Template:Wp-Titusville, New Jersey-History

Watchers
the text in this section is copied from an article in Wikipedia

Titusville's central feature is a small village that sits on a bluff overlooking a picturesque stretch of the Delaware River with stairwells connecting the village to private docks on the river. The Feeder Canal for the Delaware and Raritan Canal runs parallel to the river just to the east of the village, which is connected to River Road (Route 29) by several two-lane bridges. A biking/walking trail follows the canal, constructed when the former Belvidere-Delaware Railroad line was removed in the early 1980s. Opposite the canal from the river, extending eastward, are a number of small residential streets, a county park centered about Baldpate Mountain, and the homes ringing the base of the mountain and county park.

Titusville is just north of the Johnson Ferry House in adjacent Washington Crossing, the scene of George Washington's crossing of the Delaware River during the American Revolution. In 1831, the ferry was replaced by the Washington Crossing Bridge, linking it with Washington Crossing in Pennsylvania.

Titusville is home to Janssen Pharmaceuticals Inc., a division of Johnson and Johnson.

In 1851, the Belvidere-Delaware Railroad opened to Titusville and a station was built in the town. Passenger service ceased at Titusville in April 1952 but passenger trains to other towns continued operating until October 1960. Freight continued to run on this portion of the line until 1976. Track was subsequently removed for the Delaware & Raritan Canal State Park recreational trail in the early 1980s.