Place:Ingham, Suffolk, England

TypeParish (ancient), Civil parish
Coordinates52.3041°N 0.7199°E
Located inSuffolk, England
See alsoBlackbourn Hundred, Suffolk, Englandhundred in which it was located
St. Edmundsbury District, Suffolk, Englanddistrict municipality covering the area since 1974
source: Family History Library Catalog

the text in this section is copied from an article in Wikipedia

Ingham is a small village in Suffolk, England, located about six miles north of Bury St Edmunds on the A143 to Thetford in Norfolk. The village boasts a single church, post office and a pub, the Cadogan Arms which closed in 2006 for refurbishment.

Ingham is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. Possible etymologies are "homestead or village of a man called Inga" or "home of the Inguiones" (an ancient Germanic tribe).

The Church is dedicated to St. Bartholomew and is Church of England. The post office provides some local library links. The village school closed in the mid 1980s as a result of declining numbers, despite the expansion of the village with the new housing estate in the 1960s and 1970s. Locals are mainly employed in Bury St Edmunds or Thetford, commuting to work, though some work locally in agriculture or transport industries.

Situated on a slight rise north of Bury St Edmunds the village has a large green, formerly including school playing fields to the east of the main road reached by a lane between the Church and the Post Office. Beyond the green lies the abandoned railway cutting - the line and Ingham railway station closed in the 1950s, though Ingham is still served by buses.

Thetford Forest lies a few miles to the north east.

As of the 2001 UK census Ingham had a population of 419.

Research Tips

This page uses content from the English Wikipedia. The original content was at Ingham, Suffolk. The list of authors can be seen in the page history. As with WeRelate, the content of Wikipedia is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.