Thorley is a civil parish in Hertfordshire, England, encompassing the hamlets Thorley Street, Thorley Wash and Old Thorley; near Bishop's Stortford in Hertfordshire. It is mentioned in the Domesday book as Torlei, belonging to Geoffrey de Mandeville, a notable Norman Baron. During the reign of Edward the Confessor, Thorley Manor belonged to Earl Tostig.
Thorley Church, dedicated to St James the Great, dates from the 13th century and boasts a Norman font and a three-seat sedilia. The pulpit was designed by Gilbert Scott. There is a one thousand year old yew tree in the graveyard, which also has the grave of Daniel Defoe's sister. The graveyard is entered through a fine lychgate dating from the 1920s . The stocks and whipping post that stood in the graveyard until the late 20th century have now been moved to the Bishop's Stortford Museum. Samuel Horsley was rector of the Church from 1779–1782, following in the footsteps of his father John, who was rector from 1745-1777. From 1594 to 1610, the rector was Francis Burley, one of the translators of the King James Bible
The 16th century Tudor Barn in the adjoining farm was converted from pig barn to church and community centre in 1996 with the help of a £1 million endowment.