Poquott is a village in Suffolk County, New York, United States. The official Poquott website can be accessed at www.villageofpoquott.com. The population was 953 at the 2010 census. The village is located within the Town of Brookhaven, on the North Shore of Long Island, and is officially known as the Incorporated Village of Poquott. Poquott was founded by European settlers in 1659. The peninsula came to be known as “George’s Neck”, and was developed mostly as farmland. A fort with a single 32-pound gun, dubbed “Fort Nonsense”, was erected at the tip of Poquott during the War of 1812. It did little to deter the British raiders who entered Port Jefferson Harbor.
As the 20th century approached, “California Grove” was established at what is now the foot of Washington Street (1883). California Grove was an amusement park that featured an oyster restaurant, dancing pavilion, skating rink, picnic grounds, and a pier at which the steamboat Notowantuc would unload tourists from Connecticut. The establishment of California Grove led to Poquott’s development as a summer bungalow community.
Poquott continued to grow as a summer community. Several camps (Dr. Petit’s Camp/Camp Woodbine/Pine Bluff Camp) dotted the shorelines of Poquott. At the turn of the century, large swaths of George’s Neck came into the hands of world traveler, financier, and businessman Edward Larocque Tinker. The Tinker family built several stunning homes throughout Poquott.
Residents fought hard to preserve “Bayview Park”, as Poquott was referred to “back in the day”, when plans came up to develop the shorelines for industry. The Village of Poquott was ultimately incorporated in 1931. Extensive development took place in Poquott after the sale of the Tinker Estate in the 1980s. The Village now consists of primarily year-round residences, although a few summer homes still remain.