Help talk:Review GEDCOM

Topics


Delete GEDCOM's ?

Overview mentions a way to delete the gedcom but no specifics. I think I need to work on the PAF stuff some more. Could someone delete the CliftFamily gedcom? Thanks... Steve Clift

There is a button on the Overview tab of gedcom review to remove your file. I have taken care of this for you. --Judy (jlanoux) 19:59, 23 May 2010 (EDT)

Gedcom import does not show any lists in tabs [29 April 2011]

I have imported my first small GEDCOM to see how it works. See Zummach Tree. However, when I try to review the data, all I see is the help text in the tabs. There are no lists to review. I waited overnight, thinking it might be a timing issue, but no luck. (moved from Gedcom import does not show any lists in tabs, post unsigned by User:RGMoffat)

I am using Chrome to view your gedcom, and I can see the lists. When you click on a tab such as 2.People, do you see a list in the upper part of the screen and the help file below? There is a grey dividing bar that you can move to resize the upper section. If you still have problems, can you let us know what browser and version you are using? Thank you, --Jennifer (JBS66) 09:23, 29 April 2011 (EDT)

I was using Chrome. When I switched to IE I was able to see the lists. I have downloaded the current version of Chrome (not the Beta) and will see what happens with the next GEDCOM.--RGMoffat 13:47, 29 April 2011 (EDT)


Could not Select a source during review process [3 May 2011]

While reviewing the sources for a GEDCOM that I uploaded, I could Find a source for "Through the Years… Delisle, Donavon, Gledhow & O'Malley, Laura and Swanson" but when I clicked the Select button, it would not update the Match Source. Once the import is completed, I will try again.

Thanks Rick User:RGMoffat (moved topic from Could not Select a source during review process)--Jennifer (JBS66) 14:09, 29 April 2011 (EDT)

There was a period of several hours where the select buttons didn't work, but they should be fixed now. I just tested selecting a source on my test system and everything seems to be working. If it happens again in the future, please let me know.--Dallan 12:57, 3 May 2011 (EDT)

Early people [8 August 2011]

What's the rationale behind excluding early people from GEDCOM uploads? It makes it quite complicated when you have a tree the extends that far andhas some tree tops cut off!

"The Early column is checked for people born 1750 or earlier. Early people are excluded from GEDCOM import. Instead, you'll need to create wiki pages for them by hand."

AndrewRT 18:13, 8 August 2011 (EDT)

You are welcome to add these people. However, we have had many problems with early people being loaded from gedcoms without documentation and often taken from incorrect trees picked up on the internet. The early people have many descendants and the chance of having an existing page is greater. We feel that greater standards of documentation should apply for the earlier people. --Judy (jlanoux) 19:01, 8 August 2011 (EDT)

Gedcom warnings [1 December 2012]

I have received a Gedcom warning "Child births less than nine months apart". The children involved were born on 19 JAN 1786 and 11 DEC 1786 respectively.

This is not less than nine months between their births so why has this warning been issued?--Tony 11:27, 26 November 2012 (EST)


Am I in the the wrong Help section here since I have had no reply to my question?--Tony 08:31, 28 November 2012 (EST)


Right place but I guess this page is not often watched - I will ask for help on the watercooler. AndrewRT 13:53, 30 November 2012 (EST)
The best place to ask questions is on the Support page. To answer your question, the warning isn't due to the children born 19 Jan 1786 and the 11 Dec 1786, it's due to the children born 10 Apr 1789 and 27 May 1789.--Dallan 01:02, 1 December 2012 (EST)

New process [1 December 2012]

I notice the text says:

"Note: The GEDCOM review process is a new feature on WeRelate. During the next couple of weeks all GEDCOM's marked Ready to import will be reviewed by an administrator so we can make sure that the review process is running smoothly. We appreciate your patience during this time."

Looking through the history, it seems this comment was added in 2009 - so I guess it's not that new now! Could someone who is more familiar with the current position bring this up to date? AndrewRT 14:06, 30 November 2012 (EST)

Good catch! I'll bring this up to date. (By the way, we decided to continue doing the admin review as a final quality check before import.)--Dallan 01:05, 1 December 2012 (EST)