, he sold enough goods to settle his debts and pay for passage to St. Louis and left on the first boat for that city. From that day to this he has never learned what became of the stock he left locked in the store. Mr. Sessel was in business two years at Memphis, and then located for good at St. Louis, where he was successfully engaged in the wholesale clothing trade, and also in the manufacturing of clothing. He was married in St. Louis, and is the father of eleven children. He removed to Barry with his family last fall.
Aaron Sessel, who has had charge of the Barry store, is a young man, unmarried, and a clever fellow. His successful management of the firm’s affairs demonstrates his splendid business ability.
BOWLES & TRAYNOR.
The advent of the firm of Bowles & Traynor into the clothing and gents furnishing goods trade of Barry had the effect of revolutionizing the business. Young, active and progressive, they introduced a new and popular style of trade, ad one that caught the people. They are great advertisers, and adopt every suitable measure to keep the house before the people. Fortunately for them they secured the new and elegant store room in the Masonic temple, where their new stock of clothing, shoes, gents-furnishings, hats, etc., showed to an especially great advantage. They are courteous and fair dealing and cater to a large trade.
The firm of Bowles & Traynor is composed of John J. Bowles and Jas. P. Traynor. Besides the store here they have one at Hannibal. The Hannibal house was opened in 1891 and the Barry house in February, 1895. They have forged rapidly to the front at both places.
John J. Bowles was born in Hannibal in 1865, and was married in 1889 to Mollie P. Traynor. He began his business career at the age of 14 years, as (end of sentence missing). He then formed a partnership with Mr. Bowles and engaged in the clothing business. Mr. Traynor is a genial, whole-souled fellow and a popular citizen.
JOHN H. MALLERY & CO.
The name of John H. Mallery has so long been associated with the commercial interests of Barry that it is familiar to all. His record as a merchant is an open book. The motto of his business as well as social life has been honesty and square dealing, and if he has ever varied from it the fact is not recorded. Mr. Mallery is a son of old England, and was born in Stroad, county of Kent, Jan. 1st, 1830. When two years ole he came with his parents – Henry and Elizabeth Mallery – to New York. His father was a business man. From 1832 to 1846, John H. remained in New York. At the end of that period he struck out alone for Barry to learn to be a farmer, under Wm. Hoyt, Sr., at that time a prominent agriculturist of this township. In 1851, Mr. Mallery bought a farm and the next year was married to Ariette E. Brown, to whom one son was born, Geo. L. Mallery, who is now connected with his father in business. He continued farming until he lost his wife in 1854. In 1856 he was married to Lemantha Jones, of Berlin, N Y. In the year 1863 he formed a partnership with John L. Sweet, under the firm name of Sweet & Mallery, and bought out the entire business interest of Lewis Angle in Barry They continued as general merchants, grain dealers and pork packers, etc., until June, 1879, when Mr. Mallery bought his partner’s interest in the business, since which time he has conducted the store under the firm name of John H. Mallery & Co.
Mr. Mallery was one of the heaviest losers in the big fire. He lost a stock of goods valued at $14,000 and three store buildings. But he was not disheartened. In a few months he was again quartered in his new brick block on the old corner. A new stock of dry goods was purchased, and since then he has enjoyed his usual large patronage. His stock now is more exclusively in the dry goods and shoe line than was carried before the fire, but a line of men’s wear is also kept in stock, as well as carpets, cloaks, etc. They have a handsome, well lighted and well arranged store room, equipped with electric lights and all modern conveniences.
Geo. L. Mallery, book-keeper and assistant manager of the house, is a valuable man for the firm. His mercantile instruction has been of the best, and years of experience has taught him how to handle the trade.
L. F. BRIGHT.
No person in our business circles has come to the front more rapidly than L. F. Bright. Four years ago he started out for himself; to-day he is one of our leading merchants. Mr. Bright took lessons under that dry goods expert, Jas. H. Johnson, for whom he clerked for a number of years. Then he took a working interest in the business and the firm became Johnson & Co. In 1892, Mr. Johnson tired of the store after a successful business career and went to Colorado. Mr. Bright took the stock, and ever since he has enjoyed a season of prosperity. His store to-day contains a dry goods stock valued at $12,000 to $14,000. He deals on a broad and liberal plan, is honorable and enterprising. Socially he is a prince of good fellows. There is nothing wanting in his stock. It is large and extensive and covers everything his trade demands. He is located in the south room of the Rowand building. Mr. Bright is a son of our aged citizen, Wm. Bright. He was born in Barry in 1861, and has always resided here. He is young and a favorite with all classes.
George Davis Robert Davis
This firm entered Barry business circles Sept. 22, 1894. It is composed of Robt. P. Davis and Geo. M. Davis, sons of our old and well known citizen, Calvin Davis. Both members of the firm have had a thorough schooling in the dry goods business. In early youth they entered their father’s store as clerks and after he retired from business they went to Chicago to take position with one of the immense dry goods houses of that city. The experience there gained was the making of the boys. They returned to Barry and on the date mentioned opened a store in the new opera house building. They were careful in selecting the stock and started on a small scale. The cash system was adopted. Soon the young men became a factor in the trade, and the other merchants realized they had live and active opposition. They doubled their stock this spring and in addition to a fine line of dry goods, silks, notions, etc., they have a complete line of carpets. They have already established a splendid business and the future is bright for the firm.
Both members of the firm were born in Barry. Robert in 1863 and George in 1869. In 1887 Robert Davis was married to Ella M. Barney. He clerked for C. Davie & Co. from 1883 to 1892, then took a position with the great house of Carson, Pirie, Scott & Co., Chicago, and was with them two years. George M. Davis was married to Maude Burke, of El Dara, in 1894. He was three years with the silk house of Chas. A. Stevens & Bro., Chicago, and five years with Carson, Pirie, Scott & Co.
C. W. GOODALE.
Chauncy Goodale, as he is familiarly known, began business in 1879. Previous to that time he was employed as clerk for Angle & Co., and other firms. He started out, in a small way, and gradually added to his stock. He catered principally to the young men’s trade. What they needed he kept for sale, and in that way built up a paying business. At the time of the fire he was located in the Churchill building, next to the Hollembeak corner. He caught the building fever and bought the lot owned by the Perry estate, on which he built the fine two-story brick building he now occupies. Mr. Goodale’s stock consists of gents furnishing goods, boots, shoes, clothing, jewelry and sporting goods. He has a natural trait for that line and enjoys the confidence of his customers.
Mr. Goodale was born in Bentonsport, La., and came to Barry in 1852, while a child. He is known to all our citizens.
S. SHEWE & CO.
The firm of S. Shewe & Co. entered the dry goods trade in Barry on the first of March, 1893. They began business in the Harvey buildings on the west side of the square and remained at that location until last year when the Jacob Summers building was bought and they removed there. The firm consists of Solomon Shewe and daughter. They deal in dry goods and notions exclusively. The store is in charge of Mrs. Geo. Mallery and Miss Essie Shewe, who have displayed excellent ability not only in the selection of stock, but in the business-like manner in which the affairs of the firm are looked after. They are good buyers and good sellers. The stock is complete in detail and the store is kept as neat and tidy as a parlor. They are doing a profitable business.
Solomon Shewe is a native of Marietta, Ohio, where he was born in 1833. He was married in 1864 to Catharine Brammel, and to them were born eight children. Mr. Shewe was a farmer up to 1893. He is a man of thorough business habits and has always been a money maker. He owns several hundred acres of fine farming land in Barry and Kinderhook townships, has accumulated a competency, and is now enjoying the fruits of his labors.
The store known as Chicago Fair was established in this city in August, 1895. The proprietor is F. Kirschenblatt. He carries a full stock of notions remainder missing from paper
CRANDALL, SMITH & CO.
The above firm may be classed at the head of the grocery houses of our city. They carry a line peculiar to themselves and are noted for the excellent quality of the goods handled. The entire lower floor of the two-story brick building on the west side of the square is filled with groceries, glassware, queensware and plated ware. The interior of the building was especially designed for the business and is convenient, commodious and handsome. The volume of business transacted in it amounts to a handsome sum each year. In connection with the store there is also a poultry branch, where every variety of poultry and eggs is bought and shipped to the city markets. Nearly all the products in this line that come to town find their way to Crandall, Smith & Co.’s warehouse. The firm consists of E. A. Crandall, Eugene Smith and D. J. Smith. It is the outgrowth of the old firm of Crandall & Smith, which was established in 1870. The junior partner in that firm was J. J. Smith. The firm as now constituted was organized in 1881. E. A. Crandall and D. J. Smith have active charge of the business.
D. J. Smith is one of Barry’s own sons. He was born in 1847. His business career began when he was quite young, by his entering the store of C. & S. Davis as clerk, which position he held for a long time. He is a gentleman of good business tact and well liked in the community. Mr. Smith was married to Henrietta E. Grubb in 1872 and they have a pleasant family.
Personal sketches of E. A. Crandall and Eugene Smith appear in another column.
GEO. D. MAYES & SON.
The firm of Geo. D. Mayes & Son was established in 1883. They first engaged in the feed business and in 1887 added a stock of groceries. Geo. D. Mayes and W. H. Mayes form the company, of which the former is the manager, the latter, the buyer and C. E. Mayes clerk. They occupy the commodious building built for their use and carry a well-selected stock of groceries, glassware, etc. They do a large business.
George D. Mayes
Geo. D. Mayes, senior member of the firm, is a representative of an old pioneer family of Pike county. He was born in 1835 on a farm three miles southwest of Barry. He learned the trade of carpenter and followed that avocation to the trade of millwright. He assisted in the construction of the C & S. Davis mill and was for years the miller in charge. After the sale of the mill in 188 he went into merchandising. Mr. Mayes was married to Malinda Booth in 1856, and they have a daughter and two sons. He is a leading spirit in the M. E. church and is a most excellent citizen.
F. M. MCNEAL
The success of this young man is another evidence of what pluck and enterprises can do for a person. He started out with a small stock of groceries in 1889, in one of the Hamilton buildings. To his customers he was attentive and obliging. What produce they had to exchange for goods he took and thus his business increased. Soon he bought his store building; then it was enlarged and still later when the fire came and destroyed his property, he felt justified in securing a larger and more commodious store room. The result was he joined John Weber and built the opera house building, where the store is located. He has a handsome room well filled with groceries, glassware, etc., and is doing a nice business. Mr. McNeal was born at Cedar Falls, Ia., in 1866, and was married to Sadie Doyle in 1889. He came to Barry about 1887. He is also one of the mangers of the opera house.
F. G. VARNEY & SON.
This firm consists of Dr. F. G. Varney and his son, Fred Varney. They succeeded W. H. Ferris in the grocery trade five years ago and added to the stock a line of boots and shoes. Their shelves are well filled and they do a good business. Previous to the big fire they occupied the Hamilton building, which Dr. Varney owned and in June, 1894, the ruins of their store were replaced by a handsome two-story brick-veneered building of modern architecture. Fred Varney, manager of the business was born in Griggsville in 1872, and was married to Eva Guss, in 1895. He is an enterprising young man.
Mr. Mors conducts the only store near the flour mill and the railroad depot. He carries a complete stock of groceries, notions &c., and receives an excellent patronage. The picture of the building is published. Mr. Mors went into business at his present location in August, 1890. He is a native of Waterford, N. Y., where he was born July 30, 1833. He came to Barry in July, 1861, and worked on a farm, then took a position at Brown & McTucker’s mill, and later was a clerk for Lewis Angle a number of years. He was also employed as clerk for various other firms. When the war came on he volunteered his services and fought for the preservation of the Union. Mr. Mors has always been a very active and useful citizen.
WIKE & DAVIS.
The firm of Wike & Davis occupies a prominent position in Barry business circles. It is composed of John H. Wike and N. R. Davis. The business was established in 1881. Mr. Wike’s first partner was Joe Roth, and later his brother, Geo. H. Wike, bought an interest in the business, the firm name then changing to Wike Bros. and continuing so for several years. Last year Geo. H. Wike retired and MR. Davis became the partner. They carry a large and complete stock of hardware, stoves and agricultural implements and enjoy a patronage worthy of the enterprising firm. Last year they built a new brick warehouse to accommodate the stock of implements. They occupy the corner building of the Blair block for the hardware stock. Mr. J. H. Wike was born in Pennsylvania in 1845. He came west and located at Wike Hollow, where from 1860 to 1878 he was connected with the Barry woolen mills. In 1869 he was married to Viletta See, and three children have come to them. Mr. Wike is a thorough business man and enjoys the confidence of the community. A personal sketch of Mr. Davis is given elsewhere.
J. B. WATSON.
Mercantile ideas were instilled into J. B. Watson in his early youth, and most of his life has been passed in business of one kind or another. He branched out for himself in Barry about 1877, when he started a wall paper store, afterward succeeding his mother, Agnes Watson, in the dry goods and shoe business. In 1881 he opened a general store at New Salem and from 1880 to 1893 was postmaster of the place. Closing out his property there he returned to Barry in 1893 and purchased the hardware stock of Hollembeak & Hart, and had only fairly started in his new venture when the fire came on and destroyed his stock. As soon as the new Hollembeak building was erected he started in again with another large and complete stock of hardware, stoves, etc. He is now well established, has learned the trade and is doing a business that is highly satisfactory to him. Mr. Watson was born in Barry in 1853. He was married in 1879 to Parmelia A. Hall, and they have one son, Earle.
J. S. ROWAND & SON.
Josiah B. Rowand and J.S. Rowand & Sons
This long established firm came into existence in 1856. It was founded by Josiah S. Rowand, who enjoys the distinction of being the oldest active druggist in Illinois, having been 61 years in the business. He is a native of Haddonfield, N. J., and was born April 25, 1813. He lived in New Jersey until 14 years of age, when the family moved to Philadelphia, Pa. Soon after this Mr. Rowand went to work in a sash factory and followed that occupation until 1832. He then entered his brother’s drug store as a clerk and acquired such a thorough knowledge of the business that he opened a drug store for himself. After four years of business in Philadelphia he came to Barry, but at that time only remained five months and removed to Quincy, where he remained in business three years. He then moved back to Barry and bought the drug store of Parker & Long and has been here ever since. He is a prominent member of the Baptist church, a staunch republican and a most esteemed citizen. Mrs. Rowand passed away a few years ago.
The junior member of the firm, is John R. Rowand, who was born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1846. He was married to Miss Nan McTucker. They have one living child, Nellie. Mr. Rowand has been in the drug businesses since 1866, and he is known as one of the best pharmacists in the state. He is a prominent citizen and has occupied several positions of public trust.
John R. Rowand and his residence in Barry
D. K. WEISS.
It was in 1875 that D. K. Weiss entered the drug trade in Barry. The firm then was Ferguson & Weiss, who succeeded A. T. Kinne. After a year and a half this firm dissolved and Mr. Weiss has since continued the business. He was born in Lehigh county, Pa., of German parentage, and was married in 1856 to Esther Frey. Two daughters were born to them. Up to 1865, Mr. Weiss was a farmer in his native state, then moved to Illinois, and continued farming for six years longer, when he took up the study of pharmacy and later engaged in the drug trade at Liberty, Ill. He moved to Barry in February, 1875, and has always done a good business since then. Mr. Weiss was the republican candidate for county treasurer in the last campaign , but met defeat with the rest of the ticket. He was one of the losers in the great fire, but with commendable enterprise a few days after bought out Dr. Long’s stock and resumed business.
BOOKS AND STATIONERY.
C. H. WARE.
The name of C. H. Ware has been associated with the book, stationery and wall paper trade since 1876, when he and H. H. Corwin opened a store under the name of C. H. Ware & Co. Mr. Corwin retired from the business in 1878, since which time Mr. Ware has continued it alone, excepting two years that he was a traveling salesman . He carries a very complete stock in his line and receives a large patronage. Mr. Ware is also local manager for the Pacific express company, and has for several years attended to that business. He was for several years secretary of the Barry fair association until it disbanded, and is one of the managers of the opera house. He first saw the light in Barry in 1857.
