The Village of Great Neck Plaza was incorporated in on May 3, 1930.
In 1866, the New York and Flushing Railroad extended their main line into Great Neck through a subsidiary called the North Shore Railroad, thus transforming it from a farming community into a commuter town. The NY&F was consolidated into the Flushing and North Side Railroad in 1869, only to be merged into the Flushing, North Shore, and Central Railroad in 1874 and leased in 1876 by the LIRR. Throughout much of the late 19th Century, Great Neck was the terminus of what is today the Port Washington Branch of the LIRR. The village was incorporated in 1930, even as the station that lead to its existence was being reconstructed. In addition to the railroad station, Great Neck Plaza contains other historic structures, such as the local post office and the Grace and Thomaston Buildings.
Great Neck Plaza encompasses a busy commercial district, two parks, as well as a residential section with many multiple dwellings and private homes. Although geographically the Village measures only a third of a square mile, it boasts a vibrant downtown including the Great Neck LIRR station, over 250 retail stores and service establishments, almost 90 multiple-family apartment buildings, 148 single family homes, approximately 40 office buildings, 2 four-star hotels, a nursing home, a senior independent living facility and one assisted-care living facility.
The Village of Great Neck Plaza is protected by the Nassau County Police Department Third Precinct located in Manhasset, and fire protection is provided by two volunteer departments - Vigilant Hook & Ladder for locations north of the LIRR tracks and Manhasset-Lakeville Fire Department for locations south of the LIRR tracks.