- source: Family History Library Catalog
A Vision of Britain through Time provides the following description of Compton Wynyates from John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales of 1870-72:
- "COMPTON-WYNIATES, a parish in Shipston-on-Stour [registration] district, Warwick; at the boundary with Oxford, 4½ miles ENE of Shipston-on-Stour, and 9 W by N of Banbury [railway] station. Post town: Tysoe, under Warwick. Acres: 997. Real property: £1,424. Population: 37. Houses: 6. The property has all belonged, from a remote period, to the Comptons, now represented by the Marquis of Northampton; and it gives to the Marquis the title of Earl. Compton House, a seat of the Marquis, is a picturesque edifice of the time of Henry VIII., built then out of the ruins of Fulbrooke Castle; eventually much altered and defaced by additions and neglect; and it recently was grandly restored, under the superintendence of Wyatt. It sits so hiddenly in an abrupt hill-screened hollow, as to have, till recently, been popularly called Compton-in-the-Hole. The living is a rectory, annexed to the vicarage of Tysoe, in the diocese of Worcester. The church was destroyed in the civil war, and rebuilt after the Restoration; and has been the burial-place of several of the Compton family.
For more information, see the EN Wikipedia article Compton Wynyates. There is a description of the house and the history of the family of the Marquis of Northampton (the Comptons) from the 15th century.