GEO. B. ORTON
Geo. B. Orton succeeded his father, Thos. Orton, in the book and stationery and wall paper trade last July. Thos. Orton established the house in 1887. The store is now located in the Blair block. Mr. Orton keeps a nice line of goods and is working up a good business. He is a Barry boy, born in 1870, and for 12 years followed paper hanging.
HARNESS AND SADDLES.
J. W. HUDSON.
The above named gentleman landed in Barry from his home in Worcester county, Md.; in December, 1866. He was employed at various avocations until 1868, when he engaged as an apprentice to Mike lane at the harness-making trade. In 1870 he opened a shop on his own account and continued it until 1877, when owing to sickness and the loss of a foot he retired, but began again in 1879. In 1881 he took Geo. Newport in as a partner, but the same year they sold out to I. L. Hull, Mr. Hudson being retained as manager. At the end of three years he bought out Mr. Hull, and since then the firm he bought out Mr. Hull, and since then the firm has been J. W. Hudson. He is in the Blair block, and has everything in the harness and saddle line the trade demands. Mr. Hudson was born in Maryland in 1848, and in 1874 was married to Josephine McIntire, of this city. Seven children came to them, two of whom passed away in infancy. Mr. Hudson is a leading advocate of the Populist party in this township and takes great interest in public affairs.
LANE & WAGY.
This is a new firm. It is composed of Ed. B. Lane and L. S. Wagy, two active young men. Mr. Lane, who is an expert harness maker, started in business for himself in 1894. He prospered and added to his stock, until when he opened in the Mallery block, after the fire, he had a complete and well chosen line of goods. Last fall he took Mr. Wagy in as a partner and the business was still further increased. The firm commands their full share of trade. Mr. Lane is a son of M. Lane and has lived here most of his days. Mr. Wagy was a well known farmer in Richfield. He moved here a few months ago.
KOEHLER’S CASH STORE
What business tact, energy and perseverance will accomplish is well illustrated by the case of John S. Koehler. Coming to Barry in 1879, a young baker, with limited experience in commercial affairs, he engaged with “Put” Long in the restaurant and bakery business, which they continued successfully for a few years. Mr. Koehler then conceived the idea of establishing a grocery store to be conducted on a strictly cash basis. Associating himself with Isri Smith under the firm name of Smith & Koehler, the thought was carried into execution. They met with many obstacles, and lost some of their best friends temporarily, on account of refusing credit, but they absolutely refused to diverge from the cash system. With the principle thoroughly established, the trade came to them, and when in 1888 Mr. Smith retired from the firm owing to failing health, they were ding an immense business. Mr. Koehler has met with equally as great success alone. He is located on the west side of the public park. He carries a heavy stock of clothing, shoes, gents furnishings and groceries, and has probably made more clear money in the same length of time than any merchant of our city. He is an inveterate worker, a good salesman, knows how to look after the finances and attends strictly to business. With these qualifications combined the results are always favorable. Mr. Koehler has a pleasant home with wife (formerly Gracie Clark) and three children, and is reaping a well earned reward.
BARRY MARBLE AND GRANITE WORKS
In no branch of business has a more rapid advancement been made in Barry than the marble and granite trade. Twenty years ago it was comparatively in its infancy. There had been dealers here, but until Mr. A. Hartshorn opened a shop it had only been conducted in a small way. He started in to operate extensively, but before he could complete his plans he was suddenly called away. Thos. A. Retallic, a young sculptor in Mr. Hartshorn’s employ then took up the work in 1877. He was possessed of tact and skill in the art, a pleasant address and good business qualifications. It was not long until his work attracted attention and his reputation was made. Go where you will to the cemeteries within the borders of Pike and Adams counties and you will find them dotted with monuments from the Barry works. They have furnished among the hundreds of jobs sent out some very costly monuments. The soldiers monument in the public park was one of them. Mr. Retallic has an assistant O. K. Garrett, who also acts as salesman on the road part of the time. They compete with firms in all the surrounding cities and seldom miss a contract where they have a fair chance at it.
The building occupied by the Barry marble works is probably the prettiest in our city. It is built of brick with a stone front, plate glass windows and is novel in design. The picture will give our readers a good idea of it.
Barry Marble Works, 1896
The packing house located here is the property of Mr. W. W. Bartholomew. It is an immense structure, built of brick and is three stories high above the basement. The main building is located along the Wabash track, and near it is a large brick storage building, lard room, etc. The packing house was built by Lewis Angle and operated by him until his death. At the sale of the property, it was bought by Bartholomew & Coe, and when they dissolved partnership it went to Mr. Bartholomew. The buildings are roomy and well equipped for the business. They have done good service, and thousands of hogs have found way to the markets through that channel. For two or three winters the property was idle, but packing was done there the past season and we have assurance it will continue in the future.
C. MASON AND WIFE.
These old and reliable business people are known to all citizens of Barry. They were for years in business here, but a few years ago went to Macon, Mo., to reside. Last year when Thos. Orton retired they again came here and took the stock of dry goods and millinery. They have the patronage of many old customers.
The lumber trade in Barry began with the opening of a yard by Lewis Angle and Joseph Greene, about 1870. They also had a planning mill and did a big business. The firm was succeeded by Mayes & Yancy, who bought the same yard. They remained in the business for a number of years. Mr. Mayes retired and the firm became Yancy & Son, who afterward sold out to Day & Hustead.
The trade is now in the hands of the enterprising firm of Weber & Day. The members of the firm are John Weber and John T. Day. They began business in 1891, succeeding the firm of Day & Hustead, who were in the business but a short time. The new firm infused new life into the business. They put forth their best efforts to stimulate it by adding a stock of lumber that would meet the demands of the trade, and selling it at reasonable prices. It was a winning combination. The trade that formerly went to the yards at Hannibal and Quincy began drifting to Barry, and in less than two years their business was established. To-day they supply the lumber not only for this vicinity, but for miles around. As their trade has increased their stock has multiplied. The past two years their sales have averaged 1,500,000 feet per year. The office and yard is situated at the corner of Davis and Bainbridge streets, one block south of the public park. It is handy for the farmers and also for the mechanics. This year the outlook for building is favorable and it will probably be one of their best years.
Barry Lumber Yard
John T. Day was born in Fayetteville, Ohio, in 1846. He came to Pike county in 1873 and has since resided within her borders. In 1874, he was married to Elizabeth Harlow at El Dara. Mr. Day is a miller and followed that occupation until he found his health impaired by it. Since he embarked in the lumber business he has enjoyed good health. He is well fitted for his present avocation. Personal references to Mr. Weber is given out on another page.
John T. Day
W. F. WHITE & CO.
Wm. F. White is one of the oldest – if not the oldest active business man in Barry. His connection with the mercantile interests of the town dates from 1857 when he engaged in the hardware trade. In 1861 the firm of W. F. White & Bro. consisting of W. F. White and Alex White, was formed. They conducted a general store, bought grain and packed pork, having an immense trade. The firm dissolved in 1877. W. F. White then engaged in the dry goods trade and agricultural implement business which he prosecuted with success until 1887. At that date he received the appointment of postmaster of Barry and turned the other business over to his son Gus. He held the office for years and then re-entered the implement trade. He has also had for several years the county agency of the Nichols-Shepherd threshing machinery.
The present firm of W. F. White & Co. consists of W. F. White and his son Gus. They handle a line of the best grade of machinery and their sales last year were about the largest in the history of the firm. The store is located in the Harvey building on the west side of the public park.
W. F. White is a Scotchman. He was born in Paisley in 1833. In 1851 he came to America, locating near Barry. He has always been prominent in public affairs. In politics he is a democrat.
BARRY OPERA HOUSE
The Barry play house is a structure of which our citizens have just reason to be proud. It is one of the buildings erected after the fire in 1894. Messrs. John Weber and F. M. McNeal, the owners, spared neither trouble nor expense in completing it. The building is a two-story, brick structure, with metal roof, modern in architecture, very substantial in construction, and is lighted by electricity. In the lower story are two store-rooms of 22X80 feet. The entire upper story is used for amusement purposes. The auditorium is seated with chairs. On each side of the stage is a box for private parties. The dressing rooms are in the rear of the stage, and the scenery is complete in detail.
The house is under the management of Ware & McNeal, who are catering very acceptably to the amusement lovers of our town. They have played such attractions as Carter’s Fast mil, Gus Williams, Cleveland’s and Beach & Bowers’ minstrels and others of like note, and their efforts are appreciated.
THE WOOLEN MILLS.
The fine property offers excellent advantages for a live business firm with plenty of capital to operate it. The mills are owned by W. W. Bartholomew, of Hartford, Conn. They are located 1 ¼ miles northwest of Barry and have natural advantages, such as water privileges, etc., that are unequalled anywhere in the west. The buildings are of brick and are large and substantial. The main building is three stories high and covers a large space, and across the road is the office building and wareroom, a one-story structure. These buildings are fitted with all the necessary apparatus for operating the manufacturing business. There are also two or three dwellings handy which are owned by Mr. Bartholomew. The property has been idle the past few years. Barry people are anxious to see the mills in active operation again and will encourage responsible parties to take hold of the enterprise.
FEED MILL AND REPAIR SHOP.
Wm. Hazen established in 1892 a feed mill for grinding corn, oats and other feed. He bought the old Howland corner and placed in the building a complete system for a small mill. It not only provided a convenient place for the farmers to get their feed ground, but also opened a good market for their corn and oats. The result is he has done a large business in the feed line. Mr. Hazen also conducts a shop where all kinds of machinery is repaired. He has made a specialty of engine work and the work in that line that used to go to the cities is now done at home. He employs quite a force of hands in the busy season and turns out a great deal of work.
In addition to the other business Mr. Hazen handles farm implements and coal. And as in everything else he undertakes he is making it a success. He is industrious, painstaking and obliging. That’s the secret of his popularity.
The above named gentleman needs no introduction to the public. By time and experience our people have learned his business methods. He carries a large and well selected stock, both of furniture and groceries, and has an extensive trade. His store is located on the west side of the public park, as for the past quarter of a century or more. Mr. Wendorff was born in Germany in 1828. He came to America in 1856, stopping one year at Buffalo, N. Y., then coming to Barry. By trade he is a cabinet maker, but has not worked at it of late years, leaving that work to his son Louis. The other son, Henry, has charge of the grocery department. Mr. Wendorff is also an architect and many of the buildings in our city are of his design. He is known as a wise counselor, and a splendid financier. He is in good circumstances.
EDWARD TAYLOR & CO.
In the year 1894, Edward Taylor entered the furniture trade. He was a carpenter by trade and he took kindly to the business, and by dint of courtesy and close attention to the trade he is already favored with a flattering business. He is located in the Weber building, opposite the water works. The stock is new and well selected and readily commends itself to purchasers. Another branch of the business is screen work, picture framing and repair work. Mr. Taylor has developed into an architect of much ability and designed some of the best dwellings recently built here. He was born in Kendal, England, in 1863, and came to America in 1868. In 1887 he was married to Nora A. Greene in this city. Two children have blessed their union.
The name of B. McConnell has been connected with blacksmithing interests of our city for many years. He is a native of New Jersey, where he was born in 1838. Coming to Illinois in 1852 he located at Canton, Fulton county. In 1857 he went to Kansas and spent two years, returning to this state in 1859 to take a position with R. St. John, then one of the leading blacksmiths. In 1861 he went to El Dara to run a shop, but after two years experience there he again returned to Barry and went to work for James Yancy. Later the firm of McConnell & Phenneger was formed and continued in business four years, and since the dissolution Mr. McConnell has conducted business alone. He has a wide reputation as a fine blacksmith and expert plow maker, and is a citizen who has won the esteem of this community. For years he was chief of the Barry fire department. Mr. McConnell claimed as a bride in 1862, Mary A. Watson, who with a son and daughter add comfort to his years.
CHAS. M. HOLMES.
When J. Yancy & Son were ready to retire from business in 1885, C. M. Holmes bought the property – building and blacksmith stock and tools. He went to work and by close application to business and hard labor he soon built up a good trade. He made a specialty of wagon making and sold many of them. Then buggies and farm implements were added to his stock. In all his enterprises he has been a success. Mr. Holmes was born in Barry, July 6, 1861. Dec. 27, 1892, he was married to Nettie E. Barney. He has been honored with several township and city offices, and occupies a prominent position in the community for a young man.
JOHN I PARKER.
This gentleman cannot be classed as an old citizen, but he is certainly an active one. Coming here from Baylis in 1892, he has by close attention to business and energy built up by a large trade. Besides doing a regular blacksmithing and repair business, he handles farm implements and buggies. He is a hustler for trade. Mr. Parker was born near Newark, Ohio, April 6, 1849, and was married to Caroline E, Dunstan in 1870. Two children have come to them. Except two years spent on the road for the Plano binder company, he has made blacksmithing his life work. He is entitled to his success
The brick yard at this place is an enterprise worthy of more than mere mention. It was established in 1876 by J. C. Chilton, now deceased, and his son Chas. H. Chilton. The family came here in 1869 from Kingston, and for seven years the father and son had charge of a yard conducted by N. P. Hart on his farm near town. At the close of that engagement they started the business at their place in the west part of town. They have manufactured an average of about 200,000 brick a year since they began. For a time tile was made in connection with the brick, but that was found to be a bad investment and it was discontinued. The yard has been under the management of C. H. Chilton, the present owner, for several years, and he has made a success of it. He manufactures his brick by machinery, and can turn out with one machine as high as 14,000 a day. Quite a force of hands are employed. Mr. Chilton expects to operate the business on a large scale this summer. He is also thinking of adding a pottery to his plant.
Another enterprise Mr. Chilton is engaged in is the packing and selling of ice, in which he does a large business. About 3000 tons are annually packed. This year the supply is short owing to the mild winter.
C. H. Chilton was born in Sangamon county, Ill., in 1855, and was married to Etta Kendall of El Dara about ten years ago. They have an elegant home which was erected last season.
The cooper business was a leading industry in Barry at one time, but since machinery was introduced for barrel making the trade has suffered reverses. The only shops in town now are those of the Barry milling company and J. C. Frike. The latter is not doing much work lately, and has about retired altogether from the business.
We have two firms of well diggers, each of whom have a complete apparatus for sinking deep wells. They are Hart Howard and Schulz & Bodine. Mr. Howard is an old hand and an adept at the trade. The others have not been long at the business but are quite successful. Either will do a good job in that line.
Mr. Wendorff is an old and well known shoemaker who has conducted business in Barry a long time. He is a native of Germany and an industrious, quiet citizen, as well as a fine workman. He is located in the second story of the Churchill building.
As long ago as 1867, Barney Weisanburger located here. he is a shoemaker and has worked at the trade since 1856. A native of Germany, he is an industrious and peaceable citizen. He came west from Pittsburg, located at Palmyra, Mo., and from there came to Barry.
The Barry billiard room is owned by John Siegle and is located in his building. It is under the management of L. H. Howlett. There are three billiard and pool tables in use and they afford amusement to the young me who patronize them.
There are two regular livery stables. One is conducted by W. H. Stroheker in what is known as the Aker’s barn on Main street, and the other is in charge of Jas. Elliott, who has the Arch Campbell barn. Both stables are well equipped with vehicles of late patterns and good driving horses. They do a nice business. Neither of the proprietors have been here long; Stroheker came here from Mt. Sterling three or four years ago. Elliott bought Arch Campbell out only a few weeks since.
The draying business of Barry is done by Levi McIntire, Nate Hayes and Theo. Doran, all of who have their particular patrons. In past years Mr. Doran used to do nearly all the work in that line. He finally sold the business to another and by that means competition sprung up. Mr. Doran retains the trunk hauling. The draymen are all faithful in their line of work.
Mose Morey has for several years run the city bus. He has one of the section missing…has accumulated considerable property. Mr. Campbell has been interested in trotting horses for several years and has owned quite a number of fast steppers, one of which, Liberty Boy, made a fine record. In all his races Mr. Campbell does his own driving. He is known as an excellent judge of horses.
The coal business of Barry is done principally by Barry Milling Company and Wm. Hazen, who handles all kinds of soft and hard coal. F. M. Starks also sells hard coal on orders. The business amounts to a large sum in the run of a year. Coal is sold quite reasonably and our citizens have reason to congratulate themselves upon the treatment they receive at the hands of these dealers. Their supply is complete and no complaint is heard of the quality of coal they handle.
H. H. THOMPSON.
H. H. Thompson, democratic candidate for circuit clerk from Barry township, is a farmer and lives one mile west of here He was born near Quincy, Ill., Oct. 31, 1846. In 1871 he was married to Charlotte McDaniel. They have six children. Except tow years teaching of penmanship, Mr. Thompson has spent his life on the farm. He is a hardy son of toil, intelligent and progressive, and withal an excellent citizen. He has the sympathy of our citizens in his canvass.
J. W. MITCHELL.
The accident insurance business is well looked after by J. W. Mitchell, who represents two or three companies. He has done a large business this winter, and as a result of his labors quite a number have received practical benefits in the shape of drafts for accidental injuries they have received. Mr. Mitchell is a long time resident of Barry and a hustler. He deserves success.
W. H. MAYES.
E. L. PENNER.
Mr. Penner has been in the jewel business in Barry since ’86. He came here from Athens, Ill., where he had a stack about three years. He carries an elegant line of diamonds, jewelry and spectacles and enjoys a large trade. The store is in the Blair block. Mr. Penner learned the jewelry business in Bloomington. He afterwards worked at other places and held positions in the watch factories at Rockford and Springfield. He is proficient at the trade. He has also recently become an optician and is meeting with much success in that line. Mr. Penner was born in Alexandria, La., in 1862. He was married to Cora A. McNeal in 1886, at Athens, Ill. They have no children.
A. T. KINNE.
Mr. Kinne is an old citizen of our town. He is a son of Rev. Niles Kinne and was born near Rochester, N. Y., in 1838. When the family came west they located at St. Charles, Ill., and from there came to Barry in 1856. In 1860 Mr. Kinne was married to Mary E. Cromwell, to whom were born seven children. He was for several years engaged in the drug trade and for fourteen years was assistant cashier and book keeper at the Exchange Bank. He is also a notary public. He entered the jewelry trade in 1892. The store is in the Blair block, where is kept a complete line of watches and jewelry. Marion Hayes is a watch maker. They have a good trade. Mr. Kinne has also handled pianos and organs for a long time and is still agent for some of the best instruments on the market.
J. H. RIFFLE.
As a watch maker and jeweler, J. H. Riffle has the reputation of being a leader. He has worked at the business 23 years. His business career in Barry dates from 1882. He has a large run of work. Mr. Riffle was born in Des Moines, Ia., 37 years ago, but has lived in this state since he was three years old. He is not only a first-class jeweler but is also a telegraph operator of note, having held some prominent positions with the Western Union company.
RESTAURANT AND BAKERIES.
J. J. ROBB
Mr. Robb engaged in the restaurant and bakery business in 1894, soon after the erection of the Hollembeak building, on Mortimer street. He has as baker his son, Mort Robb, who is a first-class hand. They are doing a nice business. J. J. Robb was born in Washington county, Penn., in 1835. He was married in 1858 to Elizabeth Miller, and eight children have come to them. He came to Pike county that same year and in 1878 located in Barry. He was a member of the 154th regiment of Illinois volunteer infantry in the late war, and he was a great soldier.
G. H. ELLERS.
In August, 1895, G. H. Ellers engaged in the restaurant and bakery trade. He is located in the Churchill building near the postoffice, and has good patronage. His baker is Chas. Blair, who has made a splendid reputation. Mr. Ellers was born in Hanover, Germany 36 years ago. He came to America with his parents when four years age. He was married a few years ago to Anna Blair. They have one daughter. Mr. Ellers was mayor of Barry one term.
J. A. BREEDEN.
The name of Mr. Breeden has been associated with the confectionery trade of Barry for four years. He was originally a cigar manufacturer but failing health caused him to change his avocation. He is now located in the Leach building and has a good run of custom. He is well calculated for the business. Mr. Breeden came to Barry about 25 years ago. He is a native of Hanarico county, Virginia, and is 46 years of age. Eighteen years age (sic.) he married Mary Barnette, the adopted daughter of Mrs. Klein. They have two children.
As long ago as 1855 James Smith located in Barry. He was a native of Allegheny county, Maryland, and when eight years old he went with his parents to reside in Belmont county, Ohio. Then young James came to Illinois. Mr. Smith has a family of wife and seven children living. He has been in the undertaking business ever since he came to Barry. That he thoroughly understands the business no one will gainsay.
DR. JOHN G. MCKINNEY.
Dr. McKinney and his Sanitarium
It is not necessary for the ADAGE to introduce Dr. John G. McKinney to the public. His name is already known far and near. As a surgeon Dr. McKinney has attained eminent distinction, and as a physician he is at the head of the county profession. He has probably brought our city more fame than any other living person. Since he established his Sanitarium patients have come from all parts of the adjacent country for treatment, and many are the difficult operations he has successfully performed. His treatment of cancer has also brought him into prominence. Such is his knowledge and experience that his diagnosis of diseases is almost invariably correct.
Dr. McKinney was born in Harrison county, Ohio, in 1835. In 1856 he was married to Elizabeth Boulware, and some years after her death he was married to Malinda Vining. He is the father of five children, two by his first marriage and three by the last. He began practicing medicine in 1863. In 1868 he graduated from Rush Medical college, then took a post-graduate course in the Northwestern University in 1880, a post-graduate course at Rush College in 1883, and at the Polyclinic of New York in 1889. In 1891 he took a trip to Europe and visited the hospitals of the principal cities. His constant aim has been for higher education in his profession. He is a member of the State Medical society and of the Mississippi Valley Medical association, is a valued member of the M. E. church, a Knight Templar and a gentleman whose reputation is of the highest order.
Dr. McKinney located in Barry in 1875 and in 1885 erected the Sanitarium building. He has an immense practice in both surgery and medicine, and requires the assistance of another physician to attend to the needs of all his patients.
DR. W. H. JOHNSON.
Dr. W. H. Johnson, son of Dr. R. J. Johnson and grandson of Dr. Wm. N. Tandy, formerly well known in this city, was born in Florida, Monroe county, Mo., May 29, 1855. He attended school during the winter and put in the summers on his father’s farm until the age of 17 years when he entered the Missouri State University at Columbia, Mo. After leaving college he accepted a position as salesman with Brittingham, Strong & Co., of Hannibal, Mo., and the following year he accepted the position of head salesman for Jonathan Smith of Hannibal, which position he held until the spring of ’76, when he entered his father’s office for the purpose of reading medicine. In March, 1879, he graduated with honors from the Missouri Medical College of St. Louis. Returning home he practiced his profession with his father until the latter’s death. In 1880 he was married to Jennie E. Poage, one of Monroe county’s most popular young ladies, and in ’83 moved to Kinderhook, Ill., where he practiced until February, ’87, when he moved to Barry forming a partnership and practicing with Dr. A. C. Baker seven years when Dr. B. Retired from the work. Dr. Johnson owns one among the most pleasant homes in our city, as well as good office property and controls a large practice.
DR. R. H. MAIN
A young physician who has acquired an excellent professional reputation in a short time is Dr. R. H. Main of our city. He entered the practice here in 1894, and Barry was his first location. To-day he has a large and paying practice. He is the family physician of some of our foremost citizens. Such a reception as he has met with is seldom accorded to a young and inexperienced physician, but our citizens soon learned of his ability. When tried he was not found wanting, and his rise has been rapid. Dr. Main was born at Troy, Mo., in 1868. He studied medicine and entered the Missouri Medical college at St. Louis, graduating from that college in 1894. In 1895 he was married to Helen Chrysup, daughter of Capt. G. W. Chrysup of our city. Dr. Main’s office is in the Masonic building, where he has commodious quarters.
DR. J. A. MCKINNEY.
Dr. J. A. McKinney is a son of Dr. John G. McKinney and was born at Kingston, Ill. in 1869. He was married to Mary E. Moore of Quincy in ’94. After attending the common schools he took a four years’ course at the Illinois State Normal University, graduated from the Kentucky school of Medicine at Louisville and took his second degree in medicine at Rush medical college at Chicago. He practiced two years with his father but failing health has caused him to give up the practice here. He will go to Colorado.
DR. E. J. NORRIS
He is known as the ‘German doctor.’ His practice is peculiar to himself and according to some of his patients he has made miraculous cures. Dr. Nobis has been a resident of Barry for several years.
W. T. MITCHELL.
S. F. FURNISS.
Mr. Furniss was born in Baltimore, Md., in 1833. He was married to Adda Pence in 1855. They have five children. Mr. Furniss was mayor of our city one term. He was engaged in farming, hotel keeping, building and contracting. He built the Blair hotel, Seigle building and various other buildings and fine residences about town, and has an excellent reputation as a workman, contractor and citizen.
For seventeen years Frank Finchum has been buying hogs in this market. Some years he has shipped as high as 4000 hogs. He was born in Virginia in 1848, but was reared in Richfield, Ill. He is well posted in the stock business and has done well at it, being now considered well off. He is a bachelor.
CAPT. M. D. MASSIE.
As a matter of courtesy to candidates on the west side of the county, they are receiving mention in these columns. Capt. M. D. Massie is one of the number He is a citizen of New Canton and a gentleman who enjoys the confidence of his friends in all parts of the county. His native town in Pittsfield, Ill., where he was born Jan. 21, 1838. He was in the 99th regiment of Illinois volunteers and served three years of the war, being promoted to captain of his company. In 1872 he was elected to the legislature, in which he made a useful member. The rest of his manhood years have been spent in merchandising at New Canton. In this campaign he is a republican candidate for state senator from the district composed of Pike, Morgan and Scott counties.
CAPT. CHAS. H. HURT.
Chas. H. Hurt is an old citizen of Barry. He is the oldest son of Elisha Hurt, who came here in 1830. Mr. Hurt was captain of a company of the 8th Illinois and went through the war. He was for years pay master of the old St. L. K. & N. W. R.R. and has held other prominent positions. At present he is a capitalist. His wife was Mell Cram. They have a lovely home and enjoy life.
F. G. VARNEY.
Dr. Varney, the well-known dentist, was born in Clearmount county, Ohio, in 1845. While a boy lived in and about Cincinnati, Ohio, until the year 1859, when he moved with his parents to Springfield, Ill. After living there a short time they removed to Pittsfield, this county. Mr. Varney took up the dental profession in 1863, and when he graduated in his chosen profession, located in Griggsville, where he practiced nearly twenty years, and selling out there, located at Olney, Ill., for very near a year; selling his dental practice there to Dr. N. Kelly, he moved to our city.
Dr. Varney making trips to Kansas in the boom days of that state, purchased real estate, and one occasion formed the acquaintance of Mrs. Emma Van Hook, who later became his wife.
F. T. EDWARDS.
Dr. F. T. Edwards came to Barry last year as the successor of Dr. Rice. He is a son of Minnesota. He attended school in Minneapolis, studied dentistry in the University of Minnesota and received a diploma. Next he took a post graduate course in the American college of dental surgery at Chicago. Dr. Edwards has had ten years of study and practice in Minnesota, Montana and South Dakota. He impressed our citizens very favorably when he first came among us and has steadily gained friends and patronage ever since. He has a large practice.
J. M. KAYLOR
J. M. Kaylor is a graduate of the Chicago veterinary college, and is well informed in his profession. He has been well received by stock owners in and about Barry. Mr. Kaylor was born near Baylis in 1861 and was married in 1893 to Maggie Vanzandt. They have one child. He is a good citizen and promises well in his chosen work.
J. M. DORAN.
Mr. Doran has made a study of veterinary surgery and has been practicing with success for a few years. He takes great interest in it.
Reference to Barry hotels carries the older citizens back to early days, when the old Buckeye House and Barry Hotel were in their glory. The Barry Hotel was originally kept by John Dehaven and was the first tavern of our city. It was located on the corner of Mortimer and Decatur streets, where the Doran House now stands. The building became historic, and to it many memories of early times in this county were attached. It was established in 1844. When Mr. Dehaven died his widow continued the hotel for some years, and when she retired it became the National Hotel, under the management of N. E. Locke, and then under Hiram Bidwell; next it was known as the Edom House, and now it is Hotel Doran. The old Buckeye House had as landlord Louis Harvey. It was located on the west side of the public square, where the Harvey brick building and Koehler’s store are located. The “Buckeye” was also a noted place in its day. The old building was removed nearly twenty years ago to make room for the new business houses, and it now stands on the lot just west of its original location. It is used as a warehouse; Wike Bros. own it.
The Empire House was another hotel of this place. It was opened by E. Nutting after the arrival of the railroad. Afterward H. C. McDonald took charge of it and then followed the managements of Cell Harvey, John Weber, Davis, Peters, Wm. Savage, and J. H. Dexter. The name was changed under the latter’s management to Dexter House, and at his death Mrs. Dexter managed the house. She finally sold the property to A. C. Hollembeak in 1892, and the hotel building was demolished and removed. On the site an opera house was built, and after the fire of 1894, a brick business house was erected there.
The hotels of Barry today are the Hotel Blair, Hotel Doran and the Edom House.
Hotel Blair is situated in the brick block owned by G. M. Blair. It is located in the business centre and is a well appointed and well conducted hostelry. The proprietor is Mrs. S. B. Gaines, who is assisted in the management by her daughter, Mrs. Lillie Mors. They opened the house January 30, 1894, in approved style. The traveling public gave them a hearty welcome and have had good words to say of the way the hotel is conducted ever since. Mrs. Gaines is an old resident of the county, having resided at Kinderhook, where her husband, Selah B. Gaines, was in business a long time. She is well calculated for the hotel business.
George M. Blair, 1896
Hotel Doran was established in 1891, when the property was purchased by J. M. Doran. He refitted the house and enlarged it to twice its former size in 1892, supplying new furniture almost throughout at that time. It is conveniently located and has always had a liberal patronage. When Mr. Doran took hold of the house there was a perceptible improvement in it, which he has since maintained. Mr. Doran was born in Barry in 1852. In 1872 he married Samantha Havird, and they have three children. Most of his years were spent on the farm. He taught school and some years since became a veterinary surgeon which profession he yet prosecutes with success.
The Edom House is what in other days was the public school building. It is owned by G. M. Blair. Edward Edom leased the building and started a hotel, which he conducted until he died two years ago. Mrs. Edom is now managing the house. She is an old resident of the county and deserves a share of the public patronage.
The coal oil business is another line that is well looked after. H. A. Williamson has a tank service here under the management of Jas. G. Woolery from which most of the merchants here and in other towns near by receive their supply. It is delivered at their doors at a reasonable price and is a very popular enterprise.
BARRY MILLING COMPANY.
WHAT ONE OF THE LEADING INDUSTRIES OF THE COUNTY IS DOING.
Milling has been a leading industry of Barry almost as long as the place has existed. Located in the midst of a great wheat producing country, flour mills are a necessity here. The first mill we have any record of what was built by Stone, Field & Marks, and was sold to Brown & McTucker in 1836. This mill was located at what is known as Little St. Louis. In 1837 a grist mill, located a log building where the woolen mills now stand. The next mill was located near Hadley creek and was owned by Wm. Lippincott. Wm P. Shields also built and operated a mill near the same location. All these mills were useful in their day, but have passed into history, and those buildings that are standing are converted to other uses.
In 1869, soon after the railroad came a new mill was built by C. & S. Davis near the railroad depot. It was operated by that firm a few years and when they dissolved partnership it fell to Calvin Davis. This mill was not a paying investment and lost toe owner considerable money.
The Barry Milling Company organized under the laws of the state in 1884, with a large capital stock. The milling property of Mr. Davis, and his elevator was purchased and the company also secured the elevator owned by Crandall Smith and Patterson. A contract was let for the erection of a four story frame flour mil on the location of the old mill, which was completed according to the plans made. New and improved machinery was purchased and the mill was soon after ready for operations. The first few years were trying ones for the new company. Balances were on the wrong side of the ledger. A new system of machinery was found necessary and was secured and from that time on the company has prospered.
The mill as now operated is first-class in ever particular. It has nine double sets of rolls with a capacity of making two hundred barrels of flour every twenty-four hours. It is run day and night, six days a week. The motive power is an 16X32 Wright & Adams automatic cut-off engine. Two tubular boilers furnish the steam. About 200,000 bushels of wheat is annually ground.
The Barry Milling Company, 1896
The company has an immense trade in flour, bran and shipstuff. A large part of the out-put goes to the New England states and the Chicago markets, and they export occasionally to the West India islands. The local and county trade is also very large. From these statements it will be seen the Barry milling company is an industry of no small magnitude. It is fully abreast of the times and is operated on a broad and liberal basis. The expenditures for wheat and operating expenses aggregate a very large sum every year. The stockholders of the company are W. W. Bartholomew, M. Strubinger, Eugene Smith, E. A. Crandall, J. H. Kirby and Jas. G. Woolery, M. Strubinger is president; E. A. Crandall, secretary; Eugene Smith, treasurer; W. W. Bartholomew, manager and J. H. Kirby, assistant manager. Mr. Kirby is virtually in charge of the mill, and that it is good hands goes without saying in this vicinity. He is a most capable official, and one worthy of all the confidence that is bestowed upon him. Jas. G. Woolery, the wheat buyer, is also a gentleman of a high sense of honor. These two are the ones the patrons of the mill deal with principally. The rest of the force of employees consists of H. L. Langerhans, head miller; Chas. Steininger and Thos. Tillman, assistant millers; Geo. Grubb and Wm. Arnold, packers, and Dayton Smith and V. P. Hustead, engineers.
The company has agents at Kinderhook and Hadley and buys and ships wheat from these points. They also operate a coopershop in connection with the mill, where the barrels used are manufactured. In all about twenty-five hands are employed by the company.
Another branch of business conducted by the Barry milling company is the coal trade, in which they do the principal business here. All grades of hard and soft coal and smithing coal is handled. It is an important part of the company’s business.
J. K. CRAWFORD
John K. Crawford is a native of Perry, Ill. He was born March 16, 1849, and Jan 1st, 1878, was married to Miss Kate A. Edmunds. They have four daughters, Mr. Crawford moved to Barry from Payson. He was elected justice of the peace in 1894 to fill the vacancy caused by J. J. Gray’s removal from the city. In politics he is a republican. He is also a notary public, writes life, fire and accident insurance, and does a loan and collecting business.
M. H. NICOL.
M. H. Nicol established a shop near the depot some years ago. He is a lively, wide-a-wake fellow and turns out considerable work. He is of Scotch descent. Mr. Nicol served in the army in the late war and made a record for valient services. He has a family of wife and several children.
A brass band is a necessary adjunct of a town. Barry has always had a longing for such a musical combination and has been favored with one off and on for an age. As the campaign of 1896 approached our musicians realized it was time for action and a band was organized by the musicians of our city last October. The officers are: John I. Parker, president; E. O. Call, leader. Instrumentation: G. H. Ellers, clarinet; E. O. Call, solo B cornet; Wm. Hazen, 1st B cornet; Dan Dudley, 1st E alto; D. E. Watson, 2nd E alto; John I. Parker, B tenor; Geo. Grubb, slide trombone; Charles F. Parker, baritone; J. H. Riffle, tuba; A. Jackson, A. B. Jackson, drums.
The list includes some of the best musical talent of Barry, and with the efforts they are making the band is sure to be a leading organization. They will be in demand this campaign.
PHOTOGRAPHER E. R. BURNHAM.
The Barry photographer is E. R. Burnham, who came here in 1870. Mr. Burnham is a native of Lousville, where he was born in 1845. He engaged in the photograph business at Hartford, Conn., and afterwards located in New Orleans. He was in that city when Benj. Butler landed there and took charge of city affairs. In 1868 he located in Jacksonville, coming to Barry after a two years’ residence there, and remaining here ever since, except one year in business at Hannibal. Mr. Burnham is one of our prominent citizens; has been mayor of our city, member of the school board and one of the directors of the public library. He was married to Maggie A. Turner in 1871 and they have two daughters. They have a handsome home in the south part of town and are in easy circumstances.
Residence of E. R. Burnham, 1896
UNDERTAKERS. MIKE LANE.
There is probably no name more familiar to our readers than that of Mike Lane. He has been for years prominent in Barry affairs. He is one of those public spirited and enthusiastic citizens who give live to any movement they take hold of. Mr. Lane is a son of old Ireland and was born in Dublin in 1837. In 1859 he was married to Emily E. Barnard, and to them six children were born. Mr. Lane has resided in several different places since he first came here and at one time removed to Oregon. Up to a few years ago he was in the harness business, but now he is engaged in the undertaking business for which he is well adapted.
Sketches of the Barry Churches of the Past and Present.
To the Methodist society belongs the credit of building the first house of worship in Barry. It was built in 1838 and was located on what is known as church square in this city, years afterward owned by G. D. Mayes and now the property of Mrs. Isabelle Boulware. It was not until 1847 that the little band of worshippers were strong enough to command recognition from conference, but in that year Barry Circuit was established with Rev. I. C. Pinckard and H. S. Shaw as “circuit riders.” In 1851 the society started the church building now occupied, situate on block 26, finishing it in 1852. Rev. M. Shunk was the minister in charge at that time. Since then the building has been remodeled and improved and at this time is a commodious and convenient edifice. The society also provided a home for its pastor and only a few years ago built at quite a cost a new and beautiful parsonage, which is located on the same block with the church.
Barry Station was established in 1870. Rev. J. W. Sinnock was the minister sent here by conference that year. Since then numerous ministers have come and gone, some of whom have since proved bright and shining lights in the ministry. Following is the list of pastors:
Barry Circuit. – 1847, J. C. Pinckard, H. S. Shaw; 1848, J. B. Houts; 1849, W. Wilson; 1850, I. M. Shunk; 1852, B. F. Northcott; 1853, do supply; 1854, D. H. Hatton; 1855, J. P. Dimmitt, S. McCall; 1856, E. M. Reed, M. A. Hewes; 1857-8, R. Chapman; 1859, W. M. Read; 1860-1, W. M. Evans; 1862, W. H. Taylor; 1863-4, C. Powell; 1865, T. J. Bryant; 1866-7, H. Wilson; 1868-9, J. W. Sinnock; 1870, T. S. Johnson; 1871-2, W. J. Newman.
Barry Station. – 1870, J. W. Sinnock; 1871-2, R. Honnold; 1873-4, J. G. Bonnell; 1875-6, T. J. Coultas; 1877-8, J. B. Seymour; 1879-80, A. M. Danely; 1881-2, W. Murphy; 1883-4, W. M. Gooding; 1885-86-87, W. S. Calhoun; 1888, George B. Wolfe; 1889-90, Charles Baughman; 1891-92, C. F. Tobey; 1893-4, Wm. McK. McElfresh; 1895, W. N. Rutledge.
The pastor of the church for this conference year is, Rev. W. N. Rutledge, a gentleman who has won the admiration and esteem not only of the congregation but of our citizens in general. He is a hard student, a good orator and well informed in scripture lore. He was born in Greenfield, Ill. June 3, 1844, and in September 1880 was married to Miss Emma D. Hammond. One son, George, has blessed their union. Rev. Rutledge entered conference in 1871. He has received past appointments, and has a record for excellent work wherever stationed.
Members of the Quarterly Conference. – Rev. Horace Reed, Presiding Elder; Rev. W. N. Rutledge, pastor; Miss Ruth Clegg, secretary.
Members Official Board – Dr. John G. McKinney, Geo. D. Mayes, Jas. Smith, Wm. Hoyt, S. R. Watson, Wm. Brownell, Jas. Brownell, Mrs. Effie Brownell, Miss Minnie Blake, Mrs. Harriet Cleveland, Geo. M. Blair, Thos. Shepherd, John Weber, F. M. Starks, Jas. W. Dewell.
In connection with the church is a large and flourishing Sunday school, which meets every Sunday school, which meets every Sunday school, which meets every Sunday at 9 a.m. The officers at present are: G. D. Mayes, superintendent; Mrs. H. Cleaveland, 1st assistant; Minnie Blake, 2d assistant; Willie Gleekler, secretary; George Orton, treasurer; Ivah Hudson, organist; Alice K. Smith, assistant organist.
There are also four societies aiding in the religious work of the church. The Busy Workers have been established several years. They have as officers: Joicey McIntire, president; Eugenia Chamberlin, secretary; Dollie Lane, treasurer/
The Ladies Aid Society is comparatively new. Mrs. W. W. Watson, president; Mrs. W. I. Klein, vice president; Mrs. J. B. Watson, secretary; Mrs. J. A. McKinney, treasurer.
Officers of Epworth League: Mrs. W. N. Rutledge, president; Miss Minnie Blake, 1st vice-president; Nettie Gray, 2d vice-president; Mr. Henry Kuntz, 3rd vice-president; Miss Ruth Clegg, 4th vice-president; Mr. Willie Gleckler, secretary; Miss Eugenie Chamberlin, treasurer.
Juniors: Mrs. W. Brownell, superintendent.
The Barry Baptist church was first organized in June, 1829, at the little place called Atlas. The organization was effected by Elders Jacob Bowers and Jesse Sutton. The constituent members as shown by the record were Ozias Hale, Isaac Alfred, Elizabeth Alfred, Hopson Whitley and Esther Whitley.
Ozias Hale was made the first church clerk and was afterwards licensed to preach and became the first pastor of the church.
In February of 1830, Hopson Whitley was made clerk and Isaac Alfred became the first deacon.
Being without a house of worship the services of the church were held for a time in various places in the precinct of Pleasant Vale, among which may be mentioned the homes of Joseph Jackson, Joseph Brown, Amos Jackson, and the school house at Pleasant Vale. In September of 1832, the church decided to hold its services in the Hornback settlement, where they were held a part of the time for a number of years. In August of 1836, the church decided to build a house of worship near Mayes’ spring, about a mile west of what is now called Barry, and Levi McDaniel, James Gates and Mr. Headen were made the building committee. Afterwards the church rescinded the motion to build at Mayes’ spring, and in November of the same year decided to build in Worcester, now Barry, and James Gates and Tyre Jennings were appointed a committee to solicit funds for this purpose; but it would seem the building was not completed until 1840 or ’41, when we find Levi McDaniel, Joel Hart, James Gates, Charles Mason and Tyre Jennings acting as building committee.
The first building was a small frame structure, erected on the property now owned by Samuel Brown. For many years the church struggled against financial embarrassment, but it steadily grew in membership and financial strength.
The first Sunday school seems to have been organized in 1842, and Charles Mason became the first superintendent.
In 1852 the church building was found to be inadequate, and a new building was dedicated upon. Lewis Angle, S. Hull and B. D. Brown were made the first building committee. As a result during the year 183 the present building was erected. Much of the material had to be hauled from Quincy. On Feb. 22, 1854, the building was opened for use and dedicated. Since that time the church has seen many seasons of prosperity.
The officers of the church now are: Pastor, A. J. Young; Deacons, Geo. W. Perry, B. McConnell, D. D. Swan, Eugene Smith; Trustees, George W. Perry, Eugene Smith, Willard Hart; clerk, Clarence Perry; treasurer, Eugene Smith; chorister, Mrs. Rufus Yancy; organist, Miss Nettie Shewe.
The Baptist Sunday school is in a prosperous condition with superintendent officers and teachers pulling together. Charles Holmes, superintendent; George Perry, assistant superintendent; Fred Strubinger, secretary; Geo. Wike, assistant secretary; Eugene Smith, treasurer. They have a corps of sixteen teachers and a large roll of scholars. This school points with pride back to a time when one superintendent held office for twenty-five years in succession; this was the much loved and lamented Dr. Parker, who thirty-five years ago was put in the place he held for the fourth of a century. Fred Ottowa succeeded Dr. Parker, and is now living in Ft. Madison, Iowa, and still engaged in Sunday school work. Mr. George Perry also served acceptably in this office.
The Baptist Young People’s Union has for officers: President G. R. Thompson; vice-president, A. E. Woodward; recording secretary, Eugene Newbauer; corresponding secretary, Essie Shewe; treasurer, Ralph Smith; organist, Jennie Hart.
Ladies Aid Society: Mrs. B. McConnell, president; Mrs. L. M. Perry, vice-president; Mrs. Margaret Newbauer, secretary; Mrs. Helen Smith, treasurer.
Following is a list of the pastors called by the church: 1829, Jesse Elledge. 1830 Ozias Hale 1837, Sept. 24 Joel Sweet 1839, Jan. 19 Norman Parks 1841, Jan. 16 G. H. Ford 1844, April Horace Worden 1845, March 15 Joel Sweet 1847, Dec. 4 Norman Parks 1849, May 26 Jesse Elledge 1852, April 23 S. F. Holt 1854, Nov. 25 Calvin Greenleaf 1856, March 2 Niles Kinne 1859, Nov. 18 J. D. Cole 1861, Sept. 28 Thos. M. Colwell 1866, July 21 Joseph Rawley, supply 1867, Jan. 26 G. Silver, supply 1868, March 21 Jaran Jones. G. Marardle preached 3 months 1870, Jan 18 E. T. Scofield 1872, Oct 25 S. F. Holt 1874, Nov. 29 Wm. Green 1883, Nov. 18 H. C. First 1888, July 21 T. G. McLean 1891, Aug 16 J. F. Heilner 1893, May 27 J. P. Robinson 1894, Dec. 1, A. J. Young
Rev. A. J. Young, the present pastor, has been in the ministry since 1884. He is a native of Dearbon county, Ind., where he was born in 1854, but from early youth he resided at Princeton, Ill.; graduated from Princeton high school in 1878; taught school for three years; entered Chicago University in 1881. Did his first preaching at Chrystal Lake, Ill. In 1884 he was regularly ordained a Baptist minister at Westville, Ind., and was pastor of the church there three years. He was stationed at Taylorville, Ill., over five years, then at Galva, Ill., three years, and Dec. I, 1894, he entered upon the work here. Rev. Young is a logical and able expounder of the gospel, educated and refined, and is one of the most popular pastors the church has had for years.
The Christian church of Barry was organized in 1843, with George Alkirk, David Greene and J. T. Brown as elders; Jas. Greene, Solomon Hornback and John Price as deacons; and for several years worshiped in school and private houses, being instructed by such teachers as David Roberts, James Burbridge, George Alkire and others. In 1848 the present house of worship was built, the lot given by the generous B. D. Brown/ The bell was donated by D. W. Greene, and about that time Jon Waston was elder and clerk, which offices he held acceptably for many years. The beloved E. L. Craig was the first located pastor, then followed J. M. Wright, G. E. Sweeney, (father of four noted preachers), in succession: J. Hobbs, P. Donan, A. G. Lucas, W. H. Crow, T. W. Dunkeson, W. B. Berry, H. R. Walling, C. B. Newman, J. W. Mitchell, J. M. Ratliffe, H. C. Littleton and J. L. Stephenson. The present officers are: E. G. Woolery and John Koehler, elders; J. S. Phennegar, F. Boyd and Virgil Harris, deacons; John H. Mallery, Mrs. Mary White and Joseph Greene, trustees; John H. Mallery, clerk and treasurer.
As a visible result of the recent protracted meeting held by Morgan Morgans, and our efficient pastor, A. S. Veatch, 150 were added to the church; the present membership being 324. As the church Sunday school and Y. P. S. C. E. have outgrown the house, they hope with God’s blessing to build a more commodious house in the near future in which to worship in his name.
It is quite probable that this history is imperfect, as the early records cannot be found, and this brief sketch had to be written from memory.
Rev. A. D. Veatch, pastor in charge, came from Lewis county, Mo. He is a graduate of the theological school at Canton, Mo. Barry is his first charge. Coming here a year ago, he has, by his able sermons and zealous efforts in behalf of the church, endeared himself to his congregation. He has a promising future.
Sunday school was organized in 1867, with about 40 active members John H. Mallery, superintendent. The present officers are: Superintendent, Mrs. Olive Woolery; assistant superintendent, A. D. Veatch; secretary-treasurer, Miss Bessie Phennegar; assistant secretary-treasurer, Ina Johnson; organist, Jennie Greene; assistant organist, Emma Farmer. Present membership about two hundred.
The first Christian Endeavor was organized in 1892, and after awhile was discontinued and reorganized in April, 1895, with the following officers: President, Jennie Greene; vice-president, James G. Woolery; recording secretary, Mell Gorton; corresponding secretary, John Snider; treasurer, Nellie Strubinger. Number of members when organized, active 25, associate. At the election of officers for the term beginning January, 1896, the following officers were chosen: President, Nellie Strubinger; vice-president Cora Lyons; secretary, Jno. Snider; treasurer, Jessie Gill. At the present time there are enrolled, 95 active members; 9 affiliate members and 27 associate members.
A Junior Endeavor was organized in December, 1895, with Mrs. Cole as superintendent and Miss Earnst, assistant superintendent, and elected officers as follows: President, Bertha White; secretary, John Crow; treasurer, Jay Woolery. Organized with about 24 members.
The Congregationalists also had an organization here at one time, but they have long since retired from the list of societies. The last pastor we remember was Rev. Whitmore, who was here about the close of the war. The Congregationalists had a church and had both preaching and Sunday school services regularly. The old church was located opposite the residence of Wm. Brown and stood there until last summer, when it was demolished and the timbers now constitute the frame of Al Harthorn’s barn in Richfield township.
CHRISTIAN BRETHREN CHURCH.
A religious peculiarity of our city is a body of the Christian Brethren church. The church here was organized January 4, 1882. They were formerly known as Christadelphian (brethren of Christ), but they differ widely in faith from churches claiming that denomination.
As their faith is very peculiar and not generally understood, it may not be inappropriate to briefly set forth some items of the doctrine they hold. They believe that the Bible is the inspired word of God; and that it teaches there is but one Lord, one faith and one baptism; without which there is no salvation for any. That this one faith imposes a digging and searching of the apostles and prophets until a knowledge of and faith in all the doctrine of Christ is attained. That this doctrine embraces all the commandments of Christ Jesus; they are therefore very zealous in teaching that there is no salvation apart from a knowledge of and obedience to all the commandments. They refuse to take any form of an oath, because the Master said, “I say unto you, swear not at all * * * but let your communication but yea, yea and nay, nay.” They claim that there is but one scriptural cause for divorce; that the believing husband which has an unbelieving wife may not put her away, but for the one cause, and that a believing wife may not leave her unbelieving husband; but if the unbelieving depart the other is not under bondage in such cases, even when divorce is given, upon the one Bible cause, neither can marry another while they both live, without violating the commandments. They further hold the following to be among the commandments, essential to salvation; filthiness, foolish talking or jesting must not be indulged in; all superfluities of adornment and fashion must be abandoned; every evil thought and feeling must be put away and overcome until nothing shall offend; not even cause to feel angry, revengeful, impatient nor complaining; to be temperate in all things must be needed. They do not expect nor hope to be taken to heaven for their reward, but that it will be brought unto them at the revelation of Jesus Christ, whose coming they look for about the year 1901 or a few years thereafter, claiming to have a plain line of Bible testimony in support of the same. They have other peculiarities of faith and practice which they are ever ready and anxious to communicate to interested and inquiring ones, and give testimony therefor. As a people they are quite familiar with the scriptures and use every opportunity for religious discussion, in a kind earnest way, that they may convince others that their faith is the true and only way of life eternal. While they are thus strenuous and exclusory they believe in freely according to every one their liberty to judge and choose for themselves. They are quiet, law-abiding, industrious, mind-their-own-business kind of people, and are justly among the worth and trusted residents of our city. They are scrupulous to deal justly with all men and to render to no man evil for evil. Their place of public worship is in the west side where they hold regular service 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Sundays and on Wednesday evenings. Sunday school 10 a.m. They invite and welcome all to their meetings. The officers of the society are: Rev. E. McDaniel, pastor; P. D. S. Greene, elder; Rev. M. Hembree, evangelist; E. D. Greene, secretary; Mrs. Rachel Sweet, treasurer; M. O. Greene, A. P. Jackson and Mrs. R. Sweet, charity committee.
In an early day the Universalists had a flourishing society here. It was composed of some of our prominent and influential citizens. In 1858 they undertook the erection of a church and parsonage. The buildings were both built of grout and were remarkable for their uniqueness and stability. An inscription on the church read: “Truth-Church, 1858 – God is Love.” Before the edifice was entirely completed dissensions arose among the members, which with deaths and removals reduced the society in numbers to such an extent that it disbanded. Rev. Worden was the last pastor. The church was bought by C. & S. Davis and White & Bros. and converted into a public hall, while the parsonage became a private residence. Both buildings are still standing, although the old church can only be classed as a land-mark. It has outlived its usefulness. The parsonage is still in a fair state of preservation and is occupied as a dwelling. It now belongs to Sol. Shewe.
A LARGE AND WELL-MANAGED EDUCATIONAL ADJUNCT.
The Barry public library and reading room has long been recognized by our citizens as a valuable institution. It is located in the second story of the Long building on Bainbridge street. Mrs. Margaret Newbauer is the librarian in charge and the work is conducted on business principles. In the catalogue of books and publications are to be found noted works in science, literature, art and fiction, and the magazines of the day, all of which are at the disposal of our citizens. The library is open Thursdays from 3 p.m. to 5:30 p.m., Saturdays from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. and Sundays from 3 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
A movement was started early in January, 1876, to establish a public library and reading room in Barry. A preliminary meeting was held, at which it was proposed to “secure a good room, which shall be well lighted and warmed from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. each evening, where the leading dailies should be kept on file, together with the best monthly publications; also to purchase as many standard works as the funds would justify.” At this meeting, Mr. B. D. Brown and Mr. M. Blair each promised $100 to aid the enterprise, and a committee consisting of E. W. Baker, E. A. Crandall, Alex White, H. M. Rowand, George Mayes, Mrs. Frike, Mrs. Chamberlain and Mrs. Burnham were appointed to solicit further subscriptions. They were successful in their efforts and in the latter part of February in the same year, there were appointed as commissioners to organize the Barry Public Library and Reading Room, the following persons: B. D. Brown, M. Blair, Eugene Smith, E. A. Crandall, Alex White, W. H. Crow and T. I. Coultas. Notices were issued to the stockholders and the following week an organization was perfected under a certificate of incorporation from the secretary of state. The capital stock was placed at $1,500. Following were the first board of directors: E. R. Burnham, Calvin Davis, N. P. Hart, E. Whittleton, Mrs. L. F. Long, who chose as officers for the year, B. D. Brown, president; E. A. Crandall, vice pres.; Alex White, treas., E. W. Baker, sec’y.
From that date until 1881 the library was conducted as a corporation, but the few citizens on whom the expense of conducting it fell began to feel it quite a burden and by vote of the stockholders the property was turned over to the city March 10, 1884, to be supported by public taxation. This movement proved a wise one and the library was greatly strengthened by it. Every taxpayer contributes his proportion of the expenses and every resident of the city has free access to the books and periodicals. The shelves contain at the present time 3,024 volumes of miscellaneous works, and during the past year there were in circulation 2, 070 volumes. The library is in charge of Mrs. Margaret Newbaner, librarian, who fills the office to the satisfaction of all concerned.
Mr. and Mrs. B. D. Brown were two of the earnest advocates of the cause and they contributed liberally to its support. It was always the intention of Mrs. Brown to endow the library with a liberal amount and provide it with a home, but he was unexpectedly carried away without leaving a will. His widow, after coming into possession of the estate, made a will and bequeathed a large part of the property to be disposed of for the benefit of the library. Her desire was that a fine building be erected for the purpose and the rest of the money be placed on interest to meet the current expenses. Both of her valuable farms are to be sold and the revenue thus derived go to the fund, and any funds that may be left after paying the other bequests are also to be added. The estate is in the hands of the executor, E. A. Crandall, bus is not be sold until the expiration of five years from Mrs. Brown’s death, which occurred something over a year ago.
The credit of securing the library belongs more to E. W. Baker than to most any other citizen. He was very enthusiastic over the enterprise and devoted much of his time and talents to it, personally making a trip to the markets to review the books suggested for selection. In fact Mr. Baker selected most of the books originally bought.
The Board of directors now in charge is: E. R. Burnham, president; Mrs. L. F. Long, Mrs. L. Davis, Mrs. Helen B. Smith, Miss Cora Lyons, W. I. Klein, G. L. Booth, H. M. Hollembeak and C. H. Ware.
EXCHANGE BANK OF BARRY.
The Exchange Bank of Barry is operated under the firm name of Smith, Brown & Co. It is a private banking house in which the stockholders are individually liable to the extent of their worth. The bank was organized in 1872. In 1884 it was reorganized and the capital increased. The stockholders are Eugene Smith, M. G. Patterson, E. A. Crandall, M. Strubinger, W. T. Mitchell, A. C. Hollembeak, Gus W. White and Mrs. Dr. J. G. McKinney. Eugene Smith is the financial head of the institution and has full management of it. He has as assistants in the clerical work Alice Terry and Thos. W. Perry. The Exchange Bank has always been sound and strong. It is conducted judiciously and on safe principles. Depositors have full confidence in it and are glad to place their means in such good hands. The capital stock of the bank is $25, 000.
Eugene Smith and his residence in Barry
Eugene Smith, manager of the bank, is a son of Nathaniel Smith, and was born near Barry in 1839. He attended the public schools of his day, and when 16 years of age became a clerk in the store of J. B. Chamberlin at Rockport. He was there only a short time and took a position with M. Blair & Co., general merchants of this place, and their successors C. & S. Davis. The necessity of a bank was felt and in 1872, C. & S. Davis, L. Angle and Eugene Smith founded the Exchange Bank, under the name of C. & S. Davis and Angle. Mr. Smith was selected as the manager and he was ever since been at the head of the institution.
He is also engaged in other business enterprises. In 1876 he became associated with E. A> Crandall in the grocery trade, which business has of late years been conducted under the firm name of Crandall, Smith & Co. He was a member of the firm of Crandall, Smith & Patterson, grain dealers and in 1884 was one of the organizers of the Barry milling company. He is yet treasurer of that company. Mr. Smith also has large landed interests bout Barry and in Texas. His years in the community have been those of usefulness and activity, and he sands high in public estimation, both as a citizen and a financier. His affluence is a just reward of a well-spent life.
Mr. Smith was married to Helen Bonnell of Griggsville in 1879, and to them were born one son, Stanley. They have a lovely residence in the outskirts of our city and are surrounded with all the comforts of a happy home.
BARRY WEEKLY ADAGE.
PUBLISHED FOR TWENTY-FIVE YEARS WITHOUT MISSING AN ISSUE.
The newspaper history of Barry dates back into the early days. The first attempt to establish an office was made by George W. Smith, who started the Barry Enterprise, but soon removed elsewhere. The next paper was the Weekly Dispatch, published by Shaffner & Goldsmith, and still later the Barry Observer, published by L. L. Burke, which suspended in less than a year. The Unicorn Greenback was started by Simeon Fitch in 1877, and it survived ten years. The Sun, a democratic paper, only lived three months. It was started in 1889 by W. T. Larkin, and later in the same year G. G. Curnutt started the Press. It lived only a short time also. Lately a paper called the Breeze was started by W. L. Nichols.
The WEEKLY ADAGE was established in 1871, and the first issue of the paper bears date November 4, 1871. It was published under the ownership of M. H. Cobb and J. H. Cobb, editor, both of whom came here from New York state. Mr. Cobb was a spicy writer and although for several years he was handicapped by limited means and small patronage the paper steadily gained in influence until a good business was established. In 1878 the office was sold to S. E. Colegrave of Corry, Pa., but in less than a year he retired from the field. J. H. Cobb had returned to Barry in the meantime, and he and W. W. Watson formed a partnership and bought part of the outfit of the ADAGE and the good will of the office. Mr. Cobb again left the paper in 1880, and returned to New York, when Mr. Watson became the owner. Since that date the paper has been under his management.
In 1883 the ADAGE was enlarged from a six-column folio to double that size, and the hand press that was used to print with has long since given way to a cylinder press capable of printing from 1, 500 to 1,700 impressions an hour, with a two horse steam engine as the motive power. In connection with the newspaper office is one of the best job offices in the county.
THE ADAGE has always been published as an independent journal. The publisher has decided views of his own on political questions, but has never attempted to force them on his readers, and to this fact as much as any other he attributes the success of the paper. Local and county news is made a special feature.
In the great fire of 1894 the ADAGE office was almost totally destroyed, but by the generosity of the publishers of the Pike County Democrat and Griggsville Press, the paper was for three issues published in those offices without missing a single number and nearly on time every week. A new outfit was purchased and in less than two months after the fire THE ADAGE was published again from its own office building.
The office force consists of the publisher and T. H. Wakefield and Milford Widby printers. Mr. J. F. Wynchester also assisted in getting out this edition.
William W. Watson is a product of Barry and has never lived outside her borders. He is the youngest son of Jon and Agness Watson, early residents of this place, both of whom have passed away, the father in 1861 (wrong, he died in 1862) and the mother last August. The date of his birth is Feb. 16, 1857. On Dec. 28, 1881, he was married to Margaret A. Bonnell at Griggsville, Ill. They have one son, Bret, aged 12 years. Mr. Watson has never aspired to political office, but did serve as a member of the city council and on the school board, and in 1888 went as alternate from the 12th Illinois district to the Republican National convention. He belongs to several secret orders, is Master of the local Masonic lodge, is a Knight Templar, and holds the office of Grand Steward of the Masonic Grand Lodge of Illinois. He is known to the public as publisher of the Barry Weekly Adage, and has a wide acquaintance in the county.
William Walcott Watson and his residence
ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT.
Like all progressive towns, Barry supports an electric lighting system. It was in 1893 that the first real movement was made to secure it, although there had been some agitation of the subject previous to that. When the council decided to investigate the matter with a view to encouraging the organization of a company, the representatives of several manufacturers or dealers in electrical machinery were sent here. The council finally accepted the proposition of E. B. Hillman & Co., of Peoria. A franchise to run fifteen years was granted this firm, and a contract entered into for five years for lighting the streets. The contract called of sixty incandescent lights of fifty candle power to be placed at street intersections, for which the city was to pay $1350 per year. Since then to aid the city in its financial crisis, the price was reduced somewhat. The plant was established in the fall of 1893. A brick power house was built and a fine equipment of dynamo, engine, etc., was secured. From the very start the system has been a success. Barry is admitted to be one of the best lighted towns in the state, of those that use the incandescent system.
The company also established a commercial circuit, and recently added a residence circuit to the system. Nearly all the stores and quite a number of the residences are supplied with the light.
Messrs. Hillman & Co., owners of the plant, have become very popular with their patrons. They conduct the business on a broad and liberal plan and make every effort to please the public. The electrician and engineer in charge of their plant is Charles Armstrong, a capable and obliging gentleman, who came here in 1894. Mr. Armstrong has been in the business quite a long time; is well calculated to deal with the public. He is a native of Menard county, Ill., and was born in 1863. In 1884 he was married to Emma P. Owen.
BARRY’S OLDEST CITIZEN.
The oldest person living within the corporate limits of Barry is Mrs. Jane Booth. Her maiden name was Howard. She was born in Orangeville, Penn., April 27, 1800. In the year 1828 she was married to Andrew Booth. The couple came to Barry in 1845. Of this union there were eight children born, six of whom are living. Mrs. Booth is also godmother to many who hold her in the highest esteem. She joined the M. E. church when a girl. Up to five years ago, when she had an attack of la grippe, she had enjoyed good health, but has since been feeble. A peculiar characteristic of her life was that for seventy-five years she never drank water. When she was 16 years of age, and while doing washing she became thirsty and went to the spring to get a drink. The draught of water made her very sick, and from that time until her recent sickness she always drank cold tea, coffee or milk to quench her thirst. In all the long years of her life Mrs. Booth has confined her efforts to her home and family. She has done well her part.
HAS RESIDED HERE THE LONGEST.
As near as can be ascertained, Thos. McIntire is entitled to the credit of having resided in Barry longer than any other citizen. He came to Pike county in 1824, and the next year returned to Indiana. In 1827 he again reached this county and has lived in it ever since. His residence in Barry dates from July, 1836. Mr. McIntire was born at Lacona, Ind. In 1816, and in 1836 was married to Hannah M. Mayes. They were the parents of nine children. Mr. McIntire is a carpenter and joiner and worked at his trade until the past few years, when infirmities caused him to retire. He has always been a useful citizen.
OLDEST PERSON BORN IN BARRY
To Matthew W. McIntire belongs the honor of being the oldest person living who was born in Barry. The date of his birth is Aug. 18, 1837. Mr. McIntire is the oldest son of Thomas McIntire who is a native of Harrison county, Ind., and came to Pike county first in 1824 and later again in 1827, locating at Barry in July, 1836. He was married April 3, 1859, to Mahala A. Askew, daughter of Levi Askew, and to them were born seven children. Mr. McIntire was a soldier in the civil war, a member of the 99th Ill. volunteers, and served his country with true patriotism and fidelity. He is a carpenter by trade, a fine workman, and is an exemplary citizen.
The public post office is something we are all interested in, and is probably the most important branch of business in our city. A well regulated and efficient postal service means manifold blessing to the community. The Barry postoffice is not a new venture. We have not learned the exact date of its establishment, but it was about the year 1839. The first postoffice was kept in the old Ross property. Stephen R. Gray held the title of postmaster, but his brother, Thos. T. Gray informs us he was the deputy and had full charge of the office. Mail matters were conducted in a different way then from the present day. A bill was sent with each letter and a record kept of the transaction. There was also a great deal of other work connected with the office that is not done at all now. As the business of the department increased the duties of the postmaster were simplified until the United States system is now the best in the world.
Mr. Gray held the office about 10 years at a salary of probably $25 a year. He removed to Pittsfield about the year 1850, and Lewis Angle was appointed to succeed him as postmaster. Then came in succession the following postmasters: Jon Watson L. N. Ferris, Nathaniel Smith, A. C. Hollembeak, Wm. Claud, John T. Carter, James Holmes, Mary Holmes, A. C. Hollembeak, G. W. Chrysup, W. F. White, Geo. L. Booth and N. R. Davis.
In pioneer day carrying the mail was attended with hardship and danger. It was done principally on horseback. Dan Gray and Bill Smith and others had this work in charge for several years. Afterward mail routes were established through the country. The main route was from Naples to Hannibal. Barry was the half way place end of the two divisions. Trav. Edwards and Mrs. Duffield had the contract on this route from about 1854 to 1862. They got $3200 a year for carrying the mails, and made what they could carrying passengers. The stages were of the large Concord pattern and were drawn by four horses. Nick Thornton, Wes Phillips and John and Jim Calvert were drivers on these stages, and later Thue Rowand, Wm. Green, Rall Green and Dave Kidwell were given the routes. The schedule time, rain or shine, was three hours between Hannibal and Barry, and the same between Barry and Griggsville. After a while the routes were changed. They then were from Griggsville to Barry, and from Barry to Payson, where they connected with another line to Quincy. These routes were controlled by Wro? Smith, who had as drivers Bill Duffield, Mack Brown, John Spicer and others.
After the railroad was built staging was done away with, but a mail carrier has nevertheless been necessary. Dan Lewton delivered it the first year, and wince that time, or for about 28 years, Theo. Doran has had the contract. In all that time he has missed very few trips between the postoffice and depot.
Average number of letters and cards mailed per day, 326; average per year, 118,990. Number of pieces other than first-class, 12,410. Total pieces dispatched, 131,400. Number of pieces received: First-class, 164,615; number of pieces other than first-class, 110,595; total received, 275,210; total pieces handled each year, 406,610. Amount received from sale of stamps, postal cards, envelopes, etc., $2,381.50; from box rent, $220.85; from money orders, $28,069.68; total received, $30.672.03. Amount paid out on money orders, $6,729.12. Total yearly business, $37,401.15.
The office is now in charge of Nathaniel R. Davis, postmaster and Charles Pence, deputy. Mr. Davis received his commission from President Cleveland and it is dated Jan. 23, 1896. His salary is $1200 per year. He is conducting the office in a business-like manner and is meeting with the approbation of the patrons.
OTHER TRADESMEN AND CRAFTSMEN
CARPENTERS. – L. H. Brown, B. T. Gray, Geo. W. Clark, M. W. McIntire. A. J. Starks, H. D. Kellum, A. L. Jones. J. W. Mitchell, S. B. Day, John early, W. H. Hall, Eb Yearly, G. W. Todd and Ed Conway.
PAINTERS AND PAPER HANGERS – O. R. Emerson. Wm. Marion, Alfred Pape, J. W. McConnell. Harry Grubb. Otto Grubb, J. W. Hill, Dan Davis, J. H. Hall, Jr., Frank Gordon.
COOPERS – J. C. Frike. Joe Burkey, C. C. Briggs, Ab Booth, Wm. Booth, Sam Bradney, J. Casterline, Geo. Casterline. Nat Smith. Ed Smith. Chas. Smith. John Tillman. W. Gorman.
BLACKSMITHS – F. M. Dabney, Cass. Farmer, Jap Dudley, Chas. Sederwasll.
TINNERS – C. R. Hollembeak, Thos. O’Brien, Vick White.
HARNESS MAKERS – J. W. Hudson, Ed. Lane, John Penny, Herman Pilgrim, Harry Ware.
CIGAR MAKERS – John Powell, Dan Dudley, Lorry Underwood, Grant Dudley.
PLASTERERS AND BRICKLAYERS – J. B. Allen, Ed Churchill, John Booth, Thomas Cooper, Marion Shahan, Ol Crum.
STONE MASONS – S. C. Brown, Alex Cochran, Geo. McDaniel.
WHEEL WRIGHT – Alex Early.
TEAMSTERS – J. H. Brown, L. Likes, F. Hays, J. Vanneman, B. Bradshaw, Henry Bowers.
SOMETHING ABOUT THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF OUR CITY AND THEIR ADVANTAGES
The Barry high school has done a great work for education in this community. Its graduates are holding positions of trust and honor. Of the nine teachers employed in the Barry public schools, seven of them were educated in our high school. Many of its graduates are found teaching in different parts of the country. Four of the members of last year’s class have taught successfully during the present year.
A three years course of study is given preparing the student for entering college, for teaching, or for business. A prominent feature of the course is the attention given to the study of English, mathematics and science. The advantages for teaching these are good. There is a fair school library and access is had to the public library, also to several good private libraries. With these advantages students can find almost any information that may be gained from books. There is a good laboratory fitted up and supplied with physical and chemical apparatus.
The high school does not deny its benefits to those outside of the district, but by paying a small tuition they are admitted to its privileges. The non-resident attendance of the high school is about 25 per cent of the number enrolled. These young people come from the surrounding country.
Last year this school was put on the accredited list of the Wesleyan University, Bloomington, and it has recently been accredited to the University of Illinois. Thus it articulates with these universities and credit is given by them for work done by our high school.
The term of school usually begins the first Monday in September and last eight months, and lasts eight months, with a vacation and holiday time of one or two weeks.
Corps of teachers: F. C. Dever, superintendent; Emily Odiorne, high school; Frances Allen, grammar room; Jessie Horner, No. 6; Maud ATriplett, No. 5; Ivah Hudson, 2nd intermediate; Edith Robb, first intermediate; Rena Wike, second primary; Alice Digby, first primary. The janitor is John Iterman.
Superintendent F. C. Dever
The first school taught in Barry was by Deacon Mason. It was held in the Methodist church. Then a little frame school house was built near where Wm. Bright’s residence now stands, and later still the two frame building known now as the Edon House, was built for a school house. Mr. Bunce, Jon Shastid and other pioneer educators taught in those days, and in the writer’s time the educators at the head of the school have been, Profs. Bruce, Doty, Pliney Harris, J. N. Dewell, J. W. Dewell, J/ P. Chowning, C. I. Swan, J. F. Clark, J. W. Coultas, W. R. Hatfield, S. F. Hall, J. L. Hartwell, L. R. Chapin, H. C. McCarrel and F. C. Dever.
THE SCHOOL BUILDING
Public School Building, 1874
The present Public School building, an illustration of which is given, was built in 1874. It is located in the northwest part of town on an eminence purchased of J. B. Allen, and presents a commanding appearance. The site is a most beautiful one. The building is of rectangular shape, two stories high above the basement and is built of brick with a metal roof. There are four school rooms and a hall way in the lower story and three school rooms, two recitation rooms and a hall room in the second story, providing ample accommodation for the pupils in attendance. The original cost of the structures, furniture and grounds was $16,000. W. T. Mitchell of Barry was the contractor, and the building was erected entirely by home mechanics. It was dedicated Nov. 13, 1874. Mr. M. Blair presided at the meeting and the exercises consisted of speeches by Revs. W. H. Crow, J. G. Bonnell and Wm. Green, Profs. Swan and Hite, vocal music and a social. A vast crowd was present and the meeting was one of especial interest.
School convened in the new building for the first time Monday, Nov. 23, 1874, with the following corps of teachers: Superintendent, C. I. Swan; assistant in high school, R. M. Hitch; grammar room, G. W. Smith; second intermediate, Emma Bentley; first intermediate, Mrs. Sue Frederick as substitute for Helen Bonnell, who was the regular teacher, but was ill; second primary, Melissa Hewitt; first primary, Fannie Chandler. The enrollment of pupils was 316. The directors at that time were Samuel Davis, Alex White and N. P. Hart.
The board of education at this time consists of E. A. Crandall, president, and G. W. Chrysup, E. C. Hake, N. R. Davis, W. W. Watson, M. T. Stauffer and W. B. Powell. N. R. Davis has been secretary of the board. Meetings are held once a month or oftener to attend to the business of the district.
Following is a list of the graduates since the high school was established.
1880 – Frances McTucker, Jennie Mitchell, Lizzie Furniss. 1881 – None 1882 – Clara F. Gard, Jennie M. Bull, John T. Nance 1883 – Anna McMahon 1884 – Mamie Watson, Fannie Allen, Annie Gooding, Fannie Woodruff. 1885 – None 1886 – Alice Digby, Hettie Evans, Mary Fith. 1887 – Nellie Conboy, Robert Palmer 1888 – Anna Wike, Grace Bill, Ora Stearns 1889 – Eva Mitchell, Lena Day, Ida Mitchell, Cora Lyons, John Palmer 1890 – Maude Burke, Helen Digby, Mame Hubbard, Mayme Sherer, Renna Wike, Mattie Lane, Lillie Lyons, Lenore Davis, Alice Terry, Bessie Stearns, Arthur Digby. 1891 – Lena Hancock, Mary Evans, Fannie Robb, Maggie Carroll, Bessie Phenneger, Alfred Smith, George McLean. 1892 – Lillie Dewell, Daisy Brown, Carrie Campbell, Angie Lyons, Edith Robb, Nora Doran, Della Graybael, Hattie Sykes, Fret Strubinger, Walter Ferris 1893 – Marcia Clingingsmith, Bertha Burbridge, Nellie Webber, May Davis, Belle Lounsburry, Ivah Hudson, Emma Gard, Mae Hall, Henry Day, Frank Terry 1894 – Alice K. Smith, Julia McIntire, Lillie Pence, Gertrude Gordon, Dow Burdick. 1895 – Ednah L. Burnham, Maud I. Triplett, Maud J. Davis, Claudia B. Richart, Bennie F. Churchill, De M. Doran 1896 – Nettie Shewe, Erma Richart, Dora Shewe, S. V. Grammer, Earl Watson, Owen Graff.
MAJ. E. A. CRANDALL.
A distinguished resident of Barry is Maj. E. A. Crandall, who was born in Renssalaer county, N.Y. in 1836. He came to this county with his parents – Joshua and Fannie Crandall 0 in 1839. In 1854 in company with Lewis Angle he engaged in the mercantile trade and port packing, which was successfully conducted until 1858, when the firm dissolved. Mr. Crandall then took up the study of law in Washington City and entered Columbia College, but the following year re-entered business with Mr. Angle. In 1862 he answered his country’s call, and raised Co. D. 99th Illinois infantry, was appointed major afterwards, and served through all the battles his regiment participated in. After the war he took an interest in the woolen mills, and later entered the grocery trade with J. J. Smith. After this the firm of Crandall, Smith & Co. was organized, of which he is the senior member. Mr. Crandall is also a stockholder in the Exchange Bank and in the Barry milling company. He was a delegate from this district to the National republican convention in 1892, and has served Barry as mayor and in other capacities. He is now president of the school board.
Residence of E. A. Crandall
G. W. CHRYSUP
George W. Chrysup, member of the school board, is a prominent citizen and public official. He is the only child of Wm. L. and Jane Chrysup, and was born at Florence, Pike county, Ill. Feb. 1, 1845. His parents lost their lives in a steamboat explosion near Helena, Ark. April 24, 1857, while on a return voyage from California. Thus rendered parentless, he went to reside with his grandfather, Benjamin Barney. At the breaking out of the war in 1861 he enlisted in the 10th Illinois infantry, serving three months, then re-enlisting in Co. B., 28th Illinois infantry as corporal. He was soon after promoted to captain, serving in that capacity until the close of the war. Upon his return to the county he engaged in farming, in this township. In 1867 he was married to Kate Harvey. Four children came to them, two of whom are living. Mr. Chrysup went into the hardware business in 1867, and in 1868 received the appointment of postmaster of Barry, which office he held for two terms. He has been honored with numerous local offices, and is now serving with much credit his second term as justice of the peace of this township. He is also notary public and real estate agent.
Residence of G. W. Chrysup
M. T. STAUFFER
Marion T. Staufffer, member school board, is a young man of excellent business qualifications who turns to good account all his investments. He is the son of Christopher Stauffer, one of the wealthiest farmers in Beverly township, and was born there Sept. 22d, 1858. In 1887 he was married to Nannie L. Amrine, also of Beverly. They have one child. Mr. Stauffer followed farming and stock-raising successfully until 1893, when on account of ill health he retired and located in Barry. Since his residence here he has been in the stock business. He is considered quite wealthy.
N. R. DAVIS
Nathaniel R. Davis, is one of Barry’s favored sons, and was born here Feb. 25, 1856. He claimed Lizzie Jennings as a bride, Sept. 28, 1877. They have two children. Mr. Davis began his career as clerk for C. & S. Davis in 1872. In 1887 he and Geo. Myers went into the grocery business and were in the trade two years. At the opening of Oklahoma territory he caught the fever and with his family went to that country, where they remained some time. He formed a partnership with J. H. Wike in the hardware business in 1895. Last February (22d) he was commissioned postmaster of Barry, a position he is filling very acceptably. He is also a member of the school board.
E. C. HAKE.
Ernest C. Hake, member school board, is a shoemaker by trade. He was born in Germany, Dec. 7, 1852. He was married Sept. 30, 1877 to Mary S. Gray. They have two children. Mr. Hake went into business for himself in 1877 to Mary S. Gray. They have two children. Mr. Hake went into business for himself in 1877 and has made a success of it. He is a fine workman and commands a good run of custom. Mr. Hake is district deputy of Odd Fellows and one of the best informed members in the county in the secret work of the order.
W. B. POWELL.
Wm. B. Powell is another member of the school board. His business is that of cigar manufacturer. In 1881 the firm of Ellers & Powell started a factory here and continued in business until 1893, when Mr. Ellers retired. Since then the business has been conducted by Mr. Powell. He employs ten hands. Last year he manufactured and sold over a quarter million cigars, and the trade is increasing. Mr. Powell was born in Hannibal, Mo., August 12, 1861, and was married to Carrie E. Wagy, of Plainville, Dec. 22, 1886. He is an energetic business man and enjoys life as he goes along.
PROF. F. C. DEVER.
Prof. F. C. Dever, principal of the Barry public schools, is a native of Clark county, Ill., where he was born in 1860. He was married in ’92 to Eva Worley, and they have one child. The early years of his life were spent on the farm. He graduated from the high school at Camargo, Ill.; attended Central Normal College at Dauville, Ind., and graduated from Lee’s academy at Loxa, Ill. He taught country schools for a few years and in ’82 went into the newspaper business in Kansas. He was a teacher in the Douglas county, Ill., public schools from 1883 to ’88, principal of the Hinesboro, Ill., public schools two years, superintendent of the Anna, Ill., public schools four years and has been superintendent of the Barry schools two years. Prof. Dever is an earnest and persistent worker, a good educator and a pleasant gentleman.
A. C. HOLLEMBEAK.
A write-up of Barry would be incomplete without a personal sketch of Mr. A. C. Hollembeak, and long connection with our public schools entitles him to a space on this page. He is probably the most widely known man in Barry. Few there are who have not heard of his political discussions or listened to them. A strong and ardent Republican, he is ever ready to defend his party – in season and out of season. He is a ready debater and one of the best posted politicians in the county. Mr. Hollembeak came to Barry in 1859. He is a native of Genesee county, New York, where he was born in 1829. In 1845 he was married to Mary J. Cram. He was appointed postmaster of Barry in 1861 and held the office for several years. In company with his son, C. R. Hollembeak, he entered the hardware trade and built the brick building on the corner of Mortimer and Bainbridge streets, which they occupied so long. Mr. Hollembeak has done much for Barry in the way of public improvements, having built two-story brick store buildings, brick ware room and several dwellings, and an opera house, which was destroyed by the fire of ’94. Mr. Hollembeak is now in poor health, but it is hoped he will soon become himself again. Everyone knows him as “Uncle Abe,” and he commands the respect and esteem of all whether they agree with his opinions or not.
The railroad facilities of Barry are first-class. We have only one road but it is a large and powerful corporation and gives an excellent train service. The Wabash, as now known, has been operated under several names from time to time. It is the offspring of the first line of road projected in Illinois, then known as the Northern Cross railroad, extending from Danville to Quincy. This was chartered in 1837, and upon it the first locomotive was placed in the winter of 1838-39, running from Meredosia, on the Illinois River, to Jacksonville. In 1842 the road was completed from Jacksonville to Springfield, and three trips were made per week. The track was of the old flat rail style, which was made by nailing thin strips of iron on two parallel lines of timbers placed at the proper distance apart, and running lengthways of the road. The engine as well as the road soon became so impaired that the former had to be abandoned, and mules substituted as the motor power. However, such locomotion was destined to be of short duration, for the state soon after sold the entire road for a nominal sum and thus for a short tie was suspended one of the first railroad enterprises in Illinois. But in the west a new era – one of prodigious industrial activity and far-reaching results in the practical arts – was dawning, and within thirty years of the temporary failure of the road mentioned, Illinois has outstripped all others in gigantic internal improvements, and at present has more miles of railroad than any other state in the Union.
The Great Western, whose name has been successively changed to Toledo, Wabash & Western, Wabash and Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific, and Wabash Railroad, and The Wabash, the last of which it still bears, was an extension of the Northern Cross Railroad, above mentioned, and traverses some of the finest portion of Illinois, Indiana and Ohio. It soon became the popular highway of travel and traffic between the East and the West.
In looking over the map of the Wabash Railroad it will be seen that the line extends through the most fertile and wealthy portions of the center of the United States, having termini at more large cities than any other western road. Its home offices are established in commodious quarters in St. Louis. The management of the Wabash is fully abreast of the times. The road is progressive in every respect.
The Hannibal and Naples branch of the Wabash was built in 1869, and Barry station was opened for business. Thos. T. Gray was the first agent and he held the office five years. Eli Wolfsburg followed him and then came in succession: M. G. Patterson, Web Greene, G. L. Hubbard, H. Merrick, J. W. Evans and the present agent, J. J. Cox. The first depot was a poor building, and it was destroyed by fire. An office was located in the section house, and later the neat depot we now have was built.
Barry is one of the most important stations on this branch. The shipments forwarded last year were as follows: Mill produce, 334 car loads of 8,490,500 pounds; hay, 36 car loads of 720,000 pounds; hogs, 63 car loads of 1, 061,000 pounds; cattle, 37 car loads of 914,000 pounds; apples and meat, 101 car loads of 2,472,000 pounds; and miscellaneous freight, 57 car loads of 1,140,000 pounds. The total receipts from freight were: $65,970.37; from passenger traffic $15,100.74. The shipments received were: Coal, 158 car loads; wheat, 67 car loads; lumber, 47 car loads; oil, 27 car loads; machinery, 28 car loads; merchandise, 264 car loads; staves, 26 car loads.
S. T. DONOHOE
Mr. Donohoe is the gentleman who does the brain work for the Pike County Republican, of which he is publisher and editor. He is young in years, but a combination of natural genius and education especially fits him for the newspaper business. He is a ready and versatile writer, and is making the Republican a paper that commands itself to the republicans of the county.
SOME FACTS ABOUT THESE ORGANIZATIONS AND WHAT THEY ARE DOING
Barry is what is known as a society town. It not only has the church societies, but various secret organizations. They grow and flourish here, and to recount the good they have accomplished would be an impossibility. Almost before the town was built there were societies organized in the sparsely settled neighborhood. In pioneer days the Washingtonians, Sons of Temperance and other societies lived and flourished, but in later years died away to be succeeded by other and more substantial organizations. They all had their benefits and none of them lived for naught.
MASONIC BARRY LODGE, NO. 34
The oldest society in our city to-day is Barry lodge, No. 24 A. F. & A. M. This lodge has passed the half century mark of its existence and is to-day larger and stronger than ever before. As long ago as 1845 a few members of the fraternity who had gathered about this place banded themselves together and started a lodge. The charter members were Michael Gard, W. M.; Joseph Jackson, S. W.; Geo. Wike, J. W.; Wesley J. Alkire, Treas.; Elisha Hurt, Sec’y; Ely Longnecker, S. D.; Josiah Alkire, J. D.; Josiah Lippincott, Steward and Tyler; Bridge Whitten and Wm. Fugate, Master Masons. None of them are now living. August 9, 1845 the lodge was organized under dispensation by Harrison Dills of Quincy and October 8, 1845, they received the charter for Barry Lodge No. 34. Meetings were held at private residences until 1849 when they rented a hall. In 1863 the corner now owned by the lodge was bought and a two story brick building erected on the site. This building was remodeled and a third story added. It was destroyed in the great fire of 1894. Then came the fine new three-story structure that ornaments our town. It was built by W. T. Mitchell, at a cost of over $7,000. The building was dedicated with imposing ceremonies last October and the golden jubilee of the society was celebrated at the same time. Grand Master Owen Scott, Judge Grimes and other dignitaries of the fraternity were present and took part in the exercises. The lodge membership now exceeds one hundred.
Following is a list of officers for this year: W. W. Watson, W. M.; H. M. Hollembeak, S. W.; H. L. Langerhans, J. W.; B. H. Rowand, Sec’y; G. M. Blair, Treas.; C. H. Hurt, Marshal; Thos. Shepherd, Chap.; G. L. Booth, S. D.; Thos. W. Perry, J. D.; M. Lane and O. K. Garrett, Stewards; R. St. John Tyler.
BARRY CHAPTER NO. 88
Royal Arch Masonry in Barry is on the high tide of favor. The past year has been a great one for it. More work was done and the receipts were larger than for years. Barry chapter, No. 88, has reached the hundred mark of numbers, and for thorough working officers it is at the front. It was thirty years old the 6th of last August. They meet Monday nights on or before the full moon each month, at Masonic hall. The officers are: E. A. Crandall, H. P.; G. H. Wike, K; O. K. Garrett, S.; C. M. Holmes, Sec’y; L. F. Bright, Treas.; T. A. Retallic, P. S.; H. M. Hollembeak, C. H.; H. Langerhans, R. A. C.; C. H. Ware, 1st V.; A. J. Chamberlin, 2d V.; P. P. Johnson, 3rd V.; J. G. McKinney, chaplain; G. M. Blair and W. W. Watson, stewards; R. St. John, Tyler.
ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR.
This is an important branch of Masonry, although of modern origin. It is the “ladies lodge.” The members may be of either sex, but generally the ladies are in charge of affairs. Pike chapter, No. 20 is a strong lodge, having a membership of ninety-seven. Great interest is taken in its meetings, which insures lively social gatherings whenever the society convenes. The officers are also proficient in the work. Meetings occur on Tuesday evenings on or before the full moon in each month. They are held in Masonic hall.
Mrs. Preshie Johnson, Worthy Matron; N. R. Davis, Worthy Patron; Bessie Phennegar, Associate Matron; Rena Wike, Conductress; Nellie Strubinger, Associate Conductress; Julia McIntire, Secretary; Sylvania Bright, Treasurer; Alice Digby, Adah; Mrs. Effie Hart, Ruth; Mrs. Estella O’Brien, Esther; Mrs. Carrie Powell, Martha; Mrs. Nancy Blair, Electra; Mrs. Rosa George, Warden; R. St. John, Sentinel; Thos. Shepherd, Chaplain; Anna Wike, Marshal; Jennie Williams, Organist.
Barry Council, No. 22, R. and S. Masters, is an old organization. It is another branch of Masonry, but it is not meeting regularly.
MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERICA.
A large and highly prosperous society of our city is Protection Camp, No. 5400. Although comparatively young in years, its growth has been phenomenal. It is a secret society, founded in 1883, to afford practical relief to the living and substantial aid to the devisees of the dead. Persons seeking membership must be of good physical health, over 18 and under 45 years of age. It has a pleasing ritual and everything connected with the work is of an elevating character. The cost of insurance in this society is nominal. The local camp was organized March 29, 1888, with thirty charter members. W. Lyons was the first venerable consul; W. S. Calhoun, worthy advisor; G. W. Chrysup, banker; C. H. Ware, clerk; W. H. Johnson, ex-physician; C. M. Holmes, sentinel; J. H. Riffle, watchman; and Eugene Smith, B. McConnell, E. R. Burnham, managers. The membership is now 107 and constantly increasing. So far there has been only four deaths in the camp. The death losses amounted to $5,000, which was promptly paid to the widows.
Present officers are: J. I. Parker, V. C.; J. Wassell, W. A.; J. W. Hudson, banker; E. R. Burnham, clerk’ James Sparrow, escort; Chas. Cederwall, watchman; David Auld, sentinel; R. H. Main, examining physician.
This summer the Barry Camp will have the pleasure of entertaining her sister camps at the county log rolling, which it is expected will be the largest gathering a society ever held here.
ANTI-HORSE THIEF SOCIETY
This society came into existence a few years ago when thieving and depredations were frequent. Its name is rather misleading as the object of the order is not only to check horse stealing, but theft of every kind. The name will probably be changed. As a result of its work, crime has been checked in our state and security against robbery in a measure restored. The Barry society has Wm. Myers as its president and H. L. Hadsell as secretary. It was organized about seven or eight years ago. Meetings are not necessary and are not often held. Our city has the honor of furnishing the state vice-president of the society in the person of Mr. J. M. Doran, who has been an active and efficient member of the order.
ODD FELLOWS BARRY LODGE, NO. 336
It was in 1866 that the great benevolent institution known as the Independent Order of Odd Fellows first made its beneficent influence felt in our community. In that year, on the 9th of October, Barry lodge, No. 336, was organized. Deputy Grand Master J. L, Underwood was the instituting officer. The chapter members and first officers were: Alex White, N. G.; R. B. Higgins, V. G.; Alex Early, sec’y; J. B. Kiefer, treas., and E. M. Corwin, W. B. Clandy and Joseph Rosenburg. The lodge had a rapid growth and it soon took a leading position among the societies of our place. What good has come through its influences is more than can ever be estimated. Its charitable work and benevolence has been far-reaching and extensive, yet in addition to the large amounts expended for those purposes they have by wise management saved a goodly sum which is loaned out on approved securities. The lodge has never invested in a hall of its own, but the subject has frequently been discussed. Meetings have been held in the Blair building every Wednesday evening for a good many years. The membership is 102. Barry lodge has the honor of furnishing a deputy grand master, Mr. E. C. Hake, who has by long and zealous work for the cause fairly won the distinction.
Present officers are: T. J. Spencer, N. G., M. Morey, V. G.; J. W. Mitchell, sec’y; Jas. Smith, treas.; E. C. Hake, R. S. N. G.; A. L. Jones, L. S. N. G.; J. M. Doran, R. S. V. G.; S. Bowers, L. S. V. G.; W. F. Wassell, conductor; A. H. Bain, warden; John Wassell, R. S. S.; C. F. Spencer, L. S. S.; John Booth, O. S. G.; Wm. Marion, I. S. G. Deputy Grand Master, E. C. Hake.
The higher branch of Odd Fellowship is known as the Encampment. The local camp was organized April 22, 1875, with 18 charter members. It is a very successful organization. Meetings are held second and fourth Mondays in each month. Officers: C. R. Hollembeak, C. P.; James Smith, H. P.; M. Morey, S. W.; A. H. Bain, Scribe; Levi McIntire, J. W.
EVENING STAR LODGE D. OF R.
A valuable adjunct of Odd Fellowship is the Daughters of Rebekah, to which all members of the order, their wives, daughters and sisters are eligible to membership. It is in this society the family can join in sociability and pleasure. The Barry lodge is a large and prosperous one. It was organized October 11, 1870, with fourteen charter members and ever since has enjoyed a healthy growth until to-day it is one of the largest of its class in the county. It meets in the Odd Fellows hall on Friday evenings. The officers are: Maud Triplett, N. G.; Lela Mitchell, V. G.; Mahala Brown, Sec’y; Lydia Emerson, Treas.; Stella O’Brien, Chap.; Clara Morey, Warden; Claudia Richart, Con.; Mary Pierce, I. G.; A. Wendorff, O. G.; E. C. Hake, R. S. N. G.; Ella Husted, L. S. N. G.; E. A. Early, R. S. V. G.; Fredricke Kirschenblatt, S. S. V. G. Marshal, Nora Bowers; Inside Guard, Geo. Hooper; Outside Guard, Andy Hendricks.
The Barry Home Forum is a new society here and was only organized last year. It is a fraternal insurance company combined with social qualities. Both ladies and gentlemen are eligible to membership. It has some excellent features and the society has had a remarkable growth over the country. The local forum started in with over fifty members and has since received quite a number of additions. The regular meetings occur on the first and third Thursday evenings of each month. Officers for this year are: President, M. Clingingsmith; 1st vice pres., W. W. Watson; 2d vice pres., Mrs. U. G. Weidman; historian, U. G. Wiedman; treas., W. W. Goodale; sec’y, Mrs. H. F. Brown; orator, H. F. Brown; associate orator, E. E. Fitch; porter, David Auld; guard, W. H. Bower; director, Bela S. Wright.
The society known as Woman’s Guild was organized several years ago. Mrs. L. F. Long has been president and Mrs. Sarah Hughes secretary for a long time. The object of the society is to advance the cause of equal suffrage for woman same as enjoyed by man. It has only a small membership, but the ladies are up and doing and are ready at all time to work for the good of the cause.
JOHN M’TUCKER POST, G. A. R.
Some of the veterans of the civil war in this section, realizing that in unity there is strength, associated themselves together and organized a post of the Grand Army of the Republic. They received the charter in August, 1882, and on Sept. 1, 1882, the post was instituted by Capt. J. V. Henry, of Quincy. There was at that time no other post in the county. The organization was named John M’Tucker Post No. 154, in honor of that loyal citizen and friend of the soldier. Mr. John Mctucker, a prominent citizen of this community who was killed by a railroad train in 1869. H. R. Gray was the first commander, and the charter members were: H. R. Gray, J. E. Haines, B. H. Rowand, G. W. Doyle, H. W. Brown, H. L. Hadsell, G. W. Chrysup, S. B. Day, Jr., W. T. Mitchell, C. H. Hurt, D. Rider, J. S. Phenneger, F. Conway, Isri Smith, S. C. Brown, W. J. Pence, A. Dell, J. F. Low, L. Hadsell, J. Casterline and M. K. Harvey. The membership now is fifty-two. The post has done great good for the soldier and never fails to respond to his call for aid. Among other good works of the Barry society may be noted the movement to erect a monument to deceased soldiers. At a great expense and zealous labors they succeeded in the undertaking. The funds were provided by public subscription. The monument, a large handsome shaft, adorns our public park. It is the handiwork of Mr. T. A. Retallic, of our city, and is a credit to his skill and workmanship. It cost about one thousand dollars. Every soldier that dies here is held sacred to memory by his name being added to the list on the monument. There are now names of departed heroes there inscribed to the number of one hundred and forty, of which 11 were members of the Post, 40 members of the 99th Ill., 3 of the 68th Ill. and 39 from the miscellaneous companies.
Officers for 1896: S. Mors, Com. F. M. Starks, Sen. Vice Com. Thos. Shepherd, Jun. Vice Com. F. Conway, Quartermaster H. L. Hadsell, Adjutant H. Digby, Officer of the Day Rev. W. N. Rutledge, Chaplain A. J. Jackson, Officer of the Guard Dayton Smith, Sergeant Major W. H. Marion, Q. M. Sergeant S. C. Brown, Surgeon G. F. Lounsbury, Outside Guard
WOMAN’S RELIEF CORPS
On May 15, 1888, John McTucker W. R. C. 91, was organized with charter members. To relieve the distressed soldiers, their widows and orphans is their great aim, and to the works they have consecrated their lives without the hope of fee or reward. Many are the unfortunates that have received consideration and assistance through this society. May the good work go on.
The officers are: Miss Hattie Mitchell, pres.; Mrs. Glaphyra Chamberlain, sen.. Vice; Mrs. Sarah Davis, jun. vice; Mrs. Mahala Brown, sec’y; Mrs. C. Mell Hurt, treas.; Miss Mell Gorton, conductor; Mrs. Mell Brown, asst. conductor; Mrs. Mary Starks, guard; Miss Sarah Conway, asst. guard.
ANCIENT ORDER UNITED WORKMEN.
The oldest of the fraternal insurance societies represented here is the Ancient Order of United Workmen. It is one of those time tried and well tested orders that have proven all right. Since the last meeting of the grand lodge the graded assessment plan has been adopted and is now in successful operation. Hope Lodge, No. 55, was organized April 12, 1877, and has held its own against all competitors ever since. Meetings are held every two weeks at G. A. R. hall. The officers are: H. L. Hadsell, P. M. W.; A. B. Call, M. W.; W. F. Wassell, foreman; John Reeder, overseer; W. D. Gleckler, recorder; E. C. Brown, financier; G. L. Booth, receiver; F. Conway; guide; John High, I. W.; Chas. Johnson, O. W.
DEGREE OF HONOR.
Peace lodge, No. 18, A. O. U. W., was instituted in 1890. It is a fine lodge and is doing an excellent work. Meetings are held every two weeks at G. A. R. hall.
Officers are: Chief of Honor, Edith Robb; Lady of Honor, Mrs. Ida Brown; Chief of Ceremonies, Mrs. HL. Hadsell; Recorder, Mattie Shelly; Financier, Sarah Conway; Receiver, Mrs. G. L. Booth; Sister Usher, Mrs. J. Tillman; Inside Watchman, Mrs. A. Burton; Outside Watchman, Ed. Conway; Aid to C. of H., H. L. Hadsell.
The Independent Order of Good Templars have had a lodge here for many years. More than a quarter of a century ago the society was alive and active, then a few years later it went down. In 1880 the lodge now in existence was organized. It was named Centenary Lodge No. 299. The charter is dated June 27, 1880. There is a large membership and the meetings re harmonious and pleasant. They hold forth of Saturday evenings at G. A> R. hall. Following are the officers: Chief Templar, Nettie Gray; Lodge Deputy, Mrs. Albert Starks; Secretary, Chas. Raffety; Assistant Secretary, Clara Conway; Juvenile Templar, Ella Triplett; Treasurer, Sarah Conway; Marshal, Clarence Horrnback; Deputy…
WOMAN’S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION.
This was for years one of the largest and most useful of our societies and it accomplished an untold amount of good for the cause of temperance and good citizenship. A state of inactivity has prevailed among the members of late years and little is heard of it now.
A Brief Sketch of the County, Its Court Houses and Some Prominent Citizens
The first settlement of Pike county by white man was in the summer of 1820, when four sons of Micah Ross, of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and a few other families, started for what was then known as the Far West – the state of Illinois, on the Mississippi Bottoms. They arrived safely at the head-waters of the Allegheny river, and there procuring boats for their families, horses and wagons set out to descend the stream, then in a very lo stage of water. In a few weeks they arrived at Shawneetown, situated above the mouth of the Ohio, in Illinois, at which point they took leave of their water palaces, and started with wagons and teams for their place of destination, near the Mississippi river.
At Upper Alton, which they reached in due time, they secured quarters for their families, where they left them, while they went in search of their intended location. There was but one home at this time in what is now the City of Alton. At the mouth of the Illinois river they came across an Indian camp, where they procured two canoes, split puncheons of plank and laid across them, and thus safely ferried over their wagons. The horses were made to swim alongside of the canoes. They then crossed the bluff and proceeded to the Mississippi Bottom, at the point where Gilead in Calhoun county, is now situated, then continued up the Bottom, marking the trees as they went, for there were no roads, and nothing to guide them but an occasional Indian trail. At length they arrived in Atlas township, about six miles east of the Mississippi, in the tract appropriated for military bounties. This beautiful prairie-land charmed the emigrants, and they at once set to work their energies and constructed a camp to shelter themselves while preparing quarters for their families. No time was lost in throwing up four rough log cabins, intended to form the immediate settlement, for there were not more than five white men within fifty miles of their location, east of the river. All being prepared, the pioneers returned for their families, and shortly all took permanent possession of the habitations. The privations and sufferings endured by this little band in the first years of settlement need not be particularized.
At this time the legislature was in session at Vandalia, and learning of the location of these emigrants, they took measures to lay off and form the county of Pike,, embracing all the territory north and west of the Illinois river, and including what are known as the cities of Chicago, Peoria, Quincy and Galena. At the first election held in this vast territory, there were but thirty-five votes polled, including those of the French at Chicago. Since then more than fifty counties have been created out of it.
Pike and Calhoun counties for a peninsula, which gives them many natural advantages. The Illinois river on one side and the Mississippi on the other, give them unsurpassed facilities for shipping their products to any market almost, in the United States. In 1869, the Hannibal and Naples railroad was completed, passing through Griggsville, Barry, and Kinderhook, and starting up several smaller towns, Baylis, and giving the northern part of the county, which is very rich and productive, a nearer market. In 1870, the county built a branch of six miles, to connect Pittsfield with the Hannibal and Naples road. The Wabash railroads now have a lease, and operate both roads. The Quincy, Alton & St. Louis railroad, built in 1871, runs through New Canton and Rockport, making the promising little town of Hulls, and crossing the Mississippi at Louisiana, Missouri. The Missouri branch of the Chicago, Alton and St. Louis railroad, built in 1870, runs across the south tier of townships, and through the towns of Pleasant Hill, Nebo and Pearl. These railroads, with the river, give every citizen of the county a choice of markets, but a short distance from his door.
The county is about equally divided between prairie and timber. The general face of the county is rolling, the prairie and cultivated timber lands only rolling enough to drain it. The soil is very rich and productive, yielding as fine crops as are raised in the world. It cannot be excelled for grain raising, or for stock purposes. Living streams of pure spring water are on almost every section of land in the county. Timber is in abundance. Stone quarries are numerous. The farms are will improved; have orchards, groves and springs on most of them, and the citizens generally, are contented and prosperous. A very important feature of Pike county is the mineral springs, although found in several localities.
In 1833 the county seat was changed from Atlas to Pittsfield, where a court house was erected the same year. Five years later the building which was destroyed two years ago was built in the Public Square at Pittsfield. It was a fine court house for those days, and cost about $15,000.
Through the courtesy of the publishers of the Pittsfield Democrat, Times and Republican we are enabled to present pictures of the old court house, new court house and a few of the prominent citizens of the county seat. The new court house has a peculiar interest for our citizens, inasmuch as it was their original intention to build that edifice at Barry, instead of its present location. When the old building was condemned our citizens at once pledged to build, free of cost to the rest of the county, a $50,000 court house. Petitions to the county court for an election on the proposition to change the county seat were sent over the county and signed by hundreds of voters. The election was ordered to take place Nov. 24, 1893, at which date it was held and Pittsfield was victorious. The campaign proved of the most interesting character and the election was contested for all it was worth. Defeat left no scars on our citizens. They have the happy reflection of a gallant fight, and although the beautiful building is not located where they hoped it would be, yet they feel a just pride that such a monument to the enterprise, thrift and prosperity of the county adorns some spot within Pike’s borders.
The new court house of Pike county stands in the public square at Pittsfield. In Size it is 96 X 96 feet. It is of Gothic style of architecture, two stories high above the basement, and the center tower rises to the height of 136 feet from the ground. The building is constructed of brick and stone – the face of all the walls being laid in Ashlar work of gray Cleveland sandstone. The roofs are of slate and tin. The exterior of the building is octagonal in shape, and the interior is cruciform. The corridor floors are laid with mosaic tile of pleasing design. The entire interior finish is of quartered oak, rubbed finish. The building is one of the best lighted and most convenient arranged public buildings in the state. It is heated by steam from a plant owned by the county and located at the jail lot at the northeast corner of the square, the steam being carried through a tunnel to the court house, no fire of any kind being in the building. It is lighted by electric throughout. The corner stone of the building was laid July 12, 1894, and the building was dedicated and turned over to the county Nov. 16, 1895.
FIRST THINGS IN PIKE COUNTY
The first settler in Pike County was Ebenezer Franklin, who also cut the first tree and built the first log cabin in 1820.
The first white person born in the county was Nancy, daughter to Col. Wm. Ross, at Atlas, May 1, 1822, who died Nov. 18 , the same year.
Marcellus Ross, was the first white male child born in Pike county.
The first death in the county was that of Clarendon Ross, at Atlas.
The first court-house within the present limits of Pike county was built at Atlas in 1824.
The first jail was erected at Atlas in 1824.
The first school was taught at Atlas by John Jay Ross in 1822.
OFFICERS Current Judges: Oscar Bonney, Adams. Jefferson Orr, Pike. C. J. Scofield, Hancock. Circuit Clerk: Geo. W. Archer State’s Attorney: A. Beavers Master in Chancery: A. C. Bentley County Judge: W. B. Grimes Sheriff: Samuel Knox School Superintendent: W. R. Hatfield County Treasurer: Thos. H. Ward County Surveyor: Jesse Bowen Coroner: P. H. Marshall
SUPERVISORS John McTucker, Chairman G. W. Gerare, Chambersburg James Cawthorne, Flint Nathan Sloan, Detroit Wm. Hess, Montezuma G. W. Williams, Pearl Dr. F. I. Hall, Perry C. M. Simmons, Griggsville Alva Foreman, Newburg George Main, Hardin Asahel Duff, Spring Creek E. A. Lake, Fairmount W. R. Hooper, New Salem T. N. Hall, Pittsfield Fred Jaritz, Martinsburg M. F. Goodwin, Pleasant Hill John McTucker, Hadley J. R. Easley, Derry Chas. I. Rupert, Atlas John Capps, Ross Wm. Bright, Barry John M. Ross, Peasant Vale Smith Hull, Kinderhook Wiley P. Kennedy, Cincinnati Thomas Davis, Levee
JUDGE JEFFERSON ORR.
Jefferson Orr, circuit judge, is a well known citizen of the county. He is a native of Deerville, Ohio, and was born June 20, 1842. He was a law student in Illinois College, and later in 1864 graduated from Chicago University. His first experience as a lawyer was in Atchison, Kan., but he was there less than a year and returned to this county. He was elected prosecuting attorney in 1872 and re-elected in 1876. It was as a public prosecutor he made his reputation. He was a close student, fearless and vigorous in conducting his cases, and was a terror to evil doers. In 1891 he was elected circuit judge, an office which he has since held with much credit. Judge Orr is in easy circumstances and a power in Democratic politics in the county.
HON. SCOTT WIKE
Hon. Scott Wike is not only the honored and distinguished son of Pike county; his name and fame as a statesman is known throughout the nation. Mr. Wike was born in Meadville, Pennsylvania, 1834. In 1838 his parents moved to Illinois and settled in Quincy, and six years later came to Pike county, where they permanently resided. His early life was spent at Wike Hollow, near Barry, where his father, George WIke, was interested in the woolen mills. Mr. Wike graduated from Lombard University in 1857, after which he entered the office of Judge O. C. Skinner of Quincy and read law. He was admitted to the bar in 1858, but desiring further attainments in his profession he entered the Harvard Law School from which he graduated in 1859. He returned to Pittsfield and at once began the practice of his profession. For many years he enjoyed an extensive and profitable practice. Mr. WIke was elected to the state legislature in 1863 and again 1867, and his successful work while a member of that body laid the foundation for his future success in politics. He was twice elected to congress and represents this district in the Forty-fourth congress. He was elected to the Fifty-first congress form the old Twelfth district, defeating Wm. H. Collins, the Republican nominee, 5,000 votes. Upon the re-election of Mr. Cleveland, 1892, Mr. Wike was appointed assistant secretary of the treasury, a position which he is now filing with honor to himself and his old home in Pike county.
COL. A. C. MATTHEWS.
Pike county contains no more prominent citizen nor one who has attained more distinction than has Col. A. C. Matthews. He is a native of the county and was born in 1833 near Perry. In 1855 he graduated from Illinois College, Jacksonville, and in 1858 was admitted to the bar. When the civil war came on he went as a volunteer in the 99th Illinois infantry, in which regiment he was promoted to the office of Colonel. From 1869 to 1875 he was collector of internal revenue for the 9th Illinois district. He was elected to the state legislature in 1876, re-elected in 1878 and again elected in 1888, when he was made speaker of that body. In 1889 he was appointed comptroller of the U. S. treasury by President Benj. Harrison. He was also circuit judge of this district by appointment. In all his public life he has been true to his trusts and is everywhere recognized as a gentleman of brilliant intellect, keep perception, and sound judgment; he has been a success in all of his undertakings, whether in command on the field of battle, before the courts, in the legislative halls or at the head of a great branch of our National government. He is every inch a man. Pike county is proud of Co. Matthews and never hesitates to do him honor.
JUDGE W. B. GRIMES
In the length and breadth of the county there is no man who enjoys the confidence and esteem of the people more than Judge W. B. Grimes. He has been weighed in the balance of public estimation and has never been found wanting. As county clerk long years ago he made a record that has ever since worked to his credit and today he is recognized as a just judge and fearless guardian of the trusts of the widows and orphans. Judge Grimes also has the high honor of being chairman of the board of grand examiners of Illinois Masons, and is highest in authority of the order in this state. In the Royal Arch branch of the fraternity he holds the office of Grand Scribe in the Grand Chapter. He carries his 68 years well and we trust has before him many years of usefulness.
HON. J. M. BUSH
Of the citizens of the county probably none have longer been in public life nor have a larger acquaintance than the venerable publisher of the Pike County Democrat, the Hon. J. M. Bush, Sr. Coming to the county in 1838, from his native state, Massachusetts, he has been identified with almost every movement and enterprise for the public good. He has held the offices of State Senator, Master in Chancery, Supervisor of township, and other positions of public trust and enjoys the distinction of being Pittsfield’s first mayor. As editor of the Democrat, he has long since demonstrated his ability as a ready and resourceful writer. Despite his years he is still hale and hearty and bids fair to be with us yet many years.
A. C. BENTLEY
A young man who has come rapidly to the front the past few years is A. C. Bentley. Besides his legal attainments he has developed into a politician who is making himself felt not only in local, but state politics, having recently taken a place on the Democratic State Central Committee. Mr. Bentley is Master in Chancery for Pike county, is a lawyer of recognized ability, and is senior member of the firm of Bentley & Caughlin, publishers of the Pike County Times.
W. R. HATFIELD
W. R. Hatfield, present Superintendent of Public Instruction; was principal of the Barry public schools in 1883-84-85-86. He is a native of Morgan county, where he was born in 1858. He is a bright light in the educational field and is making an excellent record as superintendent